We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Cafe Lyon

Cafe Lyon
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Lindfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Last week 6 of us enjoyed another excellent dinner with good service
The zucchini flower with goat cheese was delicious. The special, crispy pork belly was cooked to perfection. On a very busy night, we were impressed with the outstanding raspberry soufflé
Only complaint was the noise as every table was taken.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterlorschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    87
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
“Impressive restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I had a 3 course dinner and were thoroughly impressed. We agreed that the food was better than the last 'hatted' restaurant we went to in eastern Sydney. It was also good value for money given the quality of the food and generous portions. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincessAnaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great for a Special Occasion”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I save dining at Cafe Lyon for specials occasions. It's always a special night, with amazing dishes & top quality service.

Helpful?
Thank kiwiboyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Memorable occasion”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We wanted somewhere special and close to home to celebrate our anniversary. The Cafe Lyon proved to be a good choice.

The service was excellent and the food was very good.

We mentioned to the waiter that it was our anniversary and so they made a fuss of us by writing "Happy anniversary" on our dessert.

It is clearly a very popular restaurant. We had to book for an early sitting (6:30pm) to get a table. Every table seemed to be taken.

A word or warning - don't be late. We saw one group arrive more than 30 minutes late and they had to come back later because all tables had been fully committed by then.

It's probably more expensive than most other restaurants in the area but it was worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food and service but too noisy”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our party of 6 visited Cafe Lyon for a family members birthday dinner. Our table was upstairs. Table service was what was expected from a quality restaurant. The waiter was attentive but not intrusive and the food was served in the optimum time without long delays. The food also was very good with adequate servings. However 1 complaint about the night's special which was a slow baked beef, was that it was not hot enough. We all had mains & deserts and the food was delicious and everyone enjoyed their meals. The major complaint was that the restaurant was VERY noisy. Since the upstairs section was full we found it difficult to have a table converation and be heard, hence we left and went home for coffee. We would recommend the restaurant for the food and service but not if you want to sit around and chat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kappalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lyon also viewed

 
Chatswood, Willoughby
Roseville, Willoughby
 

Been to Cafe Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing