We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here anually for deer season - great place”
Review of Swan Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Stayed here anually for deer season - great place”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stay here in November for Indian deer season. Nice place for the resort in Plymouth. Very clean, nice pool, nice decor and outdoor environment. Yes it is under staffed, but it works. Great price. TV are old flat screens with the thick backs, great fast WiFi. Very friendly staff.

I bet this place is hopping during summer time due to the golf courses.

The restaurant is OVER price and not good at all. Messed up the order, taste terrible, service ok. Strip steak was $32.00, Ribs $27.00 - this place is not in Chicago - dont need Chicago prices. Apps were good - we had a artichoke anduelle hush puppies, ranch dressing on the salad was just plain. Ribs St. Louis style - had a tomato paste sauce that was not good at all, also rib eye sandwhich that had a lot of fat on it. - DO NOT EAT HERE, BUT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the courtyard or the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCMNLIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    38
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
22
30
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Mi
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Three couples played for two days. Both courses were beautiful and in great shape. We had wonderful service from the cart staff, the proshop staff and the grill & bar. They took care of our clubs overnight. This place would have gotten an EXCELLENT. There was only one thing we did not like. Don't order the Philly Cheesesteak. Each couple shared a sandwich and fries. Yeah we ate it, only because we had been drinking and we were hungry. We don't like to complain, but just order something else. Outside of lunch on one day and the weather, this place is top notch.

Helpful?
Thank tversluys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
241 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed here on two separate occasions. Once for one night in a king bedroom and once for 3 nights in a golf course villa. The grounds are beautiful - home of the U.S. National Golf Academy - and well-maintained (they do a lot of weddings here - we saw one during each of our stays). The villas are really beautiful, albeit expensive ($380 night) - they sleep 8 and face the golf course. What's best is they're brand new, detailed in beautiful stone tile with a luxuriously large spa shower (bad water pressure). The downside is the poor staffing. When we checked into our villa, it hadn't been cleaned. Anyone who stays in hotels knows that's the worst feeling! The management did the right thing and offered us the last night of our stay in the villa for the cost of a regular room. Then there were dead flies in the treads of the sliding glass doors. We called housekeeping. The girl who came to vacuum them out was the same girl manning the front desk when we came in! We arranged for 4 massages at the spa. But they only have two masseuses and one refused to come in on a Sunday. So we cancelled one of the massages and the same person gave 3 massages in a row. All were happy with the service. The restaurant was bright and cheery and served the best chopped salad I've ever had! Swan Lake has the opportunity to double its business (never seemed really booked) if they simply staff appropriately for the summer season.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truthbetold_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, OR
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Had a good stay. Rooms were a little dated but overall it was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricL97332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

My sons and I recently were fortunate enough to get tickets to the USC-Notre Dame football game. A friend told us about Swan Lake GOlf Resort as a place to stay, so I looked into it. Even though it was a little more than I wanted to pay, we booked it for two nights.
Our stay was fantastic. The rooms was very large and clean; the beds were comfortable. Room Service was great, as was the restaurant and the surrounding. It was conveniently located and easy to find even though it was not on the main drag. It was close enough to South Bend and easy to access the highway from.
The staff was very nice and helpful. We didnt get a chance to golf, but the course looked amazing.
I would recommend this location for anyone heading to a Notre Dame weekend who wants a nice room, great food, and a convenient place to stay. I plan on trying to come back for a golf weekend as well.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank z0nebuster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

My business group is having an event here next year so we toured the facility, ate a couple meals, and spent the night as part of our planning process. I was very impressed. It was a beautiful day and the grounds were well kept and decorated for fall. The rooms were nice but there was noise from the hallway. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the hotel and lunch at the golf clubhouse. The food was good at both places and the prices seemed reasonable. Service was efficient both times.

The variety of meeting and banquet rooms should meet most organizations' needs. The large banquet room is quite elegant. The staff seems easy to work with (although we are on our third event coordinator).

Since there is a spa, indoor and outdoor pools, simulated golf, and fitness center in addition to the golf course, there should be something for everyone.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank FWA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

What happened to this place?! Stayed last year at this time and had a great stay. Seemed to be understaffed with terrible service. As hotels go there is not much to do here, the golf is bad but I thought the staff was friendly. Not anymore. No reason to ever go back now.

  • Liked — The indoor pool
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liltraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Plymouth
6.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 6 in Plymouth
46 reviews
12.8 mi away
Culver Cove Resort
Culver Cove Resort
#1 of 2 in Culver
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Plymouth
Days Inn Plymouth
#5 of 6 in Plymouth
147 reviews
21.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
21.5 mi away
The Inn at Amish Acres
The Inn at Amish Acres
#1 of 2 in Nappanee
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Lake Resort

Property: Swan Lake Resort
Address: 5203 Plymouth Laporte Trl, Swan Lake Resort, Plymouth, IN 46563-8863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swan Lake Resort offers two championship 18 hole golf courses, 91 deluxe hotel rooms, 2 extra-large suites, 4 rustic log cabins, 6 quaint cottages, 8 fairway villas, and a fairway house. Deluxe non-smoking King, Deluxe non-smoking Queen beds, King suite. Two on site restaurants,banquet and conference center, all inclusive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swan Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Lake Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing