We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Holiday..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Nileshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Perfect Holiday..”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellent Property. Truely is the same as it reflects in the pictures. Spacious rooms having excellent quality fixtures. Amazing location right on the beach and also having a decent sized well maintained swimming pool. Picture perfect restaurant serving freshly cooked food. Our vacation would not had been so pleasant but for the hospitality of the staff and their availability for any kind of help. This is THE PLACE to go and get pampered!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thawani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balasubramanyan, Director of Sales at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the comments about your stay at the Malabar Ocean Front Resort. These kind of comments make us strive to offer even better services and amenities. I am sure you would come back to be our guests again in the near future. I take this opportunity to wish you, your family and friends a very happy,peaceful, prosperous and healthy year 2013. Kind regards, Balasubramanyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    51
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
75
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I came across the website of this property while searching for a place for a 3 days' stay. Did not think further and booked since it was holiday season. But to our surprise whatever was shown in the website was something which really was... !
Managed and run by a group of very hospitable folks.
Beautiful place and very tasty food is what u get.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anupvprabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balasubramanyan69, Director of Sales at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Mr Prabhu,

First of all thank you for having chosen to stay at the Malabar Ocean Front Resort. Secondly thank you for taking time off to write a review about the property.

We were equally pleased to serve you and sincerely hope to serve you again in the not so distant future.

I am joined by my team to wish you, your family and friends a very happy,peaceful,prosperous and healthy year 2013.

with warm regards,
Balasubramanyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahabaleshwar, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

had a memorable stay at the malabar ocean from the resort.it was fantastic from the word go.the booking process was smooth and professional and response quick.once in the resort,we were trasported to a different world.it is well laid out and has charming beach view cottages.the cottages are well designed (blend of traditional and modern) with exotic open to sky bathrooms.
the talking point is the men behind this resort.the service is impeccable and the staff adorable without being obtrusive.the food is absolutely home-like and sea food dishes a treat.mr dinesh kumar and his team are a hands-on team invollved in the nitty gritty of everything.i complement all of them for pampering us so much and wish them all the best and pray for their good health.dr farzan deshmukh and family

Room Tip: just book the beach facing cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctor2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balasubramanyan69, Director of Sales at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for writing about Malabar Ocean Front Resort. First of all I would like to express my gratitude for having chosen Malabar Ocean Front Resort for your vacation in North Kerala. Than you sir.

We have noted to have some indoor games which would be done on priority. You can see this when you visit us next time.

Look forward to serving you soon.

Kind regards,

Balasubramanyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the resort thanks to the timely suggestion by a colleague-god bless him!!!
The resort itself has a wonderfully serene ambience with greenery all around and the ever present sound of the sea soothing you.
Its sea facing cottages are wonderfully practical with all amenities one would want and perhaps the most ecofriendly and user friendly bathroom we have seen.For once,one did not need to worry about spoiling the room after a romp in the sea!And the icing was the open to sky shower...wonderful touch!
The beach is one of the cleanest and quietest we have been to-most of the times we were the only occupants!!!And the beach is literally 100 fet from your doorstep...cant ask for more.
One can walk for atleast 1.5 to 2 km on either side without fear of disturbance or crowds or filth/litter-very unusual for our beaches.
The pool is also the perfect place to chill after a strenuous day at the beach!
The restaurent has a limited menu which definitely needs to be upgraded while the price of the food definitely needs a downgrading!Having said that the chef dished out some very tasty basic dishes so no complaints on the taste of the food!
The staff is very courteus and friendly,ever willing to provide a helping hand.In particulr worth mentioning are Mahesh the restaurent manager and Rahul and Shibjit.Mr Dinesh,the Manager is also extremely helpful.
All in all,its definitely a place to go to and most definitely a place we will be returning to!!!

Room Tip: The Sea facing rooms/cottages are the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balasubramanyan69, Director of Sales at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for writing about Malabar Ocean Front Resort on the trip advisors. An honest and transparent review helps all of us especially travellers looking for a place to stay. Your comments are greatly appreciated and I am sure that these comments would go a long way.

We would be very happy to serve you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Balasubramanyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

No better place to enjoy a luxurious and comfortable peaceful holiday in a place that's called God's own country that's Kerela. This resort complements this saying.
Lush green lawns and beautiful rooms with balconies providing stunning views with delicious food to indulge your senses to absolute heavenly treat.
I am already considering to visit thus place for another Honeymoon with my wife.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmahajan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balasubramanyan69, Director of Sales at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments. First of all thank you for having chosen Malabar Ocean Front Resort for your stay.

Our endeavor is make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible and I hope you had a great stay at our resort.

We hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you.

with warm regards,

P.Balasubramanyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had been to this resort for a short vacation and the stay was wonderful. The resort is quite lovely, the staff courteous and helpful and the food is really good. The rooms were excellent. We would recommend this resort for a quiet, peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperID2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balasubramanyan69, Director of Sales at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for having stayed at the Malabar Ocean Front Resort,Kerala. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the lovely comments made on the trip advisor which would surely go a long way.

Comments like these make a whole lot of difference. The people at the resort get motivated and feel elated and would surely perform well.

We have created a little paradise away from the hustle bustle and most of the people who stay with us enjoy and appreciate this.

I am sure there would be an opportunity for us to serve you again in the not so distant future.

kind regards,

Balasubramanyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We( My wife, 4 year old son and myself ) went to Malabar ocean spa and resort after reading two lovely reviews . I had spoken to the director of the resort over the phone and he was courteous and welcoming and he offered me a package deal which included two nights and three days inclusive of all three meals and an ayurvedic massage.

We reached there in the night at about 9 25 pm in pouring rain. There was not a single umbrella in the resort and since we came with two umbrellas we did not get drenched. We were taken to our room which was spacious well lit and well designed and the room as well as the bathroom was neat clean and welcoming. There was a television which boasted of all the channels but the reception was poor. We had dinner and it was an ala carte menu and that was suprising and disheartening as resorts which charge this much these days usually have a buffet three times a day. But the food they served was tasty and hot and so the chef deserves credit. Then we realised that the AC keeps going off as soon as the compressor starts working and the room was not cooling down. On complaining to the reception they switched on the generator saying that the voltage was too low for the AC but sometime during the night they reverted to the main supply as the room started getting hot again and it took another call at 5 am for them to revert to the generator. So much for getting a good night’s sleep.

The next day we woke up and went to the lovely deserted beach on which the property was located and spent some time on the water. The only problem was the beach was littered with empty glass and plastic bottles and if the resort wanted to call it a private beach then they should have atleast taken the pains to keep it clean.

At about 8 30 am we sauntered to the restaurant and lo and behold there was no breakfast buffet which was distressing as the least each resort offers is a breakfast buffet and we were counting on it so that we could feed something to our 4 year old son. We ordered dosas which the waiter politely said was not available and this was ridiculous as dosas and idlis are the backbone of every south Indian breakfast. They served me a continental fare which was tasty and also offered some pooris and potato curry which was tasty. We also realised that we were the only guests in the resort.

The manager came and requested to us that since the ayurvedic doctor was unavailable could the ayurvedic massage be postponed to next morning. We complied with his request. Since I knew that the menu for lunch would be ala carte I ordered some prawns for lunch which was also denied. They told me that either fish or chicken was available and I chose fish.
The lunch was tasty although there was absolutely no variety. So much for the sea food that we envisioned on seeing their website. They served us some ice cream for dessert which seemed to have been in the freezer for months. In the evening we asked them for snacks and we were asked to choose between sandwiches and pakoras and we chose pakoras and coffee for which they charges us a whopping 340 bucks which was way too expensive. For dinner we ordered Chinese which was palatable and when we ordered room service for dinner they asked for a 10% service charge and it took half an hour of explaining to tell them that this package was inclusive of three meals and then they apologised saying that the director had not communicated the details of the package to them. They also ran out of dessert and tried to make do with some cut fruits.

The next day morning we went at 7 am for the ayurvedic massage. To continue the string of disappointments there was no ayurvedic doctor to examine my wife and there was just one lady who welcomed us saying that she was the nurse who was to give my wife a massage.

All in all the holiday was definitely a forgettable one and I feel ashamed that places like these are cropping up in Kerala to make a fast buck on the tourists who pay good money to have a good time. I left the resort feeling cheated and cursing myself that I saw their website and ruining my family’s vacation. Please don’t go to this resort if you want to feel pampered cos this is a place where you need to fight to get your basic needs.

To cut a long story short the current view of the management is to make big promises but not even deliver basic comforts.Their infrastructure is first rate but their policy on cost cutting and trying to cut corners makes you feel terrible. Since this was a relatively new resort and we were the only guests there they should have ideally gone out of their way to make us feel comfortable, but instead their primary focus was on to reduce their expenditure and deliver the minimum. The least concern for them is the comfort and well being of the guests who paid good money to have a good time there. At the end of the day I might have forgiven them for stealing my money but I just will not forgive them for ruining our mood and our vacation which for busy professionals like my wife and myself is a hard earned event. I will not recommend this place to my worst enemy and please don’t go there if you don’t want your vacation to be turned into a nightmare.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumar g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala s, Director of Sales at Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Sir

we thank you for the comment on the trip advisor.

I have checked the details from the resort and here's what the facts are:

the package was for 14999 where in it was offered for 10000. the package was based on room plus breakfast and one meal still we offered you the 3rd meal without any cost. Since you were the only guests at the resort, we offered you ala carte as keeping buffet meal just for 2 guest is not done at any place in the world.

we had many happy and satisfied clients without any complaints. your comment that the resort is cheating is really uncalled for. we are a new property just opened in Dec and had many clients who appreciated the resort and the way we take care.

the beach is not private and we have people to clean the place. appearance of bottle and other is a daily affair as the waves bring it to the shore but these are removed on a daily basis.

at the time of check out, you wanted to settle the payment by having another 1500 discount as there was no buffet.

Ours is a luxury resort and we do not compromise on the quality of services and amenities offered. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused and hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nileshwar
0.4 mi away
Kanan Beach Resort
Kanan Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Nileshwar
122 reviews
13.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
14.4 mi away
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
#5 of 22 in Kalpetta
127 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nirvana at Bekal
Nirvana at Bekal
#4 of 4 in Bekal
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa

Property: Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa
Address: Ozhinhavalappu Post | Nileshwar Via, Kasaragod Dt., Nileshwar 671314, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kasaragod District > Nileshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nileshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Malabar Ocean Front Resort & Spa, you will find a perfect private and peaceful place for your vacation in Kerala. Our spacious rooms, with private balconies, offer panoramic views of the turquoise waters of the Arabian Ocean or the lively outdoor space. The Malabar Ocean Front Resort & Spa offers 14 spacious cottages overlooking the ocean with luxurious interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing