We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy food and brews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Swan Brewpub

Black Swan Brewpub
Ranked #8 of 97 Restaurants in Plainfield
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Home of the Indy 500
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy food and brews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved my turkey brie sandwich and the ruby ale. There were several interesting cocktails I will return to try in the near future.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swtlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    83
    58
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, IN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“West Indy Brewpub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Black Swan is a nice, friendly brewpub just off I-70 in Plainfield, IN. We had lunch on a Saturday and enjoyed a specialty pub burger and a classic Rueben. THe Cream Stout was quite tasty as were the few other samples I tasted. The Black Swan has specialty french fries that are what sets this establishment apart from the rest. I had mine with parmesian and tomato basil aiole sauce and it was very tasty. The service was friendly and the prices, very reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rihintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bargain Local Brewhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I love this place. It's not even that well known among locals - and I'm helping to ensure that change. GREAT - well above average bar food. Amazing burgers with gourmet options. My husband loves the beer choices and they change on a regular basis. Great, friendly service is always a plus. This has become a place in regular rotation on our date nights. We've taken friends and it's a great friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
245 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“This place was bizarre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The whole experience was just strange. The waiter was very attentive but he seemed very formal and felt like he should be in a 5 star restaurant at some pompous place. The furniture was very strange. Had a cross between fast food and flea market? My picky niece had a hard time finding something normal on the menu, everything was very unusual. They were out of half the beers on the list. Then our table ordered two different kinds and one showed up about 5 minutes before the other one. And they both showed up after the food. There wasn't anything that would bring me back, unless I heard they got their stuff together and redecorated. The weirdest thing was when you walk in the door you see a storage area open to your left, and it's in the corner with all windows. So when you are outside that's what you are looking at. Not attractive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura99IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Microbrews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place is pretty neat. They brew their own beer, which changes every few weeks. The food is interesting. Not exactly typical bar food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Swan Brewpub also viewed

 

Been to Black Swan Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing