We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, very good staf”
Review of Kanan Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kanan Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nileshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you want to relax near the beach, far from big city, far from other foreigners this hotel is a very good place. Staf is just perfect, food very good (you can ask specific dishes and every thing is fresh and Seasonal). Bungalows are very nice and very near from the sea (direct access). You can do massages, meditation and anything you ask.

Room Tip: 10 bungalows, choose the nearests from the sea, but all are good I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash K, Guest Relations Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments. It is very nice to hear that, you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are expecting you next year also.

Thanks & Regards
Kanan Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were here over New Year's eve and spent 4 nights at the resort. Flying into Mangalore, after switching flights from Bangalore, and then driving 2.5 hours into Nileshwar, we reached Kanan slightly cranky and just very happy to have reached our destination. The real surprise was next morning, when we saw where we were - kissing distance from the sea. I have never stayed at a resort that is so very close to the beach (20 seconds walk at leisurely pace) and where you can stare at the sea from any and every spot on the resort.
Its a small property, about 6-8 cottages and has a very family atmosphere - in the sense, you feel like its a home away from home. The staff is extremely pleasant, ready to help with anything and everything. What is remarkable is that they are refreshingly honest about things - if something is not working or is amiss, they tell you as much and expect your sensitivity in dealing with it, which is great.
This is a resort where you land up to do nothing. Really. Please dont visit if you want to 'do something'. The beach is divine, and really, really long. You can walk for miles and encounter just a few people. It is a very clean beach and the sea is not rough, just perfect to swim in. It is simply heavenly to sit in your room and stare at the sea or to wake up with the sound of the waves. The rooms are much closer to the sea than what you can ever expect. And every room opens into the sea. And the rooms themselves are really nice - 2 rooms, a bedroom and a sitting room, with a complete kitchennette. The designs of the rooms are wonderful, each side with a sea view.
The spa is small, actually very small but the massage was brilliant. The only 2 places I would recommend, in case you wish to step out of the resort, would be Bekal fort and a trip to a 30 acre plantation where you can get a really educating and wonderful guided tour for Rs 1000. I forget the person's name but he gave us a tour of his plantation home and we had typical kerala lunch with his family - an unforgettable experience and worth every penny.
Lastly, the food is very good and even though the menu is rather limited (especially for vegetarians), you can ask the chef to prepare you virtually anything that you can think of. We loved all our meals at the resort and the chef was kind enough to make whatever we requested.
We are already trying to think of when we can visit Kanan again. It is a place that draws you closer and you can only look back with very fond memories. It is a very simple place, with simple homely people in a part of Kerala that is yet unspoiled and where time runs rather slowly. You get disconnected from life and nature surrounds you in every step. We just loved the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sameer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash K, Guest Relations Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for shared about your experience in kanan beach resort. We are happy to hear that your vacation wonderful. We hope you will come again.

with regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had booked a cottage for my family. Though the travel was tiring from bangalore, due to the mountain range in between which takes 3 hours to cross 50 kms, the location of the resort and the look of the resort, rooms and the beach more than made up for the long tiring journey. The beach is walkable from the resort rooms and clean as well. You can nicely take a walk in the beach by stepping out of your room. The room was really beautiful and has a direct view to the beach as well. Both the living and bed rooms open up to the pool and the beach that it is a bliss. The resort itself also is well maintained and the staff extremely courteous and helpful. They received us with garland which blew us away. The staff were very friendly and smiling and helped us out to make our stay very pleasant. The swimming pool was so clean and nicely maintained. The location also is beautiful, remote and easy access to the beach. The bekal fort also is very near which will make a good sight seeing activity. Overall, I had booked the hotel looking at pics and reviews and was kind of tired because of the road. But once inside the resort, we were really happy that we picked this resort for our vacation. Special thanks to Abhineesh who is the Marketing manager who made our stay so nice. Thanks a lot and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ventrimol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash K, Guest Relations Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thanks for great words about our resort. Kanan's highlight is location, cottage architecture and helpful and courteous staff.

We hope you will come back again.

Thanks and regards
Kanan Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a wonderfull place on earth! The resort is perfect for a relaxing stay without to much people and without noise.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull.
We had fun in the pool and on the beach. The food is excellent. We only regret that there is no alcohol serve other than beer with the dinner.
Internet connection is only possible in the lobby.
The bungalow was very nice and confortable. The cleaness was absolutly perfect.
A place to return for some quiet days after a trip around South India.
Thanks to all the team of Kanan Beach Resort

Room Tip: All rooms have beach's view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piouala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Piouala,

Thank you very much for wonderful command on our resort. Special thanks for support us to solve confusion about wifi. We hope you will come back for relaxing from your busy life.
We are always ready to welcome you.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here at the end of the very hectic trip to India. It was the perfect place to unwind for a few days. The cottages are spacious and comfortable. The beach is very clean and goes on for miles. The pool is inviting and refreshing. It is the perfect respite.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank ubt1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for valuable command. We really thankful for great man like you given such a wonderful command.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A calm and peaceful resort!

The villas are built in Kerala style and are fantastic. Our villa faced the ocean and was good to watch the sunset from. Everything about the resort worked for us -the room, the staff, the service, the food, the private beach... all of these made our stay wonderful.

Would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sindhu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash K, General Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your valuable comments about our resort, as well as your spending days.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Reading reviews in Trip Advisor, my brother chose this resort for our family vacation last week. What a blessing it turned out to be.

The Location - right on the beach, that's clean and almost private with no intruders. The sunsets are amazing. You can lounge here for hours in the evening/night. The rooms (most of them) overlook the ocean - Serene is not the word.

The rooms - we got ourselves a 3BR Villa and a 1BR Villa (we were 13 of us). The rooms were extremely well furbished and well maintained. Bedrooms and Bathrooms were clean & top notch. Our request to accommodate us in the 3BR Villa (instead of the two 1BRs that we had booked) was promptly accepted. Not only that, they immediately moved my cousin to the next villa so that we can be together. Truly customer centric.

The food - I would call it 75:25. Most of the items were very good and tasty. All items are freshly prepared. The consistency of items could be improved (Chikku Milkshake on one day was thick but on the other day very watery - of course, when complained they promptly changed it and gave us a fresh & better milkshake). The kitchen is small and with few people managing it, we had a tough time getting food on time - they admitted that they have never catered to 13 people in one shot. The staff, though, were very accommodating. That's the reason for a 75:25 rating on food. Had we gone as a small group, probably would have given 100% in this as well.

The Hospitality - No words to describe - probably "Priceless" might help. Every request was catered to with a pleasant smile. Not once did they flinch for anything. Be it picking us up from Nileswar or dropping my cousin back at night 10:30 PM. Be it an early check-in at 8 AM or arranging for sightseeing & house-boat cruise. Every thing was attended to with care. On food, non-menu items were prepared and served on request. Have to mention Ridish & Nithin for their commitment to catering to 13 hungry stomachs with a smile...always. Couldn't get the names of Chefs. Satish the F&B manager and Prakash the GM were extremely accommodating and customer focused. A 11 on 10 rating here!!

Overall - A truly unforgettable holiday, made even more memorable by the Staff of Kanan Beach Resort.

Prakash & Team - A BIG THANK YOU and hoping that you retain this hospitality ever.

Room Tip: Take any of the Villas facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kothandaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash K, General Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your everlasting comments!

The Kanan Beach Resort team is appreciating your words. Also convey our best wishes to your whole family members.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nileshwar
12.6 mi away
Taj Bekal Resort and Spa, Kerala
14.1 mi away
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
12.6 mi away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gokulam Nalanda Resort
Gokulam Nalanda Resort
#2 of 2 in Nileshwar
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanan Beach Resort

Address: | Ozhinjavalappu P.O, Nileshwar 671314, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kasaragod District > Nileshwar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nileshwar
Price Range: $166 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kanan Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanan Beach Resort - Kerala, the natural and homely Ayurvedic beach resort in God’s own Kerala at northern district Kasaragod, stays in between Bekal beach and Nileshwar beach. Kerala which is situated in the southern part of India is globally famous for its scenic beauty of greenery. This state is very rich in natural, beautiful for its heavenly ambiance of green surroundings and charming beauty of water by making it paradise over land. At Kanan Beach Resort, we value relationships and offer everlasting hospitality. The beauty of nature we kept here as it is; the beach, green mansions, vast seashore, rich with coconut trees and estuary where the river mate with sea. You can fish both in sea and river. The most peculiar thing about here is Kasaragod district is a place of “Theyyam”, the divine ritual dance; we offer you this seasonal folk art to enjoy and know our culture. “It is the beach resort of its kind, which offers a ‘Home away from Home’ feeling”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kanan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing