We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  
Reviews (1,165)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveler rating
1,028
101
23
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,028
101
23
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cat ba island night cruise auco cruise fruit carving organic farm halong bay cruise manager first class bike ride lunch and dinner luxury cruise tai chi floating village wonderful experience an upgrade tea ceremony happy hour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2019

We did the cruise. Enjoyed the entire trip. We were in the Au Co room on the second floor front of the ship. Pay extra and get to the front. The first floor seems very small rooms.
Excellent meals and attention to detail on presentation.
Activities are very good. You Kayak round the fishing village. Ride to a sustainable local farm. Walk around a cave.

English speaking staff which made it easy to communicate.
Happy hour each night. Drinks are reasonably priced. The spar was a bit on the high side for Vietnam but you have to consider you are on a Cruise so it will be high.

Overall enjoyed the trip.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Syd3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2019 via mobile

The cruise was booked based upon a previous 2 night cruise which was a wonderful experience previously. There was a significant change in the most recent cruise albeit the beauty of Halong Bay is exceptional!
The previous great welcome into the moored boat was replaced by a ride in a tender to reach a boat that already had guests on it that had almost completed their cruise.
The food was first class and fruit carving session commendable however the “cruise captain’ seemed to be shared between 2 cruises. There were some issues with the island and cave tour leaders and their English skills being difficult to understand( we had to interpret for other guests).The island tour was a waste of time and needs to be polished with some information boards indicating the vine or tree and indicating what vegetable or fruit is grown rather than following a guide that cannot be understood past plants and graves. The experience of some of the staff that grew up on the island and now worked with AuCo was interesting.
The cave tour was a real issue for older people with mobility issues - not previously advised prior to the tour - that required access via significant climbing of steps (around 100), crawling through caves that were certainly not as impressive as the previous trip to the ‘ ‘surprise cave’ and the continuation of the trip through a poorly kept historic village littered with rubbish culminating in a lunch of stale sandwiches and warm yoghurt was embarrassing - given the high praise we had given this trip to our accompanying family.
The massage services were also booked as a honeymoon special however one of the tour guides called the room and said your wife come at 3pm and your husband at 9 pm. In the end a 60 minute massage was provided however the 75 min honeymoon rate was still charged.
The charge for water at meals is ridiculous while bottles of water were free to our room. Also normally tea and coffee are included as part of the meals - however these were also charged separately. The cost of wine and beer was excessive.
The swimming and canoeing was enjoyed by our family as was the squid fishing.
The visit to the fishing village concentrated on the government resettlement of fishermen however most people were interested in how the fisherman kept their fish in the holding pens and what type of fish they were - however that was not mentioned.
Overall I feel the care and heart of the cruise has been lost which is disappointing.
Highlights previously were the ‘surprise cave’ - however without this the cruise seemed to be be very mundane.
I have had 22 people book with you so far based on our first experience - however a real review of the overall experience needs to be undertaken as the changes have not added value to the experience. Happy to discuss further. Suggestion is also to list mobility requirement for each activity - rather the possibility of an accident occurring. The previous route toured was better than what is currently being provided. An eco tour is also promoted by Au Co and to land on a beach for the cave tour covered in rubbish does not set the scene in this beautiful place. So sad!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank NanetteT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BhayaGroup, Marketing Manager at The Au Co Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2019

Dear NanetteT_13

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with detailed feedback on your recent experience on The Au Co cruise.

I appreciate very much your recognition of our cuisine and the fruit carving demonstration onboard. I am also happy that your family enjoyed swimming in Ba Trai Dao area as well as the squid fishing activity in the evening.

I am sorry that you were not impressed with the cave tour and for the insuffient language skills of the staff. Please kindly be advised that with The Au Co cruise, we aim toward providing passengers with the most relaxing experience, thus created a unique routing integrated with least visited destinations like the new cave, but not the popular 'surprised cave', to avoid crowds. However, your valuable comment about the itinerary is truly helpful for us to review and improve it.

Once again, thank you very much for your constructive review. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you and other family members and friends again for a better cruising experience.

Regards,
Ly Nguyen (Ms.)
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

Thank you very much lulu . She introduced us to the couple, a whole new experience, away from the bustle of the bustling city, I'm booking not on weekends, lucky for that. Feel the comfort on the train. Luxury facilities, cheerful and lively staff,
Thank all
See you next time

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 378changn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

This short two night cruise was fantastic. The scenery was beautiful, and the staff were super friendly and helpful. The food was also first class.

Date of experience: May 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Damien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

We went for a 2 night cruise in Halong Bay and had the best time. We had a private balcony in our room and the room was superb.
But what made the cruise great was the staff! Tom and his crew were amazing and made our trip 10 times better than we could ever expect. Kayaking, push bike to village and Tai Chi in the mornings together with superb food and entertainment made this trip a trip of a lifetime.

Date of experience: May 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jrok2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews