We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portage
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stay in many hotels every year and always look at reviews prior to picking. This hotel and good customer reviews and I can happy say they were correct. The hotel and room look recently remodeled. The hotel, lobby, hallways, room, bathroom were all very clean. The mattress was new and the sheets were nice and I was able to get a great nights sleep. It does look like their was some construction out back, new homes but that is completed. So it was quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Christopher I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for your very kind remarks. True enough the guest room renovation has just been completed. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.


Paul Zielinski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 406 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Comfortable bed and agreeable staff. Just spent one night but everything was fine. It was close enough to Chicago to get to the city early the next morning in less than an hour and did not have to pay big city prices for the night. The bed was very comfortable. Nice range of restaurants in the area. Good breakfast. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. I shared your comments with our team. Thanks for your very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.


Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am a frequent visitor of Hampton Inn's during most of travels so I have come to expect exceptional service and value at each. This Portage location is nice but a few picky things kept me from rating the usual 5. I understand that the appearance of each Hilton property is a major key to their success and the recent renovations of this property are evident. However, it takes more than fancy dining areas and flat screen televisions to wow customers. My king room was immaculate with a fancy duvet and all the trimmings. Amazingly the air-conditional looked like it was from the 70’s and the same with the shower head and tub. Both worked but not the exceptional I expect from Hampton. Then with all the detail put into bed covers I would expect them to use at least average toilet paper and not the 50 cent stuff from the dollar store. Another standard that I usually anticipate from Hampton is a smile and warm greeting and at this location not one morning of the 3 was I even greeted with a good morning or is everything OK. One morning my dirty coffee cup was left right by the pot and another morning no regular coffee was left. By no means a horrendous Hampton experience but not the usual visit. If you spend money to fix-up don’t forget the small things and for sure don’t forget the basic customer service skills.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We are embarassed that you were so disappointed. With all due respect, the toilet paper that we use in the Brand Standard, purchased from the Brand approved vendor.

Our apologies for running out of coffee at a very inappropriate moment. We have challenged each other to demonstrate better hospitality skills. We hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very good value... upon arrival, staff agreed to match rate quoted by Expedia, which was lower than hotel's quoted rate. Accommodations were above expectations. Location was quiet and easy to get to. Front desk was friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank RIM1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thanks for your very kind remarks. We hope that your choose to stay with us again.



Paul Zielinski General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We just stayed there and even though the site says it under renovation the revovation is complete it is awsome place to stay the rooms are great the staff is really great. The pool was very nice I would reccommend anyone to stay there The beds are to die for they are so comfortable. I give this hotel ***** stars

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thanks for your very kind remarks. Our guest room renovation will be completed 06.07.13. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.




Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel has been recently renovated and the furnishings are wonderful. The staff at this facility are fantastic, have a great attitude and are very helpful in recommendations of nearby attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thanks for your very kind remarks. I always share guest's comments with team members. Our guest room renovation will be completed by 06.07.13. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.


Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had terrible day - my wheel tire burst on the highway (I 95) 250 miles away from home. All I wanted was a great sleep at night. Unfortunately, I had sleepless night! The A/C was so noisy that I had to keep it off. No greetings as HHonors Gold member. Location is good - off of the highway. Price is not competitive compared to the quality. I won't recommend to my friends to stay there. There are many alternative hotels around

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Manzurul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests including comments to help identify ways we can improve. I understand that you had some issues during your stay. Our main concern is for the comfort of our guests and I sincerely apologize that we were not able to provide this for you.

Our guest room renovation will be completed by 06.07.13. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Portage
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Address: 6353 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: $79 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing