We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
ALLIANCE
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

You couldn't ask for a better stay. The staff, upon arrival was very courteous and respectfull. the room was very clean and stocked with all the towels we needed.we would definetly rate this hotel as excellent. we recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank THOMAS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you, for a great review Thomas C. We certainly try our best to deliver courtesy and respect to all our guest and we are elated to see guest appreciation for our efforts. We certainly look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    95
    44
    13
    9
See reviews for
159
65
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed one night in a king suite. It was very clean and plenty of room for our family of three. The bed was SO incredibly comfortable, we loved it! Breakfast was basic but still good. Our 10 yr old loved the pool and we loved the spacious hottub. All the staff members were very friendly, we would stay again anytime. They allowed us to check in early and even though they were sold out for the night they were able to bring us extra pillows and extra towels. Great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwatson74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
We are always happy to welcome families to stay with us and it makes us happy to see you guys happy. We try to provide the best service we can whether we have 10 guest or 100 guest we try to deliver the very best we can to each one, and we are elated to see your kind review. We certainly hope we have the chance to serve you again in the future.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very good location, great staff, nice rooms, very nice suites, pool was out during my last stay, however, I will stay there again. Great town, has everything just south of the hotel, including theater with IMAX, every kind of fast foot, grocery stores, shopping mall, and pharmacies.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a great review, we apologize for the pool being down but everything since you have last stayed with us has been repaired and at the time of me writing to you its all up and running, so I certainly hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again and that your have a chance to enjoy all our amenities.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
354 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Location east of Chicago of I-90 makes good choice to avoid the traffic for an eastern car ride. Hotel was clean and reasonably priced and seems a popular choice for truck drivers, road crews etc. Breakfast was good and staff friendly. Noticed a stain on the sheet, peeling wall moulding, and flaking paint on the ceiling but otherwise seems like a good choice based upon its location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we apologize for the lack of upkeep in the room you were given we would have certainly done all we could to be sure to remedy the situation. We hope that in the future you give us the opportunity to rectify this, because while the room was just ok, ok is certainly not what we strive to be and hope that we can give you a great stay next time.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stunning check-in counter. Lobby, including bar, has huge bay window allowing for a bright and cheery lounging area. Gas fireplace incorporated in divider wall. Got a king bed suite with spacious living room. Like new, up-to-date room. Gorgeous breakfast area with food in separate room. Floor to ceiling windows on two walls for brightness. Granite tables, curved wall corners. Usual breakfast items, had to "nuke" cold scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a stunning review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay but we do apologize for breakfast. Since you have last stayed with us we have changed around our scrambled eggs and I can say with confidence they are much better now than ever before so we certainly look forward to having you stay with us again, and hope to provide you with a better breakfast experience.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

If your looking for a great place to stay stop on in. it all starts at check in with the friendly staff clean lobby, clean rooms and comfy beds. slip on down to the pool and take a dip in the indoor pool or relax in the hot tub, or walk over to the lobby and enjoy a cocktail in the lounge, and while your enjoying that cocktail have them cook you up a delicious meal. Its a great place to stay at a great value

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 410patrickw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to see such a great review and a guide to a great stay. We definitely hope you come back so we can help you perfect your routine.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchard, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently took a trip and stayed in two BW Plus hotels, this one in Portage and another in Harrison, OH. The Portage hotel was $50+ more per night. The pool was out of service and had we known this prior to checking in we would not have stayed here. The hotel had really soft beds and pillows with little to no support so for our taste it was not comfortable. TV had no guide and did not list channels, pool was out of service which is this hotels best selling point. It was clean, breakfast was good, service was average. On day 2, we had a vagrant in the parking lot and five police cars arrived and they did handle the situation, but this also left us wondering if we were in a safe area of town. We had planned to stay 3 nights and ended up staying only 2. Compared to the other BW+ in Ohio which was cheaper, this one came up short....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
We apologize for our pool being out of service, believe me when I say we definitely empathize with guest when our hotel doesn't perform to the standards that we hold for ourselves. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you once again, so we can redeem our worth. Thank you, for the opportunity to serve you, and hope to see you again.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 10 in Portage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
7.0 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Address: 6200 US Highway 20, Portage, IN 46368-1319 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel and Suites! We are located just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago, in Northwest Indiana! Our brand new facility is one of a kind, featuring: 32" Flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in EVERY room, complimentary full hot breakfast, 24 hr. business and fitness center, Family Aquatic Center, newly opened BW Pub, supremely clean and comfortable rooms, and free Wifi! Also including our stellar Meeting Rooms!! We here have an award winning staff committed to superior customer service! Whether you are the Business traveler, Semi-truck driver, or Family, we are the place for you! We hope to see you soon! General Information: Located off of I-94 exit # 19, Located off I-80/90 (Indiana Toll Road) exit #23 -turn RIGHT! WE HAVE TRUCK PARKING!!!!... We offer Suites and Standard rooms. Standard: King size bed -or-2 Queen size, Suites:-include separate living space with additional TV, dresser, oversize chair and pull-out sofa sleeper. Available: King size bed -or-2 Queen size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel Portage
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing