We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful, clean, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Plainfield
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Girls volleyball team , 13 year olds, parents and coaches, all had a pleasant stay. Kathy at front desk was very helpful. Rooms were quiet and comfortable. Pool and exercise room was clean. Nice morning hot breakfast.

Hotel was booked and did not allow for enough parking in their lot.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 307 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

Front desk person was on a cell phone during check in and check out. Hel-LO! Put the person on hold as I'm standing right in front of you.

This is the first hotel I've been to in years where the bill is not slipped under the door to your room so it's there in the morning. Not liking it! He said he had to verify that I watched a movie, because he's had people claim they never watched it and the charge should not be on their bill.

Bathroom had shampoo but no conditioner. Sink overflow holes were cruddy.

Queen bed, one nightstand with phone and radio, but no reading light on that side. The other side of the bed had one of those cheesy combo lamp/round glass table things.

I ate breakfast just the first morning. It featured stale danish, lukewarm potatoes and funky-looking round egg patties. OJ, yogurt and coffee were OK. Other hotels offer fresh fruit.

Voices drifted up from the lobby at 1 AM, waking me up. Then, around 3 AM, somebody was pounding heavily on the front doors, three different times. W.T.F? Wasn't any staff down there to let someone in, or what?

I'm here a few times a year on business. This was my first time at a Wingate... and my last, at least at this one. I'll stay elsewhere next time I'm in town.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank LCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Do not stay at this hotel unless you want to wake up to ants crawling on you, black pubic hair in your sheets, and a harassing manager. The owner of this hotel is a dirty creep that doesn't speak English, or shower. No one is ever at the hotel, so god forbid something happens to you while staying at this hotel- you're on your own, literally, not one employee. Not even a maid. And getting a van ride? Forget it. Theyre either 20 min late, or "claim" you never scheduled one. The owner is a pathetic excuse for a man, and shouldn't be allowed to operate a hotel because HE IS NEVER AT THE HOTEL, and no one is safe or cared for. Don't stay here, you will severely regret it....

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for the first time on December 30th, 2011. It will be the last. First, when we arrived, there was nobody there. I mean nobody. Not a soul behind the desk. Nobody in the lobby. Not a sound. After waiting five minutes or so, I called "0" as instructed on the house telephone and a person picked up and said he would "be right there." About five minutes later, a man showed up and cross-examined me about the rate I received. Finally, I agreed to pay an additional $15 to park the car for the week despite the fact that I had made the rental rate quoted conditional on being able to park free for a week (the web site says up to 14 days, but I guess that's only with a higher rate than the one I got with an AARP rate).

More problematic, however, is that we were supposed to get the 6:00 am shuttle for our flight the next day, but the woman showed up a little after 6 and told us we would "have to wait because I need to make coffee." Apparently, the morning shuttle person is double-tasked with having to get the continental breakfast ready for guests. We left almost 15 minutes late, which turned out not to have been a problem since the airport was not that busy, but certainly could have been.

When my wife returned, she had the same experience that others have had. Apparently, there is more than one Wingate near the hotel, so when she tried to get in the Wingate shuttle at the hotel, she was yelled at by a gentleman whom she was unable to understand. She found it amusing and finally figured out he was telling her to wait for another Wingate shuttle. The woman who finally did pick her up was quite nice and commiserated with her about the behavior of the other driver.

In short, this will be our last experience with this hotel. Management needs to make some changes, if anyone can find them.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diogeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

This hotel was billed as a 3-star hotel on all of the main booking sites, but it definitely is NOT. The customer service was terrible - it seemed like every time we passed the front desk there was no one there. It took 15 minutes for someone to show up just to check us in, and this was at 4pm - not exactly non-peak check-in time! When we got to the room, we noticed that the carpet outside the bathroom was soaking wet and there was a musty smell in the room. After a bit of thinking about that, we realized that the toilet must have overflowed onto the carpet and they didn't clean it up sufficiently. This room should never have been sold for the night! Very bad experience and we would NOT recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book here
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

When we rolled in late at night things seemed nice enough. By light of day.. Ewwwww (as my kids would say). With sleep still in my eyes I pulled back the shower curtain to turn on the shower and found what looked like.. well.. maybe it should be in the toilet. With stomach churning I went to the front desk and reported the issue. The desk person had to call the manager..who was not.on premises and 15 min later a guy in cut off shorts showed up and wanted to see the tub. He looked.. took a washcloth off the rack.. climbed into the tub with his shoes on and scrubbed the offending mess. He said that it wasn't what it looked like and was "just rust stains". I asked that he please change my room and he said that he couldn't because his manager would be mad at him. Happily .. the person at the desk said she spoke with the manager who approved the room change. So I changed rooms.

If that were it.. it'd b enough not to recommend this place.. bit add no house keeping.. no one except desk personnel to run the shuttle (the hotel was empty of any staff at all most of the time).. spoiled food at the breakfast.. a awful smell just about everywhere .. well I could go on.. but I think u get it. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avatartv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We booked two queen beds and were given two doubles.
There were cigarrette burns on the bathroom sink and the tub was stained and filfthy.
The hallway smelled like incense.
The breakfast (which was supposed to be hot - i.e. eggs, hashbrowns etc) was ice cold.
The hot tub was pretty cold.
About the only redeeming factor was they did replace towels and shampoos etc every night.
I would rather stay at the Super 8 next time.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sj1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plainfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plainfield/ Indianapolis Arpt Area
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Indianapolis Airport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-SW/Plainfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Indianapolis Airport- Plainfield
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis AP Plainfield
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Atrea Airport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield

Address: 6300 Gateway Dr, Plainfield, IN 46168-7611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Plainfield
Price Range: $88 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from the Wingate by Wyndham! We are a 64-room business-class hotel located minutes from Indianapolis International Airport with free shuttle service and offer a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast buffet, manager's reception with evening snack and drinks (Mon.-Thur 5pm-7pm). We have a large heated indoor pool/hot tub, fitness and business center. Refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, hair dryers, ironing boards/irons, free safes and free WIFI are also offered in every guest room. We also have a meeting room and executive boardroom are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield Hotel Plainfield
Wingate Hotel Plainfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing