We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bug crawling on my bedspread”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portage
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bed Bug crawling on my bedspread”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Room seemed very cleaned and smelled great. I was very shocked when a bedbug was crawling on my bedspread. Front desk doubted that I saw one, but I had caught it so I could show her. The room did not look infested, but there was still a bedbug on the bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank blueagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Because guest satisfaction is our ultimate goal, we contacted our contracted pest control company to perform an inspection of the guest room in question. They did not find any evidence of bed bugs or an infestation in the guest room. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.


Paul Zielinski General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    113
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
163
83
24
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This Hampton Inn property isn't too far off I-80 and in a fairly quiet location. it meets Hampton Inn standards, but most rooms don't have refrigerators. They not only have a complimentary breakfast, but if you're in a hurry they have grab bags with a muffin, water and maybe fruit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank pbschaeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel & thanks for the comments. In addition to the amenities that you mentioned we also offer a heated indoor pool, fitness center, and complimentary WIFI. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.


Paul Zielinski GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Easy check-in. Desk clerk was helpful finding a nearby restaurant. Rooms were spacious and clean with plenty of places to recharge all your electronics. Pool was well maintained and convenient. Coffee is available all day. The large breakfast room has plenty of seating. Great variety of breakfast choices and fresh fruit – always appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nationalparkPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for the very kind remarks. I shared your comments with the entire team. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.



Paul Zielinski GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I would without question recommend this hotel. It was clean and the staff was friendly. I could go on but when I'm looking at these reviews these are the two things I'm mainly looking for and I give this hotel a high rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for your very kind remarks. Lots of Color in the Dunes State Park in the next couple of weeks. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TROY
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice location, nice place, nice breakfast, nice staff. We enjoyed our stay. It's close to the Michigan lake, the Indiana dunes are fabulous, you should visit the area. There are nice towns in the surrounding area, festivals, food, shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 6699Sn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We totally agree this area is a NICE place to visit. Lots of color in the fall in the Dunes State Park.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
208 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is a typical Hampton Inn. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, adequate breakfast, etc. Being a typical Hampton Inn meant that there was no control of the air conditioning fan. It only ran if you asked for more heat or cold. I live in on a very busy road and find that a fan kills the external noise. The hotel, though some distance from the highway, has a seemingly busy road outside. The railway, even though it is over 2 miles away, is very busy - day and night. Those trains certainly whistle. The fan would have helped suppress the noise. The hotel cannot do anything about the cause of the noises. However, they could do something to reduce its effect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTimTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. There are three settings on the PTAC for the fan, high, low and auto. It defalts to auto which means it will run only when the thremostat tells it to run. Just dial the front desk when you have issues.

Thanks for your comments. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Hotel was a little hard to find. Staff was great and the room was nice and clean. No concerns -- the breakfast was ample. Felt safe and secure. Not much around hotel for food to eat. Beds were awesome...fast internet. No concerns would stay again at this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for your very kind comments. Our front desk team can provide information on restuarants within a mile of our Hotel for your trip. We hope to see you again.


Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
6.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Property: Hampton Inn Portage
Address: 6353 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing