We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for longer stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stunning check-in counter. Lobby, including bar, has huge bay window allowing for a bright and cheery lounging area. Gas fireplace incorporated in divider wall. Got a king bed suite with spacious living room. Like new, up-to-date room. Gorgeous breakfast area with food in separate room. Floor to ceiling windows on two walls for brightness. Granite tables, curved wall corners. Usual breakfast items, had to "nuke" cold scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a stunning review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay but we do apologize for breakfast. Since you have last stayed with us we have changed around our scrambled eggs and I can say with confidence they are much better now than ever before so we certainly look forward to having you stay with us again, and hope to provide you with a better breakfast experience.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 425 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

If your looking for a great place to stay stop on in. it all starts at check in with the friendly staff clean lobby, clean rooms and comfy beds. slip on down to the pool and take a dip in the indoor pool or relax in the hot tub, or walk over to the lobby and enjoy a cocktail in the lounge, and while your enjoying that cocktail have them cook you up a delicious meal. Its a great place to stay at a great value

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 410patrickw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to see such a great review and a guide to a great stay. We definitely hope you come back so we can help you perfect your routine.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently took a trip and stayed in two BW Plus hotels, this one in Portage and another in Harrison, OH. The Portage hotel was $50+ more per night. The pool was out of service and had we known this prior to checking in we would not have stayed here. The hotel had really soft beds and pillows with little to no support so for our taste it was not comfortable. TV had no guide and did not list channels, pool was out of service which is this hotels best selling point. It was clean, breakfast was good, service was average. On day 2, we had a vagrant in the parking lot and five police cars arrived and they did handle the situation, but this also left us wondering if we were in a safe area of town. We had planned to stay 3 nights and ended up staying only 2. Compared to the other BW+ in Ohio which was cheaper, this one came up short....

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

We apologize for our pool being out of service, believe me when I say we definitely empathize with guest when our hotel doesn't perform to the standards that we hold for ourselves. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you once again, so we can redeem our worth. Thank you, for the opportunity to serve you, and hope to see you again.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Family vacation with daughter and grandchildren. Kids loved the pool but it closed at 9pm which seemed early. Easy access to I-94 and 80/90 to Chicago. Great breakfast but again closed at 9am which seemed early. All freeways in the area were under construction.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank lindakQ606PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

I apologize for the timing on some of our amenities, we try to keep certain things on scheduled times to better service all our guest. I apologize for the inconvenience of the times, we certainly hope you stay with us again, we can definitely be a bit more flexible in some aspects all you need to do is let us know what we can do to help you and we would be more than happy to try to make it work. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and allowing us with the opportunity to serve you.


Nicole Jones
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is very clean and i would stay their again as i all ways stay their every time i come to Indiana for my work if i don't run out of hours while driving my semi. i stay twice a week all year long the only problem i would like to be on the same side of hotel as my semi is and closer to the main floor as possibility so i can hear if my cooling systems is running threw the night

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Up for wedding with a large group staying and they did a great job of taking care of us! The food was really good in the morning and actually more sanitary than other hotels. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TomR1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This motel was exceptionally clean and well staffed Our room was fresh and uncluttered. The location worked out well as it was close to major highways. The best recommendation I can give it is I would stay there again without hesitation

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the pool. The pool is very popular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrucefromMuncie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
397 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
156 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites

Address: 6200 US Highway 20, Portage, IN 46368-1319 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: $93 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel and Suites! We are located just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago, in Northwest Indiana! Our brand new facility is one of a kind, featuring: 32" Flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in EVERY room, complimentary full hot breakfast, 24 hr. business and fitness center, Family Aquatic Center, newly opened BW Pub, supremely clean and comfortable rooms, and free Wifi! Also including our stellar Meeting Rooms!! We here have an award winning staff committed to superior customer service! Whether you are the Business traveler, Semi-truck driver, or Family, we are the place for you! We hope to see you soon! General Information: Located off of I-94 exit # 19, Located off I-80/90 (Indiana Toll Road) exit #23 -turn RIGHT! WE HAVE TRUCK PARKING!!!!... We offer Suites and Standard rooms. Standard: King size bed -or-2 Queen size, Suites:-include separate living space with additional TV, dresser, oversize chair and pull-out sofa sleeper. Available: King size bed -or-2 Queen size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel Portage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing