We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Everyone Else Said”

Matteo's Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
Matteo's Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 145 Restaurants in Noblesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The premier Italian experience in the Midwest. Here, you will experience the finest Italian cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Conveniently located on the square of downtown Noblesville, our restaurant is the perfect place to enjoy an authentic Italian meal or sip a glass of fine wine.
NWUSA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“All Everyone Else Said”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Matteo's is located on the square in Noblesville. On a recent birthday visit we had a table in the front window bay, looking at the courthouse, a little quieter than the main part of the room so we could have a good conversation with our friends.

As usual, the staff was friendly and professional. Our friends' baby was offered high chairs by two different servers. A gluten-intolerant friend was efficiently given the information she needed by a well-prepared waiter. Wine recommendations were spot-on, and the birthday boy even got his creme brulee comped.

Our appetizes were quite good; the shrimp cocktail, though not as spicy, rivaled a more famous one served about 18 miles south. Main courses included tagliatella alla tarantella (delicious!), penne nocia (very good), and ossa buco (great flavor, but could have been cooked a little longer for that fall-off-the-bone goodness). Even the baby seemed satisfied, as he slept the whole time.

We only have two small suggestions. First, the veal could have been more tender. It was good, but little longer in the overn would have definitely improved the texture. Second, both creme brulees (perfectly carmelized at the table!) were a cold in the center; we all agreed we like them a little warmer, a little softer, so the flavor comes out more.

Those are two small complaints and certainly didn't keep us from holding the table most of the evening, and they won't keep us from coming back again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    52
    32
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superlative Italian, top-notch service and warm ambiance!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

On the square in Noblesville you will find a charming family "Ristorante Italiano!" We had a party of ten with adults and teens and we all enjoyed a delightful early evening dinner. Crusty, home-baked loaves of hot bread served up with fine olive oil flavored with garlic and fennel seeds. Some of the group enjoyed the Calamari Fritti appetizer-- it looked crispy and lightly breaded. The "chop salad" was artfully presented with crunchy toast points and was a combo of lettuces, olives, onions, feta cheese and a house vinaigrette. The vegetarians all enjoyed homemade cheese-stuffed pastas with various tomato and cream sauces, including a tasty gnocchi dish. The rest had various satisfying entrees with veal, meatballs and a chicken lasagna. The servings are large, the flavors full and the sauces fresh. Our host for dinner selected a terrific Ripasso Valpolicella, a lovely dry red with a deep fruity taste. It paired well with our various entrees. Dessert was also splendid- Crème Brule, Tiramisu, and Cannoli. Of course, I cannot submit a review without my usual request for a few more vegetarian choices, so we will just have to return and try some of the other veggie options!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestTravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favorite Italian Restaurant in the greater Indianapolis Area”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The number of good Italian restaurants in Indianapolis continues to grow; however, Matteo's is one of my favorites. The food is always excellent, the service is never rushed, and they have a very good selection of wines. Reservations help on the weekend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank italianfoodie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hearty Winter Family Dinner”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Family was in for the holidays and we thoroughly enjoyed not only the food but also the holiday ambience. Good service and quality food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bburgemptynester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great special event place, anniversary, first date. Food is good, but can be a little pricey. Service is always excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matteo's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Noblesville, Hamilton County
Noblesville, Hamilton County
 
Noblesville, Hamilton County
Noblesville, Hamilton County
 

Been to Matteo's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing