We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay.”
Review of Diplomat Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diplomat Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakland City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Stay.”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The Diplomat is a small roadside independent. I was very impressed. The staff is very friendly and professional. The room I stayed in was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was what I needed for a one night stay. Overall, I would recommend this motel. Keep in mind, this IS Oakland City, Indiana.There is nothing to do except go out to dinner and then go back to the room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oliver Springs, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very comfortable and safe motel. Having a young child and being a female safety is a priority the staff was very friendly and made sure we were taken care of. Highly recommend this motel to anyone traveling through the area beds were comfortable and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

have stayed here several times, always a pleasant experience, clean, quiet, and safe,manager and staff very friendly and helpful. Great rates! I will definitly stay here when in the area, the location is great for me when visiting family in Princeton,Petersburg, and Chandler.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gloria938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Using the shower floods the bathroom because the bottom is wooden. Sheets had blood stains and trash when we got here, shrugged & tossed blankets on top of it because we didn't want to deal with it. Now we're told we have to pay $50 to replace & GTFO. (No joke on this one: It looks like the last woman to have the room started her period & bled all over the sheets. I'm being blamed for it even though I'm five months pregnant.)

AC/heater doesn't work in most of the rooms. The toilet backs up into sink every time you flush. Walls and ceiling are cracked with water damage and there's sure to be mold with that somewhere. The woman at the front desk curses like a sailor constantly--even if children are present--as well as likes to go through the rooms if you aren't there and complain about your stuff to everyone else on the property as loudly as possible.

We cleaned our own room, supplied our own toiletries, washed our own clothes, been quiet and polite, but we're still being treated like trash. The people that are staying here are nice enough, but the staff could care less about you as long as they can take your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tlws86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This a a pleasant place, friendly, and clean. Great Rates. Close to work. And they wash your laundry. I would stay here again. The house keepers do a great job, they all make you feel very welcome. And you can even have pets at this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diplomat Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Motel

Property: Diplomat Motel
Address: Highway 57 North, Oakland City, IN 47660
Location: United States > Indiana > Oakland City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakland City
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing