We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good example of Homewood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Airport/Plainfield
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Plainfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not a good example of Homewood”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stay in Homewood suites often, and have stayed with all in the Indy area so my perspective is there. This Hotel is a poor example of a homewood but I will hit the highlights first that the location is great and free shuttle to the airport is helpful (though most people staying around here probably have rental cars). The food quality and availability seemed good as well and they always had coffee.

The bad, the hotel walls are paper thin and for the first time in maybe 200+ nights stays at hotels, I checkout early due to the noise levels from neighbors and outside. Further, the Hotel is a bit run down with scratch marks etc on the doors and needs an update (including some insulation in the walls, floors, ceiling). The noise is particularly concerning given that this is an extended stay hotel which could have children and families.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodneybarta, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Airport/Plainfield, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I was pleased that you found our food quality to be good. We do everything we can in order to surpass our guest’s expectations. However, I understand that there were some issues that inconvenienced you; particularly the disruptive noises you experienced.

While our hotel was built with insulation in all interior and exterior walls, I understand that your sleep is very valuable to you. I truly apologize that you did not rest comfortably. It is through feedback as yours that we evaluate ourselves and identify the areas where we can improve. I can assure you that your feedback has been taken into consideration and that we are actively looking at different options of better soundproofing our property.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel and I do hope that if you are ever in town, you consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    83
    40
    28
    12
See reviews for
142
53
14
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
olathe, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

i stay at a lot of Hilton property this by far has been the worst one of all time. Dirty,dust,and just ran down suites. Pans were not all in the room . My wife went to get coffee at the end of breakfest and the lady took in away and said it was over and could not get anymore. The sign on the door says free coffee 24 hrs a day, but not here its gone with the food.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodneybarta, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Airport/Plainfield, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I truly regret that you had a disappointing experience with us and that you found your room to be unclean. I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met and will keep you review in mind. I sincerely apologize for this; however I especially wanted to take this opportunity to apologize if one of our staff members was rude toward your wife while she was getting coffee. I was both surprised and deeply disappointed by your recount of your experience with us. I assure you that it’s contrary to what our customers typically see from us and I will personally speak to our staff so that this does not occur again.

Once again, I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope that next time you are in town, you give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Homewood Suites are always a favorite with us because we like all the extra amenities - full kitchen, separate living area with full length sofa and chair, having two televisions when traveling with kids, etc. This hotel did not disappoint. The check in/out was a breeze and the room was very clean. They offered a breakfast with the stay and if anything I would say the quality varied a great deal. The weekend was great but weekday breakfast sparse. Didn't matter - we had a kitchen and brought our own food. The beds were comfortable but the sofa was older and not comfortable. Technology was great and having free internet was fantastic. Having two separate TVs is great when traveling with the children. We have stayed at every hotel in Plainfield over the years in our regular travels to the area and this is the hotel we like the best. We feel you can never go too wrong with a Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 732jacquelinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Guests smoking in the hotel were the biggest problem. The hotel itself is very nice, rooms are spacious, but the smoke from neighboring rooms crept in through the vents and made it an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodneybarta, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Airport/Plainfield, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your candor on your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand that during your stay, the freshness of your hotel was of concern to you and that there was an unpleasant odor of smoke. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel, as per the Indiana state law. Unfortunately, as much as we try to monitor this, we sometimes cannot control if a guest chooses to smoke in their room without our knowledge. However, I can very much empathize with your dissatisfaction and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Always love my stays at Homewood Suites.. Try to stay at one wherever I go...Love the pillow top beds.. locations are always convenient.. staff is always helpful..Thank Young for making my stay a Home away from Home kind of stay....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
253 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We selected this hotel for an overnight on a road trip; knowing that we were going to be departing around 11 the next morning we wanted a place with some room. There was plenty of that, including full kitchen facilities, even a dishwasher and a supply of detergent. Despite being on the top floor and the hotel's proximity to the airport it wasn't that noisy. We did hear road noise on the highway but even when we opened a window to cool the room down a little it wasn't that bad, although it did make us realize how much the windows did to shut out sound. Curtains were very effective at shutting out the morning light.

I used both the pool and the fitness center. The pool is smaller than it looks in the pictures but I had it to myself and got a good workout. Fitness center had a treadmill and an elliptical trainer and a few weights, but the equipment was new and included built-in TVs. You'll need to bring earbuds- they're not made to just broadcast into the room.

One quirk with the TV- it took us awhile paging through menus of pay-per-view items to finally find the menu item we wanted- "Watch TV".

The hotel is in an area with similar hotels and chain restaurants such as Cracker Barrel and McDonald's. They offer items to eat for sale in the lobby and there are additional possibilities in the convenience stores at the nearby gas stations. We missed the evening Manager's Reception- arrived at 7:05, 5 minutes after it was over!

Breakfast was the usual items- hot items included waffles (make your own), hockey-puck eggs, potato pancakes and sausages.

Definitely a good choice for a leisurely overnight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AThena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Excellent suites, rooms were large and felt like being at home. I would not only stay here again I would recommend the Homewood suites for both business and personal. The only suggestion is I wish they had bacon on the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plainfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis-Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-SW/Plainfield
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plainfield/ Indianapolis Arpt Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Atrea Airport Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Indianapolis Airport
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Airport/Plainfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Airport/Plainfield

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Airport/Plainfield
Address: 2264 E Perry Rd, Plainfield, IN 46168-7618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Plainfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Plainfield
#3 Business Hotel in Plainfield
#5 Family Hotel in Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Airport/Plainfield 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Indianapolis-Airport/Plainfield. Discover an all-suite hotel with all the comforts of home, less than four miles from Indianapolis International Airport (IND) and only 15 miles from downtown Indianapolis and the central business district. Your hot full breakfast is included, seven days a week. Enjoy a complimentary evening social* Monday through Thursday, and stock your suite's kitchen with favorites from the 24-hour convenience store. Stay in the loop with complimentary WiFi access throughout this extended stay Indianapolis airport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Airport/Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Plainfield
Hilton Plainfield
Homewood Plainfield
Plainfield Homewood Suites
Plainfield Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing