We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Iowa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Check in and check out were prompt and courteous. There were cookies for the taking and they brought smiles to the kid's faces.

We got a Family Suite, which in our case, was two twin beds in the main area and one king bed in a separate room. Talk about the perfect set up for our family! The main area also had a small round table and four chairs, a desk and chair, nightstand, drawers, TV, microwave, mini fridge and a sink. The separate bedroom had drawers and TV, nightstands and a small closet. There was also a small closet just inside the room door. It was an excellent floor plan. I wish more hotels offered such rooms and at such a great price. Each sleeping area had it's own climate control too. Nice!

The bathroom was roomy. Plenty of towels. Nice clean shower. There was some mystery sludge in the corners of the bathroom counter (stuff that had accumulated there, no doubt, after countless wipes that didn't clean out the corners).

Bed linens were stained, which is always a turn off. Beds were nice. We knew we would be sleeping on a TP bed and it was comfortable.

The mini fridge door was open when we entered the room so we promptly shut it, but that meant there would be no using the fridge for our stay. It didn't feel cold inside the fridge at all. Bummer because we needed it.

Free WiFi was great. Worked well and wasn't too slow.

Breakfast was an amazing spread. It was busy, busy, busy (a Sunday morning) but they kept it all well stocked and hot. Eggs, ham, all kinds of topping for an omelet, biscuits and gravy, bagels, muffins, toast, juices, cereals, milk, waffles (they even had pumpkin spice batter, yum!), etc etc etc. Lots of good options to choose from to satisfy everyone over and over again.

The place was generally clean and the type of room we got was great. Overall value for the room type and breakfast was phenomenal. Now if we could just do something about those elephants in the room above us...even with earplugs it sounded like they were jumping out of bed at 4am. I can't wait to find a hotel where I cannot hear anyone above us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinnaPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Patty thanks for your kind comments and review of your stay.

We are pleased you are sharing your thoughts on the value we offer and the features in our rooms.

We are always striving to be better and will be sure to keep improving ourselves.

Sorry about the noise from above. Kids are kids and will jump on the bed no matter where they are.

Please come back to see us soon.

Happy holidays to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    129
    46
    18
    27
See reviews for
366
52
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and it again was very pleasant. They just have the whole package from comfort to great employees and great customer service to a very delicious breakfast. As we were at the tail end of breakfast time, there weren't any biscuits left and I asked if there were any more. The cook said there weren't but she would be happy to bake us a few if we wished. What a wonderful attitude and it was greatly appreciated. The rooms were great and the beds comfortable. Thanks for not disappointing us after the fantastic visit we had three years ago.

Room Tip: We came in after dark and it was a little bit difficult to find the actual road to the motel. Perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti-trvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Patti thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. We loved seeing you again and hope to see you again soon.

It is our goal to provide a consistant experience and assure you that 3 years from now it will not have changed unless we are able to make it better.

Happy holidays to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I been here several times and I always love it. I love the pool and the hot tub.FREE BREAKFAST! The shower is amazing! Its next to a lot of food places and coffee shop. The place makes you forget where you are at. its get away. but the best part is the bed. I love going there to sleep on the comfortable bed and pillows, but I always wondered what kind of bed is it? memory form?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Samantha let me start by giving you the information you asked about regarding our beds.

They are Temperpedic commercial mattresses that are not available to retail buyers but there is a very close cousin made by the same people called the "Temperpedic Cloud" that you can buy from upscale retailers and good bedding shops. Our owners decided that a great nights sleep is always important and invested in these mattress when we opened. They have not been disappointed as thousands of our guests have commented on them over the years and asked where to find one.

A great breakfast like you mentioned is the perfect compliment to a great nights sleep.

Thank you for your comments Samantha. Come back to see us soon.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

just stayed there last night - hotel was a nice surprise. We've stayed at several Country Inn and Suites and this one was actually nicer than the usual and better than I even expected reading the reviews. The pool is fun if you have younger kids (there are three pools - a kiddie pool, regular pool and hot tub). There are restraunts right near by. Bass Pro Shops right across the parking lot, and Lake Michigan just minutes away. Breakfast was nice as well - with a few extras over most places (two kinds of waffle batter, eggs, sausage, ham and then the usual stuff you have everywhere else)..... Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbobpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
There is nothing like getting more than you expected.

Our job is to meet your expectation and whenever possible to exceed them. We accomplished our mission during your stay and that always makes us feel good.

We appreciate that you enjoyed our pool area because it truly is the best in the area. The variety of restaurants around the hotel is improving every year and what can we say about the Bass Pro Shop that has not already been said. Its amazing!

Please come back soon, we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We used this hotel for a weekend family get away. It was perfect for our needs. The hotel is very clean in all areas. The beds are memory foam but very firm. There is a hot breakfast included in a large room with plenty of seating. Sunday morning they had a large quantity and variety of items. We had four rooms: 2 with two queens, 1 studio king, and 1 one bedroom suite. They were all very nice. Each one had a microwave and refrigerator. They have a very nice pool area with a kiddie pool and a larger pool and hot tub. We had two complaints: the chlorine content in the pool is so high that it burns your eyes just sitting in the pool area. You don't have to actually get in the pool for it to affect your eyes. The other complaint was that the breakfast food was not actually hot on Sunday morning. Breakfast was from 7:00-10:30. We went down at 7:30 and the gravy was lukewarm at best.

There are not a lot of restaurants in the area but a few. There is a Longhorn steak house next door, a Quaker Steak & Lube, Deli in your Belly, and McDonald's nearby.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in this area.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid extra noise, ask for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Perfect Family weekend - Thats music to our ears!

You pretty much said it all in your commentary. We are family oriented with great amenities, a great breakfast, temperpedic beds that are awesome and most of all a staff who really cares.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the area.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here a few times when traveling through. The beds are SUPER comfortable. Rooms are clean. Pool has kiddie pool slide and large pool and hot tub, games, so ALOT of kids around, but we just wait to use it till Sunday when they're all gone. Love the cookies at front desk. Only complaint is TVs are very old and outdated....poor picture. I'm sure they'll update them soon, as all hotels are. Enjoy having a nice steakhouse next door, and the Islemarada Bar and Grill with the big aquarium in the nearby Bass Pro Shops. Look forward to next stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaglecindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
You will be happy to hear that our LCD TV's are on site and we are installing them as we speak. We expect that they will be installed by the end of next week.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thats what we are here for, to deliver an experience.

Please come back to see us agin very soon. Portage is great even when the weather is not great for the beach. Our pool is always open and there is so much to do even at this time of the year.

Take care. Thank you for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night while attending an event nearby. The suite was a good value; it was clean and well appointed, and the price is better than you'd find at most motels for a suite. The aquatic area is really impressive, our boys loved it. Staff were very friendly and helpful, from allowing an early checkin to various other small hotel needs. The noon checkout time afforded us extra time to head down to the dunes and hit the pool one more time. Cookies, apples and coffee in the lobby are a nice touch. Free wi-fi is also good, and the speed decent for most purposes (about 1 Mbps).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abeagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are so sorry to see the official end of summer as it means we will have to wait until next year to see many of our favorite people back in Portage. We hope you enjoyed the area as much as you enjoyed your hotel experience.

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are so happy that your stay went well and that the kids loved the Aquatic Center.

Take care and please come back soon. Portage in winter is nice too and the Aquatic Center is here for your enjoyment all year around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 10 in Portage
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
131 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
386 reviews
6.8 mi away
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
WaterBird Lakeside Inn
#4 of 5 in Chesterton
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Address: 1630 Olmstead Dr, Portage, IN 46368-1696
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located near the the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and just 1 mile from Portage's Riverwalk beach park. We are a family friendly hotel with a large aquatic center featuring a kiddie pool, hot tub, swimming pool and an arcade area. We offer a great free breakfast every morning that includes fresh homemade waffles, various hot items like sausage and eggs as well as lots of fruits and cereals. We are just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago with great rail service available daily until midnight or later. The famed Lighthouse Outlet mall is less than 20 minutes away as are numerous casinos. Portage is a great place to vacation or just visit. Our beaches are second to none and our people are friendly and always inviting.. The famed Steel Mills of NW Indiana are just minutes away from the hotel so business clients are always welcomed. Specially negotiated rates are available for all contractors and vendors doing business with the mills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Portage
Country Inn & Suites Portage Hotel Portage
Country Inn Portage
Portage Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing