We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Portage
Nearby Hotels
$119
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Portage)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Inn(Portage)
$72
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
203
126
52
24
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
126
52
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanindiana duneswould stay here againbit datedbreakfast staffcomplimentary breakfastexercise roombusiness tripwafflesquick stopdesk clerkstaff was friendlygreat place to stayeasy accessafter a long daythe breakfast areanice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 414 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel has been recently renovated and the furnishings are wonderful. The staff at this facility are fantastic, have a great attitude and are very helpful in recommendations of nearby attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thanks for your very kind remarks. I always share guest's comments with team members. Our guest room renovation will be completed by 06.07.13. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.


Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had terrible day - my wheel tire burst on the highway (I 95) 250 miles away from home. All I wanted was a great sleep at night. Unfortunately, I had sleepless night! The A/C was so noisy that I had to keep it off. No greetings as HHonors Gold member. Location is good - off of the highway. Price is not competitive compared to the quality. I won't recommend to my friends to stay there. There are many alternative hotels around

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Manzurul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests including comments to help identify ways we can improve. I understand that you had some issues during your stay. Our main concern is for the comfort of our guests and I sincerely apologize that we were not able to provide this for you.

Our guest room renovation will be completed by 06.07.13. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for a night on a weekend family trip to Chicago. The lobby had been recently remodeled, and the desk was ready with our reservation. Our bed was truly Hampton perfect. Although breakfast wasthe usual fare, it was easy to find healthy choices, such as cooked oatmeal, yogurts, fresh fruit, and whole grain baked goods. Great service and friendly staff at every turn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank PezWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for your very kind remarks.

Our guest room renovation begins on May 1, 2013 and will be completed during the 1st week of June 2013. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The room was dingy smelling and not very bright or clean. The pool was nice however the room itself was kept cold so when you get out of the water you freeze to death. Do not stay in room 107, if someone gets on the treadmill it will get very loud in your room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Our apologies for your unpleasant stay. As I mentioned in a previous email, we host US Army Reservists once a month. One of the Reservists utilized the Fitness Center early in the morning before they left for training exercises. Room 107 was the last first floor room available when you checked into the Hotel.

We apolgize for any inconvenience. Our Guest Room Renovation officially begins on 05.01.13 & should be completed by 06.05.13. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Paul Zielinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Furnishings and carpet etc are up to date and comfortable. Other area hotels offer refrigerator in room at a lower rate, though ($10 charge here). Poor noise isolation b/w rooms with connecting suite door (1" gap at bottom).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for your comments.Without comments from our guests we have no hope of meeting your expectations.

Our guest room renovation begins on the 1st of May. The process should take four to six weeks to complete. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews