We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talbot

The Talbot
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Bishopton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent return visit”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Have visited the talbot on numerous occasions throughout the past 12 months and have never been disappointed.
I visited again in December for the Christmas fayre menu with family for our annual catch up, and what a superb evening we had , the service we received was exceptional and very welcoming , the staff are so friendly and nothing was to much for them.
As for the food it is simply the best meal around town, there is so much choice to choose from and my niece who is a very picky eater had her meal tailor made due to her being lactose intolerant and this was not to much to ask of them as they were happy to help and even made her something that wasn't on the menu , fantastic service .
I would just like to share our experience of such a wonderful warm and inviting restaurant , and will defiantly be returning on numerous occasions throughout this year.
I would just like to add as well that our group was sat in what they call the snug area and what a lovely little area this is , with its open fire and private dining for our group again a superb evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tiggr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    65
    26
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, first class service”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Went for a Christmas celebration meal with a group of friends , the food service and atmosphere made this a night to remember and will defiantly be returning again , thank you for a superb evening and excellent meal

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna123545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great quality and good value”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

First visit to the Talbot after seeing the reviews on here decided to give it a try. The weekday evening menu has a choice of a la carte or a selection of courses for a set price. 2 courses for £16.49 or 3 for £19.99, excellent value when you compare to the likes of Frankie and Benny's considering that the food at the Talbot is far superior! Excellent selection of all courses and great service. Restaurant area itself is a little cramped and still didn't quite top my favourite place to eat locally, but i will certainly return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angiebeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After a few recommendations, we booked at short notice for Sunday lunch. Due to a party the night before, we ended up going a little bit hungover, with not the best of appetites, and ended up only ordering main courses. Both were delicious, and we were well and truly stuffed. Normally, I'm a 3 course guy, and felt sad that I could only manage a main, so we vowed to go back sooner rather than later.

Considering you can get a rubbish Sunday lunch at many pubs for less than a fiver, The Talbot might seem a bit pricy, but it's definitely worth it. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n east
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great food once again.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

great tables to sit and have a drink while perusing the menus,4 of us went lovely table setting staff great and will have a laugh with you, food was excellent,the only slight negative feedback two of us had the sole goujons for starters and it was a bit tasteless,but the rest was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mackemnortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talbot also viewed

Stockton-on-Tees, England
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 
Darlington, County Durham
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 

Been to The Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing