We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portage
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Briarcliff Manor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here while traveling through to Minnesota for an athletic event and was very pleased with the hotel. The room was clean and the Wi-Fi worked well. Breakfast was good, typical Hampton--a little of everything. Pool was a good size and the front desk was very helpful. I'm glad we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your kind remarks. We hope that you return for many more great stays at our Hotel.

Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    110
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
160
82
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

no problems, easy to get to right off the interstate. clean and quiet room. would stay in hotel again. only thing lacking was a refrigerator in the room. breakfast was good and easy. hotel was very clean. starbucks across highway also a plus

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Craig Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your kind remarks. We have refrigerators in our Whirlpool Suites. We have three other sets of micro waves and refrigerators that are available for $10.00 per night.

The Hilton Brand does not require ownership to provide micro waves and refrigerators in alll guest rooms.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiangsu
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We've stayed here numerous times. It is a decent, average Hampton Inn. If you know what a Hampton Inn is, then you know what this place is like - it is is in keeping with the brand. Clean, decent-sized rooms with free wireless and nice, firm beds. Hotel has a small pool and small exercise room (just one treadmill and one stairmaster) and is in a great location right off I-94. Also, typical Hampton breakfast and friendly staff.

We use the hotel as a transit hotel and most nights we've been here, the majority of the guests appear to be doing the same. We've generally got a very good night's sleep here. However, on this Saturday night, it seemed as though the hotel was full and there were groups of people who knew each other. Perhaps there was some event that made the area more of a destination. This meant there were occasionally loud people roaming the halls at all hours of the night. Bothersome enough to disturb one's sleep, but because it was intermittent (and because the precise location of the noise was hard to identify), it was not something worth contacting the front desk about.

A couple of tiny things:
1. [This appears to be a problem at other Hampton Inns too] The hot water container in the breakfast room has been used for coffee in the past. So, if you just want hot water, it always seems laced with the flavor of coffee. Even if you use the hot water for tea, the flavor of coffee comes through. They should buy a container that is used exclusively for hot water.
2. And, on the subject of tea and coffee, this Hampton Inn never seems to have any caffeine-free teas (e.g. chamomile or orange-spice). Everything has caffeine. So, if you want something hot to drink when you arrive at night, there's nothing available. This is the only Hampton Inn that I've been unable to get a caffeine-free tea.

Room Tip: Avoid room 214 (and probably 212 and 216 as well). Its window is blocked by the Hampton Inn sign on...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lawprof975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your comments.

On that particular weekend we hosted a wedding and a small family reunion. Those particular groups were inconsiderate of the right of the other Hotel guests to enjoy a peaceful quiet nights rest. In the future please contact the front desk when other guests are making too much noise.

We shall order some decaf tea and pay more attention to the pot that we offer Hot Water. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel before and it's always been a great place to stay. This time I came in late on a rainy friday evening off a 600+ mile motorcycle trip to this hotel. I didn't have a reservation but since I was coming through this area and had a great experience previously I came straight to the hotel in the hopes of them having a room available and some of the delicious chocolate chip cookies they have for guests upon arrival. The hotel was packed but a room was available...but no cookies!! They don't make cookies on the weekend. I could stand to pass on a cookie or two. The stay was excellent. Whether business or pleasure, solo or with family and kids, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etters
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good Clean Motel, We were satisfied with the room and the location. Staff was helpful in finding a place to eat. Had a good nights sleep. Desk clerk was helpful in our locating local attractions. Felt like we were in a safe location. Had no real problems with the motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for the very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielnski
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and very much enjoyed the hotel. The room was clean, the breakfast was good, with very pleasant staff serving you. The pool water was very comfortable, although we were disappointed there was not a hot tub. Overall, the hotel was very nice and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for your very kind remarks. I shared them with the entire team. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, MO, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Well kept hotel. Good quiet location. Obviously recently remodeled. Staff was helpful and friendly especially the breakfast staff. Even though all rooms were sold out when we were there, it never seemed crowded or noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Randall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your very kind remarks. They brought lots of smiles to team members. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.


Paul Zielinski
General Manger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Property: Hampton Inn Portage
Address: 6353 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing