We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Holly, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Value!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Met our daughter & 2 grandkids for a weekend retreat. Rooms were great, indoor pools were ideal for our family. Staff was friendly. Very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    95
    45
    13
    9
See reviews for
159
67
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My family stayed for two nights - room with double queen beds and desk w/chair (standard double room).  Quaint average size room - clean and tidy. Bathroom nice size and clean - tub drain was slow (able to soak feet while taking shower). Bathroom exhaust fan ran continuously - regardless if light was on or off.  Pool and hot tub were both a nice size - pool open from 7am to 11pm - family hours were until 9pm - adult only hours 9pm to 11pm.  If you want to enjoy pool or hot tub without a lot of screaming kids - go after 9pm.  Continental breakfast was like most - cold cereal, oatmeal in packets, juices, bread for toast, waffle maker, egg slabs, biscuits, sausage gravy, muffins, milk, and coffee.  Pillows were small - but very soft. Bed could have been a little softer - but then again I'm used to a sleep number bed. 

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We were expecting a quiet stay but got a zoo instead. There were trucks all over the place and it was impossible to rest with trucks constantly coming an going at all hours of the day and night. The breakfast was not very good either. The selection was almost all gone when my husband and I arrived and the breakfast attendant didnt seem to care when we asked if there would be more food coming out.

I would have expected more considering the good comments made by others on here. Maybe I am fussy but I expect to receive value for my money and I didnt at this hotel.

Room Tip: If a parking lot is filled with trucks expect lots of noise and dust and maybe look elsewhere if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariegartlandcarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

we stopped here overnight while traveling with our kids (5 and 3). chose it based on the photos of the pool. kids loved the shallow splash area, esp after sitting in the car for so long!

it would be a good base to explore the dunes, with the added bonus of the fun pool for the inevitable rainy or cold day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level Contributor
267 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

In a nutshell, this hotel is very nice and newly updated. The rooms looked brand new and the queen beds were very comfortable... The AC worked well too... Also, the swimming pool was great for little kids---zero depth with water features to keep the kids entertained.... We stayed in a suite for an extra $7. It was worth it for the extra room.... The breakfast was good, not the best, but not the worst. I did have biscuits and gravy, which were pretty good....

Is this a destination hotel? No. But, if you need a nice place to crash along the interstate, or if you're heading to the dunes and want to stay overnight in the area (Indiana Dunes Lakeshore and State Park are about 10 minutes away and Warren Dunes are about 30-40 minutes away) and you have little kids, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StrangeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The chlorine smell in the pool area was so bad that my wife and I could not stand being in there. Several mothers with small kids were also complaining about it and also left the pool area. The hotel was nice overall but the breakfast was mediocre at best.

Overall because the chlorine smell and the mediocre breakfast my wife and I will never be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights in August while visiting friends. I had a great stay! People at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The hotel is new, so it is very clean and modern. The room was spotless and the bed (king) very comfortable. The room came equipped with a coffee-maker (coffee included), fridge and microwave, which were much appreciated when I had leftovers from restaurants. The pool/hottub area was nice and clean. I liked that it was family-friendly during the day and 18 & over later at night (9pm to 11pm). Breakfast was good. There were more items to choose from than I'd expected. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 10 in Portage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
7.0 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Address: 6200 US Highway 20, Portage, IN 46368-1319 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel and Suites! We are located just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago, in Northwest Indiana! Our brand new facility is one of a kind, featuring: 32" Flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in EVERY room, complimentary full hot breakfast, 24 hr. business and fitness center, Family Aquatic Center, newly opened BW Pub, supremely clean and comfortable rooms, and free Wifi! Also including our stellar Meeting Rooms!! We here have an award winning staff committed to superior customer service! Whether you are the Business traveler, Semi-truck driver, or Family, we are the place for you! We hope to see you soon! General Information: Located off of I-94 exit # 19, Located off I-80/90 (Indiana Toll Road) exit #23 -turn RIGHT! WE HAVE TRUCK PARKING!!!!... We offer Suites and Standard rooms. Standard: King size bed -or-2 Queen size, Suites:-include separate living space with additional TV, dresser, oversize chair and pull-out sofa sleeper. Available: King size bed -or-2 Queen size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel Portage
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing