We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcomes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portage
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm Welcomes”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel many times, I have always felt welcomed and valued as a guest. The staff here go out of the way to assist you in any needs you may have. The rooms are very clean, the location is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. I shared your comments with the entire team. Thanks for your very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    113
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
163
83
24
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was traveling from Michigan to Wisconsin. Traffic was bad, weather was not great. I got tired and decided to spend the night. Found Hampton Inn on my GPS. Found the number on my phone. Called. Reservation Desk gave me no problems and did not take advantage of me making a last minute reservation. Started to check in, gave my HHonors Gold Number. Got upgraded. Got free snack! Very happy with desk staff. Room? Same as any Hampton. Consistency is why I select this chain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your kind remarks. There are presently 1922 Hampton locations in the Brand. Consistency and Quality. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We like to stay at Hampton Inns as they are generally a clean, well run operation. The Portage Hampton fit that bill well. The people were friendly and helpful and the building and rooms were all clean and modern. Beds were excellent. An added advantage is that this motel is not right on the highway so it is nice and quiet. The signage for entering the motel could be a little better as it is relatively easy to miss after leaving the main highway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Our apologies if you difficulty locating our property. Thanks for your very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at this Hampton for one evening using half Hilton Honors Points & half paid. It was well worth the money. We had the King room w/ Jacuzzi, the room was extremely clean and comfortable. The staff was great. The hotel is just off hwy 90/94, there are lots of restaurants in the area to choose from and shopping not very far from the hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks for the very kind remarks. Our team members totally agreed with everything you said. They all hope that you choose to stay at our Hotel again.

Happy Holidays

Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed for 4 days for business. This Hampton was everything that you would expect. Nothing out of the ordinary for a Hampton. Which is why we pick the Hilton brands to stay with. We wished it had a hot tub. It was clean, easy access to restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your kind remarks.

Our records indicate that you had two guest rooms. Your employees stayed in a double queen. Your room, 104 is a whirlpool suite, that includes a hot tub.You received a free upgrade because of your Diamond status.

We hope that you continue to stay within the Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked night as half HHonirs points and half price paid. Great deal. Hotek is extremely clean. Staff very friendly. Clerk was attentive upon checkin and went above and beyond to provide excellent customer service. Hotel has gone paperless so all receipts are emailed. Very friendly for business traveler. Easy highway access to 94 and 80/90.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank travelteach92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. I shared your comments with the entire team and they agree with everything you said about our Hotel. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very clean, hearty breakfast and modern. The staff were friendly and thoughtful when I arrived five minutes late to breakfast. They allowed me to get breakfast and brought out fruit they had packed up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay at our Hotel. I shared your kind remarks with the entire team. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again. The fall colors will peak in about a week along the Dunes National Shoreline.

Paul Zielinski General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
6.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Property: Hampton Inn Portage
Address: 6353 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing