We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Portage, IN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portage
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel was comfortable and clean. Located only a mile off of the Interstate between Illinois and Indiana so it was a convenient stop between Chicago's Midway Airport and South Bend, IN. I would recommend this hotel, Hampton Inns are always dependable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thanks for your kind remarks. When I travel, I also choose to stay at a Hampton Inn. We hope that you plan a return visit to our Hotel.


Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Portage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 391 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Portage on the first night of our journey back home. We always try to stay at a Hampton Inn when we go on vacation. You are sure to get a very nice clean room and a great nights sleep at a Hampton. We had a very long drive that day and with a 4 year old in the car we needed to rest for the night. This is a very nice hotel...quiet location. My husband said he heard a loud train in the middle of the night, but I didn't hear anything :) Since we were coming in off the road we didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it looked like your typical pool area. If we are ever in the area again we would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your kind remarks. Your husband probably did hear a train in the middle of the night. CSX Railroad has a regional office in Portage. The Railroad tracks are 2.5 miles from the Hotel. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have stayed in many Hampton Inn's and this is the first one that did not have an in room fridge or microwave. Since we got in late and were there only for the night I'm not sure what the area had to offer in places to eat. It would have been nice to either bring something back and keep it cold or reheat something that I had bought.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank CNYcountrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Our apologies for disappointing you. Many of the newer Hamptons have micro waves and refrigerators in all guest rooms. We have them as standard equipment in our whirlpool suites. The Hilton Brand presently does not mandate that ownership provide them in all guest rooms.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is the quality one would expect of a Hilton brand - nice. It was super easy to find off the expressway, and the rooms were comfy. My kids loved that there was a pool. Breakfast was a bit of a downer, but not bad, just could have been better. My only real complaint was the tap water was just gross. Tasted like swamp water. They need a filter for it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank NomeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your comments.

Our apologies for the water. It is city water. I passed your comments on to the City of Portage. You are more than welcome to request bottled water during your next stay.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for a one night stay. Rooms were clean, but property is in need of an upgrade, specifically the rooms. Breakfast is good, especially the do it yourself waffles. Overall a good experience, though the rooms need a little TLC.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwp2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for choosing our Hotel.

Our guest rooms were renovated during the month of May. The renovation included draperies, soft seating, carpeting, new art work, & painting. The corridors were redecorated. The lobby and fitness center were renovated last winter.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here while traveling through to Minnesota for an athletic event and was very pleased with the hotel. The room was clean and the Wi-Fi worked well. Breakfast was good, typical Hampton--a little of everything. Pool was a good size and the front desk was very helpful. I'm glad we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your kind remarks. We hope that you return for many more great stays at our Hotel.

Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

no problems, easy to get to right off the interstate. clean and quiet room. would stay in hotel again. only thing lacking was a refrigerator in the room. breakfast was good and easy. hotel was very clean. starbucks across highway also a plus

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Craig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your kind remarks. We have refrigerators in our Whirlpool Suites. We have three other sets of micro waves and refrigerators that are available for $10.00 per night.

The Hilton Brand does not require ownership to provide micro waves and refrigerators in alll guest rooms.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
153 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Address: 6353 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: $98 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing