We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
119
62
16
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
62
16
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr dinesh private beach clean beach swimming pool beach side on a daily basis local kerala cuisine seafood maintained rooms sea facing luxury cottage including kids open to sky relaxed vacation the cottages open space family get together
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 198 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017

We found this place by chance and feel ourself lucky.
The place is very beautiful , the best part being the BEACH.
One can spend the entire stay on the beach. The sand is clean and feels almost untouched.

The rooms neat and clean. they are big enough for a couple and kid. the view from the room is part Sea and part lazing area.

The restaurant is almost on the beach, with the Dinner being the best meal.
The Pool is clean and silent.

I would recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the beach, take mosquito repellents. The food is kerala style.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Deepak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalabarResort, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Dear Deepak,
Thank you so much for having taken your time out to share the feedback of your stay at our resort,
we are glad that our facilities and services measured to your expectations in making your holiday a memorable experience,
we sincerely look forward to serving you again
Warm Regards,
Dinesh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 nights and 4 days with a family of 10 in 3 rooms. Superb location and rooms are quite big. Beach is few meters away but not recommended for swimming as I didn't see people swimming except fisherman taking fresh catch in the morning. Restaurant Service and food quality standout completely. Reception desk is quite helpful in suggesting places. Location is great with lot of open space to walk around and ideal for kids. Swimming pool is superb. Water flow and WiFi in the room can be improved and toiletries can be kept adequately.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Hari Shankar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalabarResort, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having taken your time out to share your feedback of your stay at our resort
we are glad that our facilities and services and our cuisine measured to your expectations in making your holiday a wonderful experience
The beach is swim able after mid October till May ,
we look forward to serving you again
Warm Regards,
Dinesh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

The pros : Good Ambiance with the Sea in the Background, Good Hospitality and friendly staff. Good Therapeutic Ayurveda .

and cons : Room Service fails , food average needs more variety and more local flavor.
Place needs more maintenance , more insect control , lot of lizards in Dining Area .

Room Tip: Choose beach facing rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalabarResort, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having shared your feedback of your stay at our resort,
we are glad that you loved our hospitality,facilities and ayurvedha therapies,
we take your suggestions to add variety and local flavor to our cuisines is taken on a positive note and definitely would look into,meanwhile we do operate a sea food speciality restaurant on the beach from 15th October to 15th May,
we do pest control services on a routine however if there were lizards in the restaurant perhaps it would have been due to heavy down pour,and that our restaurant is an open restaurant,
we sincerely look forward to serving you again,
Warm Regards,
Dinesh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

The Kerala architecture that greets u at reception is very calming and charming. We were booked in Luxurious room of the resort snd when we were taken to our room, we loved the location and aesthetics of the room. Room was vert spacious and well lit with a french window that directly opens to garden and further on sea. The bathroom was open to sky concept which was little uncomfortable initially. However, the room and view of sea compensated for that. One can sit on the chairs laid out on the verandah and just listen to the sea roaring!! The Resort is very well maintained where garden ends with stretch of land full of coconut trees, hammock, resting chairs and sand below your feet. and then starts 2 step beach which is clean and serene. One can spend ages sitting here just staring at sea and wondering on workings of mother nature. This is an ideal spot for kids who want to play with sand and build castles out of it. My kid sure enjoyed it.. Beach seems to be deep and its advisable if one doesn't venture out far in the sea. But this beach is ideal for long walks and a good read by beach.
I would like to point out to one drawback which is food especially for vegetarians like me. there were minimal options and we were forced to have a buffet dinner during our stay as they were not doing a la carte. But the staff were very courteous and took this feedback very graciously. The resort had a well maintained Gym, Swimming pool and a Ayurvedic spa. This place can guarantee that you will unwind and rejuvenate for sure!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shilpah54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalabarResort, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Shilpa,
Thank you so much for having shared the feedback of your stay at MOFRS on Tripadvisor
we are glad and happy to note that our facilities and services lived to your expectation in making your holiday with us a memorable experience,
you can venture into the sea but now because of monsoons the sea was a little harsh and deep but from end of October to May the beach is calm and it is flat unlike the two step now,
we are excited to know that your kid enjoyed the holiday making sand castles by the beach,
we sincerely look forward to serving you again,
Warm Regards,
Dinesh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Malabar Ocean Resort is tucked away in a quite village by the sea near Kanhangad in North Kerala. It's about 8 km from Kanhangad Railway station. Check in was smooth and the staff was really friendly. The cottages and the resort is on the beach - almost like a private beach also because you wouldn't find many locals roaming around here. The cottages are well appointed with large sea view balconies. There's a fairly large swimming pool. Food was delicious. We had a great Old Boys' get together here and the place is ideal for such meets.

Room Tip: Facing the sea
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunilNambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalabarResort, General Manager at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Dear Mr Sunil Nambiar
Thank you so much for having taken your time out to share the feedback of your stay at our resort on a forum like tripadvisor,as it would be helpful for us and guests who are looking to travel this side,
we are glad that our facilities and services lived to your expectations in making your Great Old Boys' get together a memorable experience,
we look forward to serving you again,
Warm Regards,
Dinesh Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews