We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its' best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Sackville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nature at its' best”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Mother Nature did not hold back when she provided this place a perfect view of the sea. The peace and serenity that one feels while dining at their restaurant or just taking in the view is too beautiful to describe in words. My husband and I and our son and daughter-in-law were on our way to Shelburne. Before we left, I said to my husband, let's stop here for brunch, it will be nice to share with them what we have already discovered...a piece of heaven. We had a delicious brunch, the waitress was so pleasant. You owe it to yourself to not miss this place. It will be apart of our destination on our future visits to family and friends in Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Room Tip: Window view a must! Call ahead for reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    26
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
63
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Much of Nova Scotia experienced a heat wave last weekend (you won't hear that very often) so we decided to make a last minute call to try and escape the heat. We had previously stayed here and were somewhat surprised to find they had any vacancies for a single Saturday night stay.

The beach is amazing with fine sand and perfect for long walks. The water temperture was typical for early July and certainly offered the perfect opportunity to cool off. It was very "refreshing".
The villas are very nice, clean, well equipped and laid out. Sleeping with the sound of the ocean waves was perfect.
The restaurant was also very good and we enjoyed our meal overlooking the ocean. Kyle was our waiter and his personality and customer service was outstanding.
No complaints about either the accomodations or the food.

Our only negative comment would be that we found both the accommodations and restuarant a bit expensive. I suppose they may factor the perfect setting and location into the high prices but the cost may also partially explain why there were so many empty units on a perfect sunny summer Nova Scotia weekend.

I would certainly recommend the Quarterdeck as long as you are prepared to pay the price, which, in my opinion, is the only thing keeping it from being an overall 5 rating

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NovaScotiaNick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

After the storm, they have done a great job restoring it. The area is still beautiful, inside has been restored to almost original. The food was still amazing though some of the prices have increased a little.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This villas are 5+ star and recently updated. They all face the beach and the ocean. We were there for a visit in the fall before they closed for the winter. It was actually Oct/11 and it was 82 degrees!!!! (Just a fluk at that time of year in Nova Scotia!) The sand is powder sand and the sand pipers are running to and fro! Shells everywhere!! The restaurant has great food and I absolutely love this place! I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Book a villa and stay a week in July/August/ September!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in the large cottage with two other couples, and three other couples stayed in the villas. All are beautiful. Anyone who went to the grill was very impressed, food was awesome.
It's a little pricey but worth it. The cottage is literally move in ready, all you have to do is bring food and drink. They have thought of everything. We had a very foggy, rainy week-end, but still enjoyed ourselves. If the weather was good, this place would be perfect, the beach is amazing.

Room Tip: Cottage, villa, it doesn't matter, they are all beautiful. Just depends on how many people you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank findog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Last summer (2012) my then-boyfrend and I spent four amazing nights in a two-bedroom villa (#7) at the Quarterdeck. We were able to enjoy the restaurant as well at that time, and came away pretty close to awestruck by the resort. This fall, we were back in Nova Scotia planning our wedding (hurrah!) and managed to sneak away for a night at the Quarterdeck.

Unfortunately, compared to last summer, the experience was a letdown. The restaurant had already closed, so the nearest restaurant was about 20 minutes away - yet it was still $200 a night. It seems that the rates should really lower much more significantly when the only choice is a 20 minute drive, or preparing all your own food.

Next, our villa (#14) was definitely showing wear. It needed a coat of paint in a few areas inside. The bathroom door locks did not function well. And the pipes were quite loud. Additionally, the upstairs toilet did not flush well, and the coffee maker smelled terrible (it looked as though something had been burned on it previously).

We did receive the complimentary wine this stay - something we had been told about previously and had not received on our last stay. I think this actually made me more disappointed, to know we had paid the high season premium last stay (nearly $400 a night) and the complimentary bottle of wine had been overlooked then.

However, the staff IS lovely. And one thing they did was over and above customer service, and ensures we will return and give the Quarterdeck another try. We were having our engagement photos taken in the area the day we were to check out, and as the villas were not booked, we were allowed to have a late checkout - obscenely late, until 7 pm - free of charge. We were extremely thankful for this, and it shows the hospitality of this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I love the quarter deck, we go every year, however, the charge for over two people is a little like nickel and diming, after all there are two bedrooms and a pull out couch, they are set up for at least two couples to stay there, but charge $20 a person if there are more than two people.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms and the cottage is very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerville Centre
3.9 mi away
White Point Beach Resort
White Point Beach Resort
#7 of 49 in Southwest Nova Scotia
591 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lane's Privateer Inn
Lane's Privateer Inn
#2 of 2 in Liverpool
108 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Liverpool Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Port Mouton Bay Cottages
Port Mouton Bay Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Mouton
10 reviews
7.8 mi away
Morton House Inn
Morton House Inn
#1 of 1 in Milton
42 reviews
23.1 mi away
Lockeport Landing B&B and Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill

Property: The Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill
Address: 7499 lighthouse Route 3, Summerville Centre, Nova Scotia B0T 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Summerville Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summerville Centre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarterdeck Beachside Villas And Grill Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing