We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Nileshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect beach resort”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and are very glad that we chose this resort... The main purpose of the trip was relaxation and the purpose was well served... The resort is right on the beach and gets full points for the location... The property is very well maintained... The rooms are clean and pretty big... The bathrooms are also very clean and well maintained...

The food served in the restaurant was delicious... The breakfast didn't have buffet as all the rooms were not fully occupied but no complaints.. The pricing of food can be improved... There are no good restaurants nearby. So, you are pretty much stuck with the restaurant in the resort... Fortunately, they serve tasty food... But the options in the menu are limited and should be extended...

The resort can be improved by including some activities/games in the resort... The WiFi also needs to be improved as we needed to come to the reception every time we had to use WiFi.

The manager, Dinesh, was very helpful... The staff are also courteous and well behaved... All in all, a great resort... Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a beach resort...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sathish_Kumar_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    51
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
75
41
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Ours was a group of three families (6 adults and 6 kids). Stayed there for 2 nights. Rooms are good. Food quality was good. Beach is within 50 meters from the rooms. It looks like a private beach as we did not see anyone other than the hotel guests in the beach. Only issue we faced was in the restaurant. They were pushing us to opt buffet option, whereas we wanted to order from menu (cost of buffet for our group was coming to a much higher price than what we ordered from menu. not sure if that was the reason to push us to go for buffet). they were taking too long a time to serve the food after you place the order.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Govindp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were booked here by Le Passage to India. It was amazing. The resort is currently small and means the staff give wonderful and personal attention to all the guests. The rooms were well kitted out and in good condition - Plus it was a big room. There was TV and free Wi-fi (something we didn't find anywhere else in India). There's a pool as well as loungers on the beach so you can swap between the two. On New Year's Eve the staff and management put on a splendid buffet, champagne and fireworks - it was great fun! and all the staff were kind and energetic. The food was great and was cooked to order and at the time that most suited us as the guests. I sampled the local fish which was cooked to perfection. When I fell unwell, the staff were great - sorting me out a doctor, medication and general making a great fuss and making me feel cared for. I would highly recommend it. There were lots of kids at the resort so seemed to be a success on that score. I was there with my friend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. THANK YOU to the staff! A fab holiday :-)

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have sea views (-ish) but the luxury rooms are the nearest the beach. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this resort on the internet while searching for the perfect place to stay for our family reunion and I can say we are grateful to God to have led us to this beautiful resort!

We stayed as a group of 15 (including 6 kids) for ten days over Christmas and New Year. It's supposed to be a 3* but it has so many positive points that I would without hesitation give it a 4*. The resort is just over 2 years old and has been well maintained so far.

The sea facing cottages are clean, spacious with all amenities one would want like waterkettle, ample storage space, good lighting, A/C and fan plus TV. Some cottages even have an open to sky bathroom!

The beach is one of the cleanest and quietest I have encountered with its soft golden sand not to mention the beautiful landscaped gardens, hammocks under palm trees, swimming pool including a pool for kids. Wifi is available only at certain spots in the resort but that is no negative point as it'll enable you to spend more quality time with family and friends. The service is excellent, efficient, fast and discreet (better than in many 4* hotels!) and the Indian cuisine delectable with tailor- made meals.
The hospitality and personalised attention by the staff is outstanding and made this stay most enjoyable!

Trips like houseboat tours on the backwaters of Kerala or a visit to Bekal Fort can be arranged by the hotel. The next bigger city (Kottapuram) is about 10kms away, easily accessible by a 20 min riksha drive. We had some tailored dresses/shirts etc made which were ready for pick up within 24 hrs! We needed to see an ENT doctor as someone in our group had an ear infection. Dinesh, the GM, quickly made a same-day appointment for us in the next city and the physician there prescribed the necessary medication.

A huge thank-you to the 3 lovely, always friendly cleaning ladies, all the kitchen personel, especially the 2 guys who served us daily and attended to all our requests. And the biggest thank-you to Mr Dinesh who is doing an excellent job in maintaing this resort, ensuring that everyone is comfortable and who always answered my emails in a timely manner when I initially tried to arrange this stay and made sure we all got our room requests.

Some small points for improvement: to have some sports activities at the beach, like putting up a volleyball net, there is lots of available space!
Some safety improvements: for the balconies - small kids can easily slip through the banisters; put a fence around the pond at the restaurant to ensure kids cannot fall in.

http://youtu.be/E5w-QgjSGKw

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cacadookoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed for 3 days Dec29-31.Very well maintained, excellent service, beautiful location. Small resort with clean and private beach at your door step. Kids and family friendly. Rooms are very spacious with sea view for most of them.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with open roof bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raghultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The rooms are fantastic and perfectly clean. The entire resort is perfectly clean and the layout is awesome. It gives you the vacation feeling you are looking for. The food menu might be good for Indian vacationers but it doesn't offer enough for foreigner. However, that was not a big deal. You tell them what you want and how you want it cooked and they try to make it!
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The beach was good but could have been kept cleaner and the GM (very nice guy) was committed to make changes. They are well organized with day trips you can make from there.
Overall a great one week vacation and we would certainly go back to this place.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good but of course the rooms facing the ocean are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco280668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This resort is pristine. It has limited clientele, which is perhaps why it is still pristine in today's hectic world. The manager Mr.Dinesh deserves special mention for his brilliant ability and efforts to make a guest feel at home. The rooms are brilliant, with the mix of white and dark woodwork. When you enter the room and sit on its soft bed, you will not want to leave. But then you will see the sea beckoning right outside that beautiful window. The days are spent lazing on the beach beds, and poolside. The sunset is quite gorgeous. But most of all, Malabar Beach Resort is a must for every tourist who wants to enjoy Kerala, because it offers a true view of God's own country.

The restaurant is quite good. It should however expand its menu.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sujata00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nileshwar
0.4 mi away
Kanan Beach Resort
Kanan Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Nileshwar
122 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
14.4 mi away
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
#4 of 22 in Kalpetta
128 reviews
3.4 mi away
Raj Residency
Raj Residency
#2 of 3 in Kanhangad
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa

Property: Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa
Address: Ozhinhavalappu Post | Nileshwar Via, Kasaragod Dt., Nileshwar 671314, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kasaragod District > Nileshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nileshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Malabar Ocean Front Resort & Spa, you will find a perfect private and peaceful place for your vacation in Kerala. Our spacious rooms, with private balconies, offer panoramic views of the turquoise waters of the Arabian Ocean or the lively outdoor space. The Malabar Ocean Front Resort & Spa offers 14 spacious cottages overlooking the ocean with luxurious interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing