We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sal's Famous Pizzeria

Sal's Famous Pizzeria
Ranked #5 of 98 Restaurants in Plainfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I'm a regular here. FANTASTIC pizzas created by Sal himself. The pasta is to die for and very filling. Even the salads are delicious! Can't go wrong here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok, food, but not worth the lengthy wait or rude service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were seated at 6:45 and received our food at 7:55. When I suggested to the manager that 70 minutes to make a pizza was a bit excessive, she did not apologize and told me that I needed to read the menu more carefully, because it states that some items may take longer to cook because they are made from scratch (it does say this). When I suggested that 70 minutes was still unnacceptable, she still did not apologize, offered us a free dessert, and suggested that we were really lucky to be offered that. The pizza was pretty good, but so is DiGiorno for Pete's sake. It isn't worth that kind of poor service, with a healthy dose of management arrogance thrown in to boot. Unless you have over an hour to wait to even receive your food, save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Noah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Being from New Jersey the pizza here was the closest to pizza I've been homesick for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Friday Nov 18 2011
I decided to take my 2 children ages 11 and 12 here to eat. We all wanted pizza so we ordered 20 inch extra cheese, green peppers and pepperoni. The server was terrific, she talked to the kids and joked with them, she brought our drinks to us right away, we were served fresh hot baked bread, she answered all the goofy questions my kids had.The pizza was hot and delicious!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseyemerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

I can't believe anyone would give Sal's a bad review. The food is good, staff is friendly, it has been remodeled and have a very warm and inviting decor. They bake their own bread and it's delish - served with a great dipping oil. They have a wood fired oven for their housemade pizzas, and the pasta and salads are very good. Their ranch dressing is outstanding. We have been going to Sal's for 5 years and it is one of our favorites on the west side.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kkaymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

This place has horrible food!! I guess people in Plainfield don't know what fresh food tastes like because everything here is out of a box, can, or package. Nothing is made fresh and from scratch. The seafood is CANNED! You can tasted the chemicals in the sauces (at least someone with a decent palate can). It's certainly not authentic Italian (yeah, we were just in Tuscany a couple of months ago, so know what real Italian tastes like). Pass this place by and get a cheaper meal at the closest diner. The food is no different... processed junk. Also, the wait staff are all young kids who honestly don't know what they are doing. What a miserable excuse for a restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank libros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Famous Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Famous Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing