We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never have had such a bad experience at a Country Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We rarely use any other chain and have always been pleased with Country Inn & Suites, but this property was horrible! Reservation was made through Club Carlson online with request for a room on the top floor which was not honored. So, naturally, sleep was horrid with people tromping about like elephants above us.
But the WORST was nothing but cold cereal and coffee for breakfast. Apparently the breakfast hostess didn't show up and this place hadn't made any contingency plan for someone else to cover the job. By the time we were leaving, we noticed that someone was just beginning to prepare for some of the hot breakfast items -- We only saw this because we had to walk back to the breakfast area to grab some coffee for the road since the urn in the front lobby was empty!
If we need lodging in this area again, we will either keep going to the next closest Country Inn property or stay at another brand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

A serious accident at home sent our breakfast attendant to the hospital overnight.

As soon as we heard that she would not be at work we had another person fill in for her. Unfortunately she was not able to get to the property on time to have everything ready for our early departing guests.

Regardless, we let you down and for that we are extremely sorry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 603 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I were in town for a wedding for the weekend so we had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights at this Country Inn & Suites. This is an amazing hotel for the price! The complimentary breakfasts were delicious (best blueberry muffins ever!), our room was very clean and bigger than we expected, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The 2 mornings we were there for breakfast, the staff handling the breakfasts were always asking us "is there anything else we can get you?" even after we'd been sitting down and ready to eat. What a hospitable staff! We LOVED our stay and will definitely be back or will recommend Country Inn & Suites in the future. Unfortunately, we didn't get to try out the pool or gym due to time constraints but we will aim to next time. Thank you again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKC324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your exoperience with us. We are happy that you and your family are so happy and hope that you will be sure to recommend us to anyone else who may be coming this way in the future.

We heard that the wedding was a great time and that party was a blast. We are thrilled to have been an extension of your enjoyment and glad that we lived up to your expectations of us.

Have a great summer. I hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We wanted to get off the road without having to find a place in the city after a long day on the road, so stopped at Portage.
Haven't stayed at a better roadside stop ever.
Warm welcome, clean room, helpful staff; the Inn seems to have it all figured out.
Place is a great layover.
Small complaint- breakfast was lacking a bit- not much fresh to choose from.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagar451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

If you are traveling through our area again please come back to see us.

Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a 2.5 stars inn, however, they provided 5 stars service. The lobby always had free fruits, cookies, coffee and tea available. The staffs were super friend and helpful. The room was clear and near. The breakfast food was acceptable and they even offer free on the run breakfast with bottle water. I been to another 5 star resorts and never gave 5 stars rating. This one is exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musumekiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you so much, your review was very kind but much appreciated by all of our staff members.

We try very hard to make every experience 1 5 star experience. Service is our business, we love to please our guests and we are happy to do so anytime 24/7/365.

Please come back again the next time you are in the area and please recommend us to work colleagues, friends or family who might be coming our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A car mishap left us stranded by the side of the road in Portage, Indiana. As luck would have it, this Country Inn & Suites was just steps away from our dilapidated car. What a pleasant surprise!
From the spacious room and modern conveniences (I love it when hotels supply both normal soap AND face wash as standard amenities) to the beautiful breakfast and indoor heated pool, I could not have been happier.
Then, when I found the complimentary cookie and coffee station by the front entrance...heaven!

I can't say that Portage will be a destination location for me in the future, but if I do happen to find myself stranded yet again in middle America, I will always choose the Country Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerpetualN0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We are happy that you found us too! We hope the rest of your trip was uneventful and that you reached your destination without additional issues.

Please come back to see us if you are in the area again. We will always have a plate of cookies and a welcoming smile waiting for you whenever we see you next!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Traveling on Business - this is a great place to stop. The hotel is clean, and breakfast is ready maybe a little before 6am on some mornings. It's obvious that the person taking care of breakfast cares about her job - it's really done well. That's great when you have to get out early. Rooms were nice, bathroom is bright, beds are good.

The staff is just great - they always say hello.

Room Tip: there is a great restaurant up the hill at the Bass pro Shop - and you get a discount I think if you...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hugh thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We try hard to make every experience great and love when we hear from great guests like yourself who share it with us.

Our breakfast is one of the best anywhere. We make it fresh every morning (not microwaved) and are proud of how many comments we receive about its quality and the friendliness of our Hostesses.

Please come back to see us again when your travels bring you back to beautiful Portage, IN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I took my kids for a one night stay over spring break. The pool was perfect for them ages 4 and 6. The room was a great setup for a family with young kids. We got a room with 2 queen beds that had a door to shut off the bedroom so we could stay up in the sitting area and watch tv after the kids went to bed. It was reasonably priced and we all enjoyed the Tempurpedic mattresses. He hotel is located right next to Bass Pro shop and the restaurant there is great and has a giant fish tank that my kids love. It is also very close to the Indiana dunes and was only 25 minutes from Michigan city lighthouse outlet mall. We loved the fresh fruit and cookies and coffee. The breakfast was included and had more food than we could eat. We all had a great time and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with Tempurpedic mattresses.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieH400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We agree 100% about the BassPro shop and how much fun it is. We go there ourselves to eat at their restaurant which has always been a good experience.

We receive so may comments about our Tempurpedic beds. People love them and tell us that sleeping on them provides them with the best nights sleep they have had in years.

Thanks for staying with us. We enjoyed having you and your family here and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
153 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage

Address: 1630 Olmstead Dr, Portage, IN 46368-1696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: $99 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located near the the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and just 1 mile from Portage's Riverwalk beach park. We are a family friendly hotel with a large aquatic center featuring a kiddie pool, hot tub, swimming pool and an arcade area. We offer a great free breakfast every morning that includes fresh homemade waffles, various hot items like sausage and eggs as well as lots of fruits and cereals. We are just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago with great rail service available daily until midnight or later. The famed Lighthouse Outlet mall is less than 20 minutes away as are numerous casinos. Portage is a great place to vacation or just visit. Our beaches are second to none and our people are friendly and always inviting.. The famed Steel Mills of NW Indiana are just minutes away from the hotel so business clients are always welcomed. Specially negotiated rates are available for all contractors and vendors doing business with the mills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Portage Hotel Portage
Country Inn And Suites Portage
Country Inn Portage
Portage Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing