We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western in Portage, IN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
St Charles, United States
1 review
“Best Western in Portage, IN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Had a great stay, the kiddie pool area is great, the staff if friendly and always try to work with you in getting you the desired room. Front desk is kind, friendly and professional. I'll be back again for a future stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
I wanted to personally thank you for your great review. We appreciate hearing back from happy guest and we definitely look forward to serving you again.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    95
    43
    13
    9
See reviews for
158
64
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Wish the breakfast area was maintained better and stocked more efficiently, This has been a problem for several years and I have not noticed any improvement. No cups beside waffle maker, never any regular bagels, ran out of waffle syrup all available was sugar free.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank L5911HXchrisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we certainly appreciate the feedback and we are definitely looking into solutions for our breakfast bar. Unfortunately on some days guest demand certainly overshadows how much we could supply but we are putting forth an effort to be better prepared and we hope next time you stay with us these problems are remedied.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Wow, this place was amazing, the staff was stellar, and the value was exceptional! My kids loved the splash zone, and we were even upgraded to a suite. It was such a nice place to stay, and after driving from MT to NY and headed back, for a family emergency we felt very refreshed here. I definitely recommend stopping here!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Korrin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review we are happy we were able to help you in a time of need. We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and look forward to that day.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

My family and I spent 2 days visiting Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore/State Park and spent two nights in this hotel. We had a great stay in a suite with 2 queens and a sleeper sofa. Room and bathroom was very clean and updated and there was enough space for the 5 of us. The beds were very comfortable but of course, the sleeper sofa was not the best but they never are! There were a lot of people staying the same time we were, from truckers to families. You wouldn’t have known that the floor we were on and the room was super quiet. Pool wasn’t super big but provided enough room for several people to be in at the same time, including several children. The splash area/children’s area was a great feature that would be very entertaining for smaller children. Pool and pool area was very clean and many towels available to use. I appreciated the fact there were normal pool hours for families and such until 9pm and then adult hours from 9-11pm. Obviously I am family friendly, but it was a nice feature to have. The hotel is very close to the National Lakeshore and State Park and also close to many restaurants and stores and conveniently located off the interstate. If you aren’t familiar with this area and the Chicago area, it seems every interstate has a toll (prices range from 80 cents to several dollars, toll booths take cash and cards). If you plan on driving into Chicago, be prepared to go through several toll booths (we went through 4!). My only small gripe was not with the hotel, staff or facilities but with “regulars” who appeared to be truckers. Some of them acted like they owned the place and it was a little frustrating since they outright cut in front of me while I was checking in. However, many of the other "regulars" we encountered were friendly and offered us some great information about surrounding restaurants and good places to eat. Staff too were very friendly. I didn’t personally eat breakfast but my family did and said it was good, especially for being free! Some review I read seemed to imply the area is a little run down and sketchy but we didn’t find that to be true. There is a super cheap motel next door but I didn’t feel the area was unsafe or anything. Overall, I am very satisfied with our stay and would come back again!

Room Tip: The pool area was loud from the lobby so I would assume it may be loud if you are staying on the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for the great review, we are always happy to see our guest happy and reading about it is even better we certainly hope we have the chance to serve you again and look forward to having you. I do apologize about some of our regular guest but we are happy that you didn't let that sour your experience.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We rented the media room for a "pirate" party for our grandsons 4th b-day. It is perfect for a small 30 person or less party. We enjoyed the pool afterwards. Everything was clean and well kept-staff is very friendly and helpful! Would highly recommend for birthday parties and other special occasions.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULETTE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are always happy to service parties and seeing how excited the kids get about the pool area and splash pad. We are elated that your grandson and his guest had a great time and we certainly look forward to having you with us again.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliquippa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were unsure of the area, but what a pleasant surprise inside!! The kids loved the pool area and everything was so clean from the lobby to the pool to the room-the remote even came in a bag that said it was cleaned!!! didn't feel I had to were flip flops to walk on the carpet! I thought with all the trucks outside we would be awakened early with noise, wrong-Never heard a thing!! Air conditioning worked perfectly!!! Front desk ladies very nice. Only negative the eggs at the breakfast bar :( If in the area we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and especially happy that we were able to surprise you. We do apologize about out eggs we are trying different products in breakfast so your feedback is welcomed and appreciated we hope we have a chance to serve you again in the future.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had been staying in other chain hotels on our cross country trip with our 9 year old grandson. He wanted to try this one since it said it had a "game room". We were not disappointed. He loved the pool and made "friends" with other children playing in the pool. The room was very nice and the breakfast was great. Liked the fact that most of the food was in a room set off from where you eat. The bed was the most comfortable I slept in during the two week trip. My only negative comment, would be that the vent in the bathroom really needs to be cleaned!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smile29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
I wanted to thank your grandson for his choice in hotels, and thank you for going with it its always great to have families stay with us and we are happy that your enjoyed your stay. I do apologize that the bathroom vent was overlooked and we certainly appreciate the feedback so we are better able to serve you and future guest.

Thank you,

Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 10 in Portage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
BEST WESTERN Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
Address: 6200 Melton Rd / US Hwy 20, Portage, IN 46368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel and Suites! We are located just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago, in Northwest Indiana! Our brand new facility is one of a kind, featuring: 32" Flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in EVERY room, complimentary full hot breakfast, 24 hr. business and fitness center, Family Aquatic Center, newly opened BW Pub, supremely clean and comfortable rooms, and free Wifi! Also including our stellar Meeting Rooms!! We here have an award winning staff committed to superior customer service! Whether you are the Business traveler, Semi-truck driver, or Family, we are the place for you! We hope to see you soon! General Information: Located off of I-94 exit # 19, Located off I-80/90 (Indiana Toll Road) exit #23 -turn RIGHT! WE HAVE TRUCK PARKING!!!!... We offer Suites and Standard rooms. Standard: King size bed -or-2 Queen size, Suites:-include separate living space with additional TV, dresser, oversize chair and pull-out sofa sleeper. Available: King size bed -or-2 Queen size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel Portage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing