We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average and not the usual wow of Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portage
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Average and not the usual wow of Hampton”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am a frequent visitor of Hampton Inn's during most of travels so I have come to expect exceptional service and value at each. This Portage location is nice but a few picky things kept me from rating the usual 5. I understand that the appearance of each Hilton property is a major key to their success and the recent renovations of this property are evident. However, it takes more than fancy dining areas and flat screen televisions to wow customers. My king room was immaculate with a fancy duvet and all the trimmings. Amazingly the air-conditional looked like it was from the 70’s and the same with the shower head and tub. Both worked but not the exceptional I expect from Hampton. Then with all the detail put into bed covers I would expect them to use at least average toilet paper and not the 50 cent stuff from the dollar store. Another standard that I usually anticipate from Hampton is a smile and warm greeting and at this location not one morning of the 3 was I even greeted with a good morning or is everything OK. One morning my dirty coffee cup was left right by the pot and another morning no regular coffee was left. By no means a horrendous Hampton experience but not the usual visit. If you spend money to fix-up don’t forget the small things and for sure don’t forget the basic customer service skills.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are embarassed that you were so disappointed. With all due respect, the toilet paper that we use in the Brand Standard, purchased from the Brand approved vendor.

Our apologies for running out of coffee at a very inappropriate moment. We have challenged each other to demonstrate better hospitality skills. We hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    112
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
161
82
24
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very good value... upon arrival, staff agreed to match rate quoted by Expedia, which was lower than hotel's quoted rate. Accommodations were above expectations. Location was quiet and easy to get to. Front desk was friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank RIM1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks for your very kind remarks. We hope that your choose to stay with us again.



Paul Zielinski General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We just stayed there and even though the site says it under renovation the revovation is complete it is awsome place to stay the rooms are great the staff is really great. The pool was very nice I would reccommend anyone to stay there The beds are to die for they are so comfortable. I give this hotel ***** stars

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for your very kind remarks. Our guest room renovation will be completed 06.07.13. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.




Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel has been recently renovated and the furnishings are wonderful. The staff at this facility are fantastic, have a great attitude and are very helpful in recommendations of nearby attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for your very kind remarks. I always share guest's comments with team members. Our guest room renovation will be completed by 06.07.13. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.


Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had terrible day - my wheel tire burst on the highway (I 95) 250 miles away from home. All I wanted was a great sleep at night. Unfortunately, I had sleepless night! The A/C was so noisy that I had to keep it off. No greetings as HHonors Gold member. Location is good - off of the highway. Price is not competitive compared to the quality. I won't recommend to my friends to stay there. There are many alternative hotels around

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Manzurul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests including comments to help identify ways we can improve. I understand that you had some issues during your stay. Our main concern is for the comfort of our guests and I sincerely apologize that we were not able to provide this for you.

Our guest room renovation will be completed by 06.07.13. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for a night on a weekend family trip to Chicago. The lobby had been recently remodeled, and the desk was ready with our reservation. Our bed was truly Hampton perfect. Although breakfast wasthe usual fare, it was easy to find healthy choices, such as cooked oatmeal, yogurts, fresh fruit, and whole grain baked goods. Great service and friendly staff at every turn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank PezWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your very kind remarks.

Our guest room renovation begins on May 1, 2013 and will be completed during the 1st week of June 2013. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The room was dingy smelling and not very bright or clean. The pool was nice however the room itself was kept cold so when you get out of the water you freeze to death. Do not stay in room 107, if someone gets on the treadmill it will get very loud in your room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Our apologies for your unpleasant stay. As I mentioned in a previous email, we host US Army Reservists once a month. One of the Reservists utilized the Fitness Center early in the morning before they left for training exercises. Room 107 was the last first floor room available when you checked into the Hotel.

We apolgize for any inconvenience. Our Guest Room Renovation officially begins on 05.01.13 & should be completed by 06.05.13. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Property: Hampton Inn Portage
Address: 6353 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368-1218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing