We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”
Review of Kanan Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kanan Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nileshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Its as good as everybody is saying. I really appreciated the comfortable clean room after some hard traveling in India. The staff was very helpful and when I wanted to see a local Theyyam ceremony a hotel staff found out when it would happen and someone from the hotel escorted me to the village temple. I really appreciated the quiet room and the quiet air conditioner that didn't have to be turned up to MAX for cooling the room.

As good as everything was, the only flaw was the breakfast. In this price range it should have been better. Just some tired corn flakes and an uninspired omelet. The dinners were fine. Despite the breakfast I will still grant 5 stars

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hot_Fudge_Sundae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBRESORT, Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your valuable comments about Kanan Beach Resort!

Regards,

Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A nice pearl among India seaside destinations. Amazing beach, very nice hotel, very relaxed atmosphere, amazing helpful staff. Only fault was food: breakfast really poor, and other meals not exciting.
The area itself is worth the journey for its untouchedness, extremely nice people, just riding the bicycle and wondering among the fishermen villages is unique. Then rest on the beach with hardly one person on it.
A dream place just one hour flight and one hour train from Bombay

Room Tip: Front row bungalows on the North side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aryuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBRESORT, Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valuable words about Kanan Beach Resort!

Prakash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was doing a sea kayaking journey along the coast of India and I landed at the beach there and stayed at the Khanhan (aka Kanan) Beach Resort. The Welcome was great, the cottages are 5 star, the bathrooms are HUGE (best in India), I didn't know what to do with a dressing room! The food and service and everything was perfect. A group of people from France have teamed up with the locals to create a place where you can get away from it all and enjoy the beautiful coast here, experienceg luxurious stay in India . You can walk along the beach and mingle with the fisher folks of the village, check out their traditional fishing boats, relax in the hammock, swim in beautiful clean waters and really get away from it all and relax. Simply a stunning place all round with friendly caring local staff. I will go back there again some day.

Room Tip: Choose a beach front cottage....it was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandykayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash K, Guest Relations Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sandy Robson,

All the best for your journey/ passion and your future.

Thank you very much for your great words about Kanan. You are always welcome to Kanan Beach Resort. We never forget you......

Thanks & Regards
Kanan Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We returned to Kanan Beach Resort in December after a stay in October. The service from everyone at the resort was excellent. My partner had mobility difficulties and when we returned they had installed a ramp to the room to make his access easier. Help was always at hand if needed and they went out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable.

The cottage was spacious and comfortable and beautifully decorated with local artwork.

Food was freshly prepared and delicious. A nice mix of healthy grilled local fish, simple as well as traditional dishes.

They organized an outing for us to see a local Theyam plus a sightseeing trip to local harbour and a stop to watch the sunset where sea and river meet. For Christmas they pulled out all the stops and we had an unexpected exotic Christmas Party complete with an unbelievable buffet, cake, wine, christmas hats and even a visit from Santa.

The Ayurvedic treatments are fantastic. I especially recommend ABHYANGAM (SPECIAL HERBAL MASSAGE) by the Two masseurs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SequoiaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash K, Guest Relations Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir,

Thank you, for your comments and stayed with us. We hope both of you will come back with more healthy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you want to relax near the beach, far from big city, far from other foreigners this hotel is a very good place. Staf is just perfect, food very good (you can ask specific dishes and every thing is fresh and Seasonal). Bungalows are very nice and very near from the sea (direct access). You can do massages, meditation and anything you ask.

Room Tip: 10 bungalows, choose the nearests from the sea, but all are good I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash K, Guest Relations Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is very nice to hear that, you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are expecting you next year also.

Thanks & Regards
Kanan Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were here over New Year's eve and spent 4 nights at the resort. Flying into Mangalore, after switching flights from Bangalore, and then driving 2.5 hours into Nileshwar, we reached Kanan slightly cranky and just very happy to have reached our destination. The real surprise was next morning, when we saw where we were - kissing distance from the sea. I have never stayed at a resort that is so very close to the beach (20 seconds walk at leisurely pace) and where you can stare at the sea from any and every spot on the resort.
Its a small property, about 6-8 cottages and has a very family atmosphere - in the sense, you feel like its a home away from home. The staff is extremely pleasant, ready to help with anything and everything. What is remarkable is that they are refreshingly honest about things - if something is not working or is amiss, they tell you as much and expect your sensitivity in dealing with it, which is great.
This is a resort where you land up to do nothing. Really. Please dont visit if you want to 'do something'. The beach is divine, and really, really long. You can walk for miles and encounter just a few people. It is a very clean beach and the sea is not rough, just perfect to swim in. It is simply heavenly to sit in your room and stare at the sea or to wake up with the sound of the waves. The rooms are much closer to the sea than what you can ever expect. And every room opens into the sea. And the rooms themselves are really nice - 2 rooms, a bedroom and a sitting room, with a complete kitchennette. The designs of the rooms are wonderful, each side with a sea view.
The spa is small, actually very small but the massage was brilliant. The only 2 places I would recommend, in case you wish to step out of the resort, would be Bekal fort and a trip to a 30 acre plantation where you can get a really educating and wonderful guided tour for Rs 1000. I forget the person's name but he gave us a tour of his plantation home and we had typical kerala lunch with his family - an unforgettable experience and worth every penny.
Lastly, the food is very good and even though the menu is rather limited (especially for vegetarians), you can ask the chef to prepare you virtually anything that you can think of. We loved all our meals at the resort and the chef was kind enough to make whatever we requested.
We are already trying to think of when we can visit Kanan again. It is a place that draws you closer and you can only look back with very fond memories. It is a very simple place, with simple homely people in a part of Kerala that is yet unspoiled and where time runs rather slowly. You get disconnected from life and nature surrounds you in every step. We just loved the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash K, Guest Relations Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for shared about your experience in kanan beach resort. We are happy to hear that your vacation wonderful. We hope you will come again.

with regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had booked a cottage for my family. Though the travel was tiring from bangalore, due to the mountain range in between which takes 3 hours to cross 50 kms, the location of the resort and the look of the resort, rooms and the beach more than made up for the long tiring journey. The beach is walkable from the resort rooms and clean as well. You can nicely take a walk in the beach by stepping out of your room. The room was really beautiful and has a direct view to the beach as well. Both the living and bed rooms open up to the pool and the beach that it is a bliss. The resort itself also is well maintained and the staff extremely courteous and helpful. They received us with garland which blew us away. The staff were very friendly and smiling and helped us out to make our stay very pleasant. The swimming pool was so clean and nicely maintained. The location also is beautiful, remote and easy access to the beach. The bekal fort also is very near which will make a good sight seeing activity. Overall, I had booked the hotel looking at pics and reviews and was kind of tired because of the road. But once inside the resort, we were really happy that we picked this resort for our vacation. Special thanks to Abhineesh who is the Marketing manager who made our stay so nice. Thanks a lot and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ventrimol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash K, Guest Relations Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for great words about our resort. Kanan's highlight is location, cottage architecture and helpful and courteous staff.

We hope you will come back again.

Thanks and regards
Kanan Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nileshwar
12.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
#5 of 22 in Kalpetta
127 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
122 reviews
10.3 mi away
Nirvana at Bekal
Nirvana at Bekal
#4 of 4 in Bekal
90 reviews
3.1 mi away
Raj Residency
Raj Residency
#1 of 3 in Kanhangad
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanan Beach Resort

Property: Kanan Beach Resort
Address: | Ozhinjavalappu P.O, Nileshwar 671314, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kasaragod District > Nileshwar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nileshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kanan Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanan Beach Resort - Kerala, the natural and homely Ayurvedic beach resort in God’s own Kerala at northern district Kasaragod, stays in between Bekal beach and Nileshwar beach. Kerala which is situated in the southern part of India is globally famous for its scenic beauty of greenery. This state is very rich in natural, beautiful for its heavenly ambiance of green surroundings and charming beauty of water by making it paradise over land. At Kanan Beach Resort, we value relationships and offer everlasting hospitality. The beauty of nature we kept here as it is; the beach, green mansions, vast seashore, rich with coconut trees and estuary where the river mate with sea. You can fish both in sea and river. The most peculiar thing about here is Kasaragod district is a place of “Theyyam”, the divine ritual dance; we offer you this seasonal folk art to enjoy and know our culture. “It is the beach resort of its kind, which offers a ‘Home away from Home’ feeling”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Kanan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing