We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portage
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
TROY
2 reviews
“Nice”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice location, nice place, nice breakfast, nice staff. We enjoyed our stay. It's close to the Michigan lake, the Indiana dunes are fabulous, you should visit the area. There are nice towns in the surrounding area, festivals, food, shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 6699Sn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We totally agree this area is a NICE place to visit. Lots of color in the fall in the Dunes State Park.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    116
    40
    21
    7
See reviews for
166
86
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is a typical Hampton Inn. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, adequate breakfast, etc. Being a typical Hampton Inn meant that there was no control of the air conditioning fan. It only ran if you asked for more heat or cold. I live in on a very busy road and find that a fan kills the external noise. The hotel, though some distance from the highway, has a seemingly busy road outside. The railway, even though it is over 2 miles away, is very busy - day and night. Those trains certainly whistle. The fan would have helped suppress the noise. The hotel cannot do anything about the cause of the noises. However, they could do something to reduce its effect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTimTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. There are three settings on the PTAC for the fan, high, low and auto. It defalts to auto which means it will run only when the thremostat tells it to run. Just dial the front desk when you have issues.

Thanks for your comments. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Hotel was a little hard to find. Staff was great and the room was nice and clean. No concerns -- the breakfast was ample. Felt safe and secure. Not much around hotel for food to eat. Beds were awesome...fast internet. No concerns would stay again at this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for your very kind comments. Our front desk team can provide information on restuarants within a mile of our Hotel for your trip. We hope to see you again.


Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel was comfortable and clean. Located only a mile off of the Interstate between Illinois and Indiana so it was a convenient stop between Chicago's Midway Airport and South Bend, IN. I would recommend this hotel, Hampton Inns are always dependable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for your kind remarks. When I travel, I also choose to stay at a Hampton Inn. We hope that you plan a return visit to our Hotel.


Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Portage on the first night of our journey back home. We always try to stay at a Hampton Inn when we go on vacation. You are sure to get a very nice clean room and a great nights sleep at a Hampton. We had a very long drive that day and with a 4 year old in the car we needed to rest for the night. This is a very nice hotel...quiet location. My husband said he heard a loud train in the middle of the night, but I didn't hear anything :) Since we were coming in off the road we didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it looked like your typical pool area. If we are ever in the area again we would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your kind remarks. Your husband probably did hear a train in the middle of the night. CSX Railroad has a regional office in Portage. The Railroad tracks are 2.5 miles from the Hotel. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Winfield, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have stayed in many Hampton Inn's and this is the first one that did not have an in room fridge or microwave. Since we got in late and were there only for the night I'm not sure what the area had to offer in places to eat. It would have been nice to either bring something back and keep it cold or reheat something that I had bought.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank CNYcountrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Our apologies for disappointing you. Many of the newer Hamptons have micro waves and refrigerators in all guest rooms. We have them as standard equipment in our whirlpool suites. The Hilton Brand presently does not mandate that ownership provide them in all guest rooms.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the quality one would expect of a Hilton brand - nice. It was super easy to find off the expressway, and the rooms were comfy. My kids loved that there was a pool. Breakfast was a bit of a downer, but not bad, just could have been better. My only real complaint was the tap water was just gross. Tasted like swamp water. They need a filter for it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NomeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your comments.

Our apologies for the water. It is city water. I passed your comments on to the City of Portage. You are more than welcome to request bottled water during your next stay.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
6.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Property: Hampton Inn Portage
Address: 6353 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing