We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Fouke, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Beware if your room is on the end where the night club is because you won't be able to sleep. The music booming from the night club next door will shake you out of your bed. No rest for the weary or anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portage, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Lanita S,

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the outside noise. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, your comments are troubling and I will make sure that this will be looked into. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope you would give us a chance to serve you again and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    37
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
47
26
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paola, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service for special requests. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Delicious breakfast with lots of variety. Comfortable beds and bedding. Pool is tiny. Would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed one night with my husband and 2 kids. We were given a room on the 3rd floor. We were unaware until we arrived on the 3rd floor after taking a very slow elevator up, that 1/2 the floor is smoking. (smoking inside will end at end of July 2012). Well we were 1 room away from the smoking rooms. So let's just call it passive smoking...after a couple attempts were were finally given another room on a different floor.

We also were not told that there is a very active railroad that runs behind the hotel with trains going by at 11 pm, 2 am, and also 4 am. Try to get a room on the front side.

The hotel could use some updates and was pretty dated. But the hotel manager helped us out and moved us to the non smoking floor, so I was thankful for her help.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front side of the hotel away from the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mskimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portage, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear mskimt,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad the manager was able to assist you and move you to a room that met your expectations. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the outside noise had caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Beds were comfortable and clean...but housekeeping failed to provide shampoo and soap for the 2nd and 3rd nights of our stay...came back 3rd night after being out all day and housekeeping had not been to change out towels or make beds...they were courteous about getting it readied, but still no shampoo and bar soap. The smoke from 3rd floor rooms permeate the "non-smoking"rooms on the 2nd floor. This particular HI Express falls way below the franchise standard in cleanliness and basic housekeeping.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

There are not a huge amount of choices in this area. There was so much air freshened deodorant (to cover up smoke?) in the room, that I had a hard time breathing. I asked for a room with no deodorizers, air fresheners, or smoke upon check-in.

I had to meet friends in Chicago, and didn't have time to request another room, or I would've risked missing my train. Thought I'd see when I returned if there was a vacant room to which I could switch. I returned around midnight only to find the front doors of the hotel locked. it turns out they were completely booked for the night. The front desk clerk must have heard me standing in front of the doors wondering what was going on, and opened the door for me.

The room was in need of renovation, and I had trouble breathing the entire night due to the horrible air fresher/Lysol/deodorant smelling stuff they used. I tried opening the windows, blowing in outside air, fanning the door to the corridor to help remove the smell, but nothing worked.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portage, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear ibickford,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad you chose the Holiday Inn Express Portage as your hotel preference. It is our regret that you were not satisfied with your room accommodation. We want our guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused by the scent of the air freshener. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel overnight with my two kids and husband. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and the free breakfast in the morning was very good. The pool is a tad small but that seems to be the norm for indoor hotel pools. Overall the stay was nice and I would recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahelgesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

2 significant things to be aware of, detailed below. One the hotel could control, one they can't. Other than that a fine place to stay and what you'd expect from a HIE.

The hallways outside the 3rd floor non-smoking rooms reek heavily of smoke. The room was fine and clean and fresh, but open the room door and wow, its terrible. From the signs outside the doors it looks like 2/3rds of the 3rd floor are non-smoking and 1/3 are smoking - divided by the elevator location. But the hall smells real bad. As this was noticeable even at 3 PM with 5 cars total in the parking lots (i.e, nearly empty building) so I don't think its smoke in the air from other rooms - seems more like it might be permanently engrained in the carpet, ceiling tiles or wallpaper and might persist until they are replaced.. Others in our party also complained about smoke smell in the elevator but I didn't notice that. Again, the room itself was fine.

The other item to be aware of is the constant train whistle noise. Apparently ever train has to whistle 5 times as it comes through town? Every other hotel nearby would be affected by this also so not anything unique to HIE. Some were as often as every 20 mins. All night too (but not as often). The A/C noise partially masks it and makes it close to tolerable. But without the A/C on it kept us up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1234Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portage, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Traveler1234Missouri,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm truly pleased you liked our hotel and your room accommodation. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the unusual smell of the hallways and outside noise caused you. We will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 10 in Portage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Portage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portage
Address: 2323 Willowcreek Road, Portage, IN 46368-2125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn Express® Portage hotel, the premier destination for practical travelers who want a more comfortable and convenient stay in Portage. The hotel's location places guests just around the corner from a wealth of attractions and area businesses, and our friendly staff are always ready to welcome you with great service and a smile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing