We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No surprises, no disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No surprises, no disappointments”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed for an overnight at this Holiday Inn Express in April. The reservation was correct, check in very quick, room clean and large enough. I found it much like most HIE's... it was what I expected with nothing particularly memorable. I wasn't looking to be wowed, just accommodated. I looked at many options in the Merrillville/Portage area and so many had bad reviews. My top priorities for a simple overnight are...clean, reservation right, no unpleasant surprises. This hotel met my expectations.

Room Tip: Frequent trains passing nearby add to the "flavor".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pawwap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    37
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
47
27
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a whim as we grew tired of driving on a long trip. The staff were courteous at check-in... Initially they gave us a room with a king on the second floor, but then ran outside as we were getting our bags to say they'd made a mistake and that we'd be on the first floor. This was fine as we preferred the main level anyway.

The room was nice and clean and the bed was comfortable with two different pillows per side. It had a fridge and microwave which is normally difficult to find for $100 a night. We were too tired to swim or anything but the free wifi came in handy. The hot breakfast with cinnamon rolls, sausages, eggs, etc was above average and an excellent bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritimer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Stayed here using points. So, didn't have to pay $100 plus taxes. We stayed here basically to sleep. Beds were adequate, slept on better and slept on worse. They have "firm" and "soft" pillows to choose from. Pool is for kids to splash around in, not for lap swimming. "Workout Room" consists of a treadmill, eltiptical machine, and a weight machine. Fairly basic but has enough for the basics.

Breakfast consisted of variety a of coffees, bagels, pre made omelets, bacon, bread, gravy/biscuits, cold cereal, oatmeal, cinnamon rolls, and a few other misc. Items Being a Holiday Inn Express, I was impressed.

Overall, staff was very friendly and hospitable. Coming from California, I'm used to a more diverse population. Being the Midwest, this area is not diverse.

Pretty decent hotel a few minute off I-94!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrewJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2011

When traveling for business, which is quite often, I stay at Holiday Inn Express facilities 99% of the time. My recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Portage, Michigan was exceptional, however.
The smiling, courteous staff and the accomodations were surperb. The heater/AC unit was the quietest I've had in a LONG time. I could hardly hear it during the night as it cycled on and off. The room was impecablly clean, quiet and comfortable. The comforter on the bed was the best and warmest I've had the pleasure of sleeping under - I WANT ONE OF MY OWN!
As with most HI Express hotels, the one-piece bathtubs creak and squeak when you bathe. This one DID NOT! The curtain bar was at the right height - most of them aren't - and no water got on to the floor because of it. Good construction management here.
The Internet actually worked and worked well! And the television was new and up to date and, well, what else can I say, but a pleasant night's stay to say the least.
Thanks again, to the staff and management.

One of the finest stays I've had in a long time.
KUDOs to the staff and management for a well-maintained and pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lthrnkgunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Well pleased with friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast is excellent especially with addition of new pancake maker. Rooms are dingy and mine doesn't smell fresh. Elevator smells strongly of smoke.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ice999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlinville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel was very nice. It was easy on and off the interstate. The rooms were clean, and quiet. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. They suggested a restaurant for us and gave easy directions to it. The continental breakfast was very good and had a good selection to choose from. The price was right and we would stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We usually stop in Ilinois or Michigan, but I took a chance on a new stopover.
The hotel seemed off the beaten track, but it is close to the toll route, not I94. I cashed in some Priority Club points for our stay, but I wasn't treated like they knew I was getting a 'freebee'. I was greeted as a PC member, and was given one of the larger 'upgraded' rooms. They are renovating all of the rooms but the TVs are not flat panel 'yet'. This isn't a big deal for us, any TV is fine. The room had a fridge and a microwave, sofa and sitting area. It was very quiet and not too far from the dunes beaches. The hotel pool was really small, so we didn't bother to swim.
The room was large and clean. I asked the staff where to order pizza and they recommended the Pizza Shack. The breadsticks were well worth it. For less than 15$ we got a pizza breadsticks and pop, and even had leftover cold pizza for the ride home.
We will likely stop here again.
NOTE one end of the hotel is smoking, so if this bothers you, ask for a room far enough away, we only noticed the 'smokey' smell as we got off the elevator, our room was fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IA_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 10 in Portage
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Portage
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portage
Address: 2323 Willowcreek Road, Portage, IN 46368-2125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the always-accommodating Holiday Inn Express® Portage hotel, the premier destination for practical travelers who want a more comfortable and convenient stay in Portage. The hotel's location places guests just around the corner from a wealth of attractions and area businesses, and our friendly staff are always ready to welcome you with great service and a smile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing