We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, great service, beautiful pub.”

The Bell at Sapperton
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Sapperton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 'Best Pub' award in the 2017 'Western Daily Press' Food and Farming Awards and we're over the moon! Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds in the beautiful village of Sapperton, we are a busy yet beautiful old pub. Frequented all year round by walkers, riders, bikers and discerning diners and locals alike. We pride ourselves on consistently being one of the very best pubs in the Cotswolds (and the country, according to our lovely regulars!) for food, drink and relaxed but professional hospitality. The Bell was one of the first real 'gastro' pubs in the early 2000's. We continue to serve up the very best of fresh, regional and seasonal produce, specialising in British dishes, regional beers, cocktails and wines personally and painstakingly selected by ourselves on our many wine trips around the globe. Although we're famous for our top notch food, we're not just a rural restaurant. We welcome well behaved dogs, horses and children for either a casual pop in visit or a pre-booked meal.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

A quintessentially British Cotswold pub, in a lovely village, with open fire, lots of beams and Cotswold stone. There is a restaurant area, but we preferred to sit at a table by the open fire in the public bar. There were plenty of friendly, helpful staff and a choice of lunch time or main menu. Service was efficient and quick. We chose sandwiches, which were fresh, generously filled and delicious. There is a large and attractive outdoor seating area at the back of the pub, and tables and seats in the garden at the front. There is also a large, private dinning room which would be amazing for a family celebration or occasion. Without drinks, our soup and two sandwiches was fairly priced and good value for what we were served. This is a beautiful pub which is well worth a visit - ideal as part of a bike ride or walk - at any time of year. Also a large, private car park and place to dock your horse!!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank madmitchells2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U1325MRchrisw, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Hi 'MadMitchells',

Thank you very much for your gushing and comprehensive review - not everyone on Tripadvisor is like you and the vast majority of our delighted patrons!

Anyhow, please make yourselves known next time you're in and 'Don't be strangers', as they say.

Cheers!, from all the "friendly, helpful...efficient and quick" staff team, as you so kindly say (apart from me as I think I was on my hols),

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 808 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

We visited on the Saturday night before Mothering Sunday and had a lovely time. The pub is in a beautiful setting and done up really well. The food is amazing! Generous portions and great choices. I am ceoliac but felt I had many choices which were clearly marked out on their gluten free menu. The produce was so fresh and tasty. Would defiantly recommend, ignore the bad reviews!! :D

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Mollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U1325MRchrisw, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Hi Mollie,

You're amazing too.

What a gorgeous review. These really do man a lot to us, so please make yourselves known next time you're in and we'll have a cuddle (if that's alright?).

Cheers,

Peter, Chris and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

Congratulations guys,you've discovered how to print money.
£18 for a less than average roast beef Sunday lunch,in an overcrowded, messy ,not altogether clean pub?
Well done.. keep the machine rolling..fortunately for us,not with anymore of our money.
#dontbelievethehype

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank jimmy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U1325MRchrisw, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2019

Hi Jimmy,

I'd love to be able to write something nice to you, but.......

Anyhow, your points are noted as always

Lots of love from a hyped up, money-printing, super rich publican (how we wish!).

Cheers,

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

We have been several times before and I have to say its gone down hill. Nice atmosphere on a Friday evening, but the food was very poor and over priced. Really disappointing !

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank 288daveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U1325MRchrisw, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

Oh dear!

So sorry we weren't able to discuss when you were here. Was this a recent Friday? Please contact us as we'd love to get down to the bottom of what you found was poor, over priced and disappointing.

We can't promise to be brilliant 100% of the time in 100% of our guests' opinions but we'd like to come pretty close!

Please give me or any of the Duty Managers a call anytime from 11-11 (7 days a week, now that we're into spring and summer hours) as we'd love to know more.

Cheers,

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

Daughter suggested here, good job we booked, we shared the croquettes to start, daughter went for the burger that she couldn’t finish, I opted for the aubergine and hubby chose the venison pie, all were excellent, but the best part was hubbies treacle and thyme tart, yummie!
Service was good, and I’m next sure we will be back

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Notsominijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U1325MRchrisw, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

Hi,

Glad you had a fab time and we look forward to having you back again before too long.

Cheers!,

Peter, Chris and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell at Sapperton also viewed

Stroud, Stroud District
Stroud, Stroud District
 
Nailsworth, Stroud
Birdlip, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
Oakridge Lynch, Stroud
 

Been to The Bell at Sapperton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing