We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Chicken”

Wagner's Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Oldenburg
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fantastic Pan Fried Chicken with great service in a small town atmosphere.
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good Chicken”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We rode our motorcycles to Oldenburg from Columbus to eat at Wagner's Village Inn and it was an awesome day. The folks at Wagner's had our tables ready, there were around 15 of us in the party, and we ordered our drinks, then our meals. The server seemed a little overwhelmed but was very nice. I don't think the food took very long to prepare and I felt like the fried chicken was very tasty. The Cole Slaw was phenomenal but I felt the mashed potatoes were not seasoned at all. But after a little salt and pepper, they tasted fine.

After we ate, we waited for the server to bring our checks but she never did so we all went to the cash register to pay. They were still adding up the tickets so we had to wait on them to do that. Once they did that, the bartender had to explain why a Tenderloin and fries came to $18.00 and she said they add a 20% Gratuity on parties that large. I didn't have an issue with that but some of the people thought that we didn't see our server enough to warrant a 20% tip. I have to agree although I always tip 20% or more.

The overall experience was good, but the service was poor, and the food was too expensive. It was good, but too expensive. I will be back though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parrothead837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chicken! Oh yeah!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I just love Wagner's! The chicken is peppery and crunchy. It is always served hot not lukewarm like take out places. The sides are excellent. There is just a nice atmosphere at Wagner's. the folks are friendly and helpful. This is always our go-to spot when we travel the I-74 corridor between Cincinnati and Indy. Oldenburg is about three miles from Batesville at Exit 149.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookiemaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
338 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Indiana Five Star Fried Chicken”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Pan fried, peppery chicken, served family style with made from scratch mashed potatoes, gravy, green beans and Cole slaw. The picturesque small German village of Oldenburg a few miles from Batesville and I-74 is home to a small tavern with the best fried chicken, ever. Start with a peppery cheese appetizer or fried chicken livers and you have a southern Indiana feast.
A short fifty miles from Cincinnati, Batesville and its famous Sherman House, Oldenburg with the beautiful nunnery Mother House make a nice day trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HazardBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice old school charm”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The wife and I went on a bike ride and stop for dinner. Since we didn't have the kids we sat at the bar. We had a great time and we felt like family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattHeather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
133 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Heard about this place in Oldenburg, IN that had great fried chicken. Believe me, it is worth the trip. I don't know if it's the best I've ever had but I can't recall ever having better. Very nice people there, and the sides were substantial and delicious as well. A home run!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lewwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagner's Village Inn also viewed

 

Been to Wagner's Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing