We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Frank & Mary's Tavern - CLOSED

Frank & Mary's Tavern
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Description: We are the large Indiana Limestone building with the yellow awnings.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have been going there for over 30 years and loved it. Went on a Saturday night around 6 pm, should have known from the parking lot being empty that something was wrong, and it had changed owners and the food was awful. The baked potato looked and tasted like it had been cooked the day before or that morning. I had frog legs, there was no meat on them at all. Had them before the ownership change and there was so much meat on them, I could hardly eat them all. Better change things, or anyone that has ate there before will never be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devonna37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanMcBride, Owner at Frank & Mary's Tavern, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are sorry for the let down and are doing everything to meet the old restaurant's clientelle expectations. That being said, we are a new restaurant which simply bought the name and are trying to carry on a few old favorites. In addition to this, we are a Creole/Cajun restaurant with fresh, hand-cut steaks and Hoosier favorites.We urge you to try us for yourself. All feedback is welcome, but view us as a new business, not the continuation of the old.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sadly not what it used to be”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Home cooking does not have to mean greasy old oil. Had to force down the food to make it worth the price paid. Much of the waitstaff are local teens who try as hard as they can to make up fir the poor ownership/management (or lack of).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spoiledbrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanMcBride, Owner at Frank & Mary's Tavern, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We hope you check the new Frank & Mary's Tavern out. We have a new menu with a huge variety. We have been putting in lots of time remodeling and are eager to see some that had disappointments come back out for some new tasty meals in a warmer, inviting atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's alright.”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A freind and I went there for supper one night. The food was ok, but the cleanliness of the building made you wonder about the food. It looks like it hasn't been cleaned in years. The portions were huge, but the tase was just ok. It did not blow my socks off. I would not likely go back there.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ironwolf704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Rewarding Return: homy, cozy and great food!”
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Back after a couple of years - and had a very good experience. The food is really wonderful - the cole slaw is out of this world - creamy, sweat. Salmon was great - tell them to do it on the medium/rare side. Orzo was very nice, and the fried biscuits were REALLY amazing. And the onion pedals - lovely sauce. Recommend peppermint icecream (ask for chocolate sauce on top) and French coconut pie. Seems like the catfish filets this particular time were not as big and not as meaty but hopefully this was an exception! And the wait staff made the evening! They went out of their way to celebrate a wedding anniversary!

Helpful?
Thank ChristianDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanMcBride, Owner at Frank & Mary's Tavern, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We look forward to your return as our family has made many improvements/changes and we proudly offer new and exciting Cajun and Creole dishes as well as all fresh, hand-cut steaks! Hope you join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No Longer "Best" Catfish”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

A recent return trip after several years for the specialty of the house--catfish resulted in catfish which was way overcooked in oil in real need of being changed. Indifferent service and bad food. Probably won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoosierSherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanMcBride, Owner at Frank & Mary's Tavern, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I want to thank you for coming to the new Frank & Mary's and trying our food with an open mind and giving us some positive to work on. I hope I had an opportunity to say hello and would love the chance to see you again soon. Please let us know how we can make your experiences with us even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank & Mary's Tavern also viewed

 
Pittsboro, IN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing