We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend and were impressed with the quality of the hotel for the price. First, loved the fact that we had two rooms to our suite. The pool area has 2 pools plus a whirlpool. Breakfast area was very busy but typical breakfast food. The staff was better one day keeping everything in stock than the other. Staff were friendly and enjoyed the cookies. We did like walking to the restaurant next door after our long drive in. Overall, our second enjoyable stay at a Country Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: Book the suite, first floor if you can.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIm_Daly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased your stay was pleasant and that you got value for your money. We try to be competitive as well as provide the kind of service expected in a more upscale hotel and are always pleased when our service makes the difference. Our staff takes true delight in their service abilities and try hard to always please.

Thank you for sharing your feelings with us and please plan to come back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 603 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for 5 days and loved a lot about the hotel. The pools are great, just like the pictures show. The breakfast was really good. The workers obviously took pride in their jobs and were all helpful and friendly. All the common areas and the rooms are really well done with their finishes and decorations. The location is amazing! It is all new construction with a new Starbucks, McDonalds, Logan Steakhouse, Quaker Steak & Lube, and Bass Pro Shops all within walking distance but it still wasn't too busy of a location. The beach is only a mile away and a commuter train stop is within a couple miles that will take you right to Chicago so you can avoid the drive!

My first impression was not good. We showed up at 6 pm. to check in and were told the room was not ready (check in time is 3 pm). There was no apology just the excuse of "it's Sunday". Then just as we were going to leave and come back later we were told the room was ready. When I got upstairs it was obvious they had not really cleaned the room. There were "hairs" visible on the floor and bathtub. The room was missing part of the soaps/shampoos. The floors had not been vacuumed. I am just hoping the sheets were changed... Also the room key did not work until the 3rd attempt (and 3rd trip up and down the stairs). The excuse was it was a new machine. Then we were given 1 room key and told "don't loose it - it's the emergency one" and that was it - for a week - one key for 4 people.

I was not pleased with the housekeeping. We were there for 2 1/2 days before we had to request that they please clean the room. Apparently they only staff from 9 to 3 and you are not give a "room service request" sign so unless you are out of the room the exact time the housekeeper comes by, you are out of luck. The pool was constantly out of towels and the pool bathroom out of toilet paper. The laundry room floor was all sandy and the trash can was full - the entire time we were there. I also got to hear the front desk request from a housekeeper that the break room be cleaned because it was "filthy". Even though it is a nice facility if they don't change the way their housekeeping is managed it probably won't be nice for very long.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIm_Daly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Tracy thank you very much for your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. However that being said it seems we let you down along the way and that we didn't fully deliver on your expectations. I am sorry for that and will work harder to assure it doesn't happen again.

I hope that we will see you and your family again soon Tracy and that the CIS in Portage will become a destination for you when you are traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed only one night - friendly service and clean rooms. We have a 2 year who not only enjoyed West Beach but couldn't get enough of the pool a the Country Inn. The complimentary breakfast and cookies were also a nice touch

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetLou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIm_Daly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Lou it was our pleasure to have you and your family here and we are pleased that you are sharing your thoughts on your stay.

Portage is great for kids with great beaches and lots of summer activities. Our owners had the foresight to add a kiddie pool at our hotel that has added countless hours of enjoyment for our littlest guests.

We hope that you will be back to the area soon and that you will choose us again as your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We are a middle income family of four: parents 40s , son age 12, daughter age 5 from southern Illinois. We travel to Mexico or the Carribean twice a year, but can still appreciate a good Drury Inn type hotel.
That being said, we were traveling to a Christmas tree convention in Indiana and decided to go a day early to see the dunes. The dunes were just a mile from this hotel. I actually was going to ask hotel staff for directions and noticed they had a sign up that offered free maps. I was quickly offered one and the clerk gave me additional info. We had booked 2 queen beds or a king bed with pull-out (I can't remember which). On arrival I asked for a ground floor room near the pool and they said they didn't have anything. The clerk quickly changed her mind, checked her computer, and free-upgraded us to a king bed/2twin bed 2 room suite. It was perfect for us. Each side had it's own flat-screen TV. The twin bed side was the main room and had the bathroom, desk and chair, table and 3 chairs, microwave, and refrigerator. There was plenty of space for all of that. They offered Pantene bath products. Some of them were missing so we got more from the desk and it was no problem.
The pool area is much larger and brighter than it appears in the photos and has high ceilings. There is a pool, the kiddie splash pool area with the big frog and another water spout, and the hot tub. There is also an air hockey table in the pool area with the game room kind of attached/inside the pool area. You have to enter the game room through the pool area. There were maybe 4 lounge chairs and 8? tables and multiple chairs. Some of them had umbrellas which there was no need for, but it did look nice. Ample towels available there too. Again this area is quite large-about the size of a small school's gym. My kids loved it. A key card was necessary to get into the area. The fitness center is right there also, but I didn't look at it.
Breakfast was free and included: scrambled eggs, sausage links, toast jelly,basic gem-style donuts, cereal in a dispenser, waffle maker, etc. It was average, fine.
Okay, the BEST part of the stay was the free soft-baked cookies at the front desk. My children and I loved them. The only disappointing part was that my son went back to get more and was told there is one per person. I don't know if this is true. The hotel cost $150 for a Wednesday night in July, I think they could have let us have another cookie, c'mon.
The only bad things are that my daughter found some bacon on the hotel room floor and it was there before we arrived in the room. The other thing that is not the hotels fault is that there was a LOUD biker-party across the field from the hotel. We could feel the music vibrations in our room. The clerk said it happened every Wednesday night in the summer, but it would stop by 10pm and it did. Thank goodness!!
Overall we enjoyed our stay. The room upgrade was wonderful and we were grateful. The free cookies and free breakfast along with the large pool area is the main selling point. I would definitely recommend this hotel for families. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
FYI:The hotel is right off the interstate. Down the road where the hotel is there are about 5 businesses.There is a Longhorn Steakhouse that shares a parking lot with the hotel. A Bass Pro shop, a McDonalds, Starbucks, and the loud biker place is a restaurant. There is a gas station right as you leave the hotel's road. Also, I checked the hotel's website, called the hotel direct, and checked other online sites for a lower price and they did not vary by more than a dollar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank respiratorytherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIm_Daly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and telling us all about your stay.

We are pleased that your family enjoyed our hotel so much and look forward to your returning to see us very soon.

Have a great remainder to your summer and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Always clean. Great pool for kids. Nice hot tub and fitness for adults. Friendly staff. I always stay here on trips through Chicago. Well worth driving a few miles off our route to stay in this hotel. Really like the one bedroom suites. Its nice to have kids sleep in a separate room!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelEMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIm_Daly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. We are always pleased to interrupt a trip to Chicago especially since we know how much our guests will enjoy what Portage has to offer.

Our one bedroom suites are amazing and the most popular rooms we have. They come with either a King size bedroom or double Queen size bedroom. The ability to have the kids in the suite with you but to be able to close your bedroom door for some private time is a much appreciated feature of these rooms.

Come back to see us again soon - have a wonderful remainder to your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been staying here for years, but we were very disappointed this time. Starting with check in, the manager at the desk seemed very flustered and short with both us and the guests ahead of us. Rooms were not ready at check in time and things were unorganized. Upon first entering our room I noticed the carpets had not been vacuumed and there was a sticker on the dresser, One of the beds looked as though it was not made correctly so I pulled back the covers to find pink stains and sand at the foot of the bed. It was very clear at this point that the room had not been cleaned properly and the sheets had not even been changed. The most disappointing thing of all is that we NEVER received and apology. When I informed the front desk about the bed they simply said "okay" and when asked if they would come change the sheets while we were at dinner I got a "Yep." The whole room was really dirty. Spiders on webs in the bathroom, really dirty toilet paper dispenser, crusty food on the chair and duvet and a thick layer of dirt on window and air conditioner. We have been here many times in the past and have never had an experience like this. We love the location and proximity to Lake Michigan. The free breakfast is really good, our kids love the pool, and the staff on our second day was actually very friendly. Maybe this was just a fluke thing, but I doubt that we will chance going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachlover921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIm_Daly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Disappointing a guest is the worst thing we can do. I am so sorry that you received less than the service and value you expected and deserved. It is clear that our staff was under pressure and didn't react very well to that. We have no excuse for rudeness and for being less than attentive to all of your needs.

Please come back and you will see as suggested by all of the positive comments here that this is not how we normally conduct our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel. I experienced a few housekeeping issues during the first stay so decided to give them a second chance. I did not have any issues with my second stay. This last stay on 7/27 will be my last. The hotel desk staff were basically rude and indifferent. The maid would not even respond when we said hello in the hall. This hotel is not being maintained from the grounds to the rooms. Carpets are showing wear and the walls dirty. The main issue though was with the housekeeping. The room was dirty. There was a large bug smashed on the wall. The maid could not have missed this! My wife had to clean the bathroom, especially the tub. The sheets were worn out and had holes in them. The room was not clean. I had no complaints with the breakfast and pool. This could be a very nice hotel if management were on top of housekeeping and maintenance issues.

Room Tip: We requested top floor but were given a room on second floor. We heard banging above us until after...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rondot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIm_Daly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We have earned our reputation from providing what our guests expect and providing value for money spent. Clearly we owe you an apology because we let you down badly. We strive for excellence every day and most days we achieve that but we stumbled here and didn't give you the experience you expected. For that I am so sorry and humbled.

Please come back to us again and you will see why we have a great reputation and that we truly deserve. You have my personal guarantee that your next stay will be what you expect and that we will perform up to your expectations of us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
153 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
422 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage

Address: 1630 Olmstead Dr, Portage, IN 46368-1696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: $99 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located near the the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and just 1 mile from Portage's Riverwalk beach park. We are a family friendly hotel with a large aquatic center featuring a kiddie pool, hot tub, swimming pool and an arcade area. We offer a great free breakfast every morning that includes fresh homemade waffles, various hot items like sausage and eggs as well as lots of fruits and cereals. We are just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago with great rail service available daily until midnight or later. The famed Lighthouse Outlet mall is less than 20 minutes away as are numerous casinos. Portage is a great place to vacation or just visit. Our beaches are second to none and our people are friendly and always inviting.. The famed Steel Mills of NW Indiana are just minutes away from the hotel so business clients are always welcomed. Specially negotiated rates are available for all contractors and vendors doing business with the mills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Portage Hotel Portage
Country Inn And Suites Portage
Country Inn Portage
Portage Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing