We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were pleasantly surprised”

LongHorn Steakhouse
Ranked #3 of 81 Restaurants in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We were pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

There are not many restaurants at this exit, and we were staying in a local lodging on our way to Chicago. Since we do not eat red meat, we were thinking options would be tough, but the chicken dishes were excellent. Healthy options were noted in the menu. Salads were abundant and fresh, and service was top-notch. We will return when we pass this way again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PezWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food but a little pricey”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our meals and service were excellent. Close to our hotel so we could walk. Prices were a little expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mom1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“good food, but expensive”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We ate here because we stayed at the County Inn next door and had a $50 gift card and a free appetizer coupon for Longhorn. We ordered 2 meals, a sandwich, soda, 2 beers, and 2 mixed drinks. Our bill and tip was $80. So we paid $30. This is more than we usually like to spend. That being said...each of us liked our food and drinks. Complimentary wheat bread was offered before the meal. We usually eat this and ask for more, but we didn't like it that much. It tasted to wheaty/healthy. We did notice that most of the diners were age 50 and up. We joked that they were the only ones that could afford to eat here. Probably won't go back to a Longhorn unless it's a special occasion and then I would still look for a Lone Star or Texas Roadhouse steakhouse.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank respiratorytherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The decor was nice. The place made you feel comfortable and relaxed. The food was good. The service was good. We will go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank squeaky1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good food at fair prices. Great staff. Enjoyed the cheddar stuffed mushroom appetizer! Longhorn is consistent across locations and when looking for a steak dinner, this fits the bill just right!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongHorn Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to LongHorn Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing