We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate decline in both cleanliness and service”
Review of Swan Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Lake Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unfortunate decline in both cleanliness and service”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Six women meet annually at Swan Lake for a long weekend of golf at the resort's 2 courses. This year, one of our party opted to take advantage of the resort's spa options instead.

The six of us stayed in three rooms. The rooms always have reminded me of a Holiday Inn or other mid-level chain - not exactly spa-like, but adequate for their purpose. They lack the amenities found in more up to date chains. They are fairly dated.

This year, there was a definite downward slide in the cleanliness of the rooms. There was mold in all of the showers, around the fixtures and drain as well as on the shower curtains. There was water damage and mold on the ceiling above my shower. There were stains on the carpet.

The outdoor pool was cloudy. A staff member's excuse was that it had been a "hot summer." The towels provided for the pool were skimpy, but at least they seemed clean.

Worse yet, the staff exhibited an uncaring, unprofessional attitude. Before arrival, we called several times to confirm details. It seemed we always got put in someone's voice mail box. Often, our calls were not returned. No one gave us necessary details about our golf packages until we called the course to confirm our tee times.

Our rooms were supposed to be next to each other. They were not. After everyone arrived, we were able to arrange for the first party of two to repack their suitcases and move to a closer room so that the entire party could be (somewhat) together.

When we wanted a night cap, the evening staff at the front desk was unable to provide extra plastic cups (to be fair, they offered styrofoam coffee cups - not too conducive to enjoying a cocktail or glass of wine). When we called the front desk to report that our in-room safe was locked at our arrival, the front desk personnel told us they didn't know how to open it. Someone did get that information and get it opened for us shortly thereafter.

The spa treatments were pretty minimal for the money. Our friend had to prompt the staff member to receive specific elements of her pedicure (a base coat, callus removal). The next day, her masseuse had a cold, and constantly blew/wiped her nose and then returned her hands to our friend's body. Another employee in the spa area announced to our friend that she (the worker) was going to be "sick."

On the upside, we ate dinner on the resort restaurant's patio. The food was average, but the patio was nice and the live entertainment was really good. And for the first time, our golf package included unlimited golf.

Overall, this was a disappointing stay. The golf courses were in great shape, and the package was economical. However, the hotel itself was considerably less appealing than last year. Hopefully, the resort can get back on track. Some staff training and improved housekeeping would go a long way towards encouraging us to keep up our yearly golfing tradition at Swan Lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wineauxandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    39
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
22
30
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just got back from an 8 man golf trip to swan lake.

Food was good, staff was nice, service was good, fairway villas worked out well and the price was right. Golf was just ok.

The silver and black courses were ok mostly due to the greens. They rolled very true and were quick. Tee to green did not have much estetic quality. It was pretty boring with little to no sand on either course. The rough was brutal when we played, especially on silver. Fairways were nice. Little to no elevation changes.

Overall a decent place for the price. But if you're looking for great "resort" golf, this isn't the place, it's slightly above a typical muni, due to the greens.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Went with big golf group. You must remember this is a resort. Bring plenty of food,beer, etc.... There is no town/city close. The golf courses are great and service very friendly. Onsite dining is decent but a little overpriced. outdoor/indoor pool is nice but not that large. Outdoor bar/patio is good. Breakfast was a buffet for 11.99 not bad/not great. Golf Clubhouse is great and food above average. Great place to settle up after the round. Overall a relaxing 3 nights/ 4 days of golf. You don't have to worry about driving anywhere! The rooms are clean. You might want to bring an extra pillow and blanket because the bedding is skinny/light. Golf academy is full service. You can demo clubs if you give them your license.

Helpful?
3 Thank realinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My family decided to stay at Swan Lake Resort (rather than our usual hotel in Plymouth) during a recent trip to Culver Military Academy. Swan Lake lost our reservation. Thankfully, I had my emailed confirmation with me from January 2012. The room (#224) had a broken window, limited towels and skimpy bedding. During our visit to the indoor spa/pool we never saw a spa receptionist and the the pool was out of towels. Upon check-in we asked for a breakfast menu (which looked great!), so were surprised the next morning when the restaurant told us that they only had a buffet available. The buffet was average for the price they charged. To make matters even worse they charged the adult rate for any child 10 and over. Needless to say, we DO NOT RECCOMEND SWAN LAKE RESORT and we will be staying at our regular hotel on our next visit.

Helpful?
5 Thank Daviifam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
316 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Been coming here for over 5 years with friends for our annual golf trip. We usually rent a cabin in the woods and enjoy 72+ holes over a 3-4 day period. For the money, it's unbeatable. We love the golf, the cabin and everything about it.

Helpful?
4 Thank BuenosNachos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
157 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I attended a conference here in May. It was cruel to have us come and sit through a conference when a very beautiful golf course was beckoning. The rooms are nice and well tended. I had a non-smoking King. Bathrooms were clean. The room did not smell strangely. The resort has a very nice pool and two whirlpools. Other spa features are also available. The desk and the others working there are friendly and cordial. Our conference came with buffet meals. Here was the only weakness in their hospitable presentation. A couple of times they did not have the prepared food ready on time or ready to replace dwindling serving pans. One lunch was poorly manned. I was one of the last to go through the line and when I found a place to sit, there were no utensils. I asked a server for a set. It took about ten minutes to finally secure a set. By then the food was cooled off. But then the next meal was dinner and was handled well. Even if you don’t golf, walking the grounds is very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the golf course and away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RexGermanorium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

It's a great way to escape for a day with a multitude of activities to do.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Plymouth
6.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 6 in Plymouth
48 reviews
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Plymouth
Days Inn Plymouth
#5 of 6 in Plymouth
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Culver Cove Resort
Culver Cove Resort
#1 of 2 in Culver
15 reviews
12.9 mi away
Main Street Manor
Main Street Manor
#2 of 2 in Culver
34 reviews
21.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Lake Resort

Property: Swan Lake Resort
Address: 5203 Plymouth Laporte Trl, Swan Lake Resort, Plymouth, IN 46563-8863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swan Lake Resort offers two championship 18 hole golf courses, 91 deluxe hotel rooms, 2 extra-large suites, 4 rustic log cabins, 6 quaint cottages, 8 fairway villas, and a fairway house. Deluxe non-smoking King, Deluxe non-smoking Queen beds, King suite. Two on site restaurants,banquet and conference center, all inclusive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Lake Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing