We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Harmony native loved it”

Cook's on Brewery Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Harmony
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cook's on Brewery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 New Harmony B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for my 50th New Harmony High School reunion with my husband. Alan Cook (son of the original owner) was a friend of my dad and Alan would be proud of what David and Johnathan have done with the home place (later owner added a second floor). They are gracious hosts, wonderful breakfast cooks, have 4 adorable cats, tend the lovely landscaping and keep the rooms immaculate. Even though the other rooms were occupied, we never heard any noises from those rooms including plumbing. Great places to sit and read both upstairs and downstairs. The private bath for the Green Room has a stay-warm whirlpool bathtub - what a nice treat. It also has a personal shower attachment. The central A/C has super quiet heat pumps - you need a stethoscope to hear them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

You will absolutely love this place! It is comfortable and romantic, hot coffee early in the morning, culinary delights for breakfast, clean and quiet, thoughtful and gracious hosts, you cannot find better accommodations for your trip to New Harmony,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We recently spent 5 days in historic New Harmony for the First Brush of Spring art event. Having stayed at the New Harmony Inn on past visits, we were delighted to discover the hidden gem called "Cooks on Brewery". This 1908 home is located just a few blocks from the galleries, restaurants, antique stores & coffee shops of the village center. Our hosts, David & Jonathan were welcoming, gracious and helpful. They provided bikes to explore the area, as well as making a dinner reservation for us at their favorite sushi restaurant in nearby Evansville.
Both Jonathan & David are transplants to Indiana from Washington, DC and the "big city" sophistication & style has blended into the life of the home. Tasteful retro design merges with down-home comfort. Our room, the Green Room, was beautifully furnished & decorated with art from their DC days, combined with antiques from local businesses. A high quality mattress and the softest sheets on the planet (!) made for restful sleeping. Our huge private bath was located 4 steps from our door, & the green glass tile accents in the refurbished tub & shower area was remarkable. Both the upstairs bedrooms share a common room with comfortable couch, chairs, & TV. Also located there is a small refrigerator stocked with complementary soft drinks, bottled water, & fresh fruit. Every morning, upon waking, we were greeted with a tray of brightly colored mugs & a carafe of hot coffee in the common area to enjoy before breakfast.
And speaking of breakfast...every morning brought a new & delicious creation by our hosts. There was always fresh flowers & fresh fruit on the table as we came to breakfast. Jonathon served a breakfast spread made with fresh herbs from their herb garden, and the "Eggs in Clouds" dish was definitely Top Chef worthy!! Locally bought and locally sourced ingredients are always given the first preference, and by the time this review is published, we understand they will also provide locally made soaps & lotions in the bath.
Finally, we would be remiss in not mentioning our daily visits with Coco & Persnickety, the resident housecats. They added just the touch of homey atmosphere when they greeted us with a contented purr. (Oh, little Coco...how we wanted to tuck you into our suitcase when David wasn't looking!) In summary, we must say that Cooks on Brewery is most definitely one of the most enjoyable and memorable bed & breakfast stays we have ever experienced!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2ForksInTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Cook's on Brewery for a 30th anniversary getaway. We chose the Blue Room and could not have been more pleased! The decor was beautiful, not just in our room and private bath but throughout the house. My wife was very impressed with the cleanliness of the property. Our breakfast each morning was delicious and the morning coffee waiting outside our door was a great touch. The hosts were very friendly and made us feel at home. They also furnished bikes for us to ride around town. Would we recommend this B&B? Absolutely

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I spent weekend in New Harmony. Stayed at Cook's on Brewery.
It was very nice. We stayed in the Green Room. Very Cozy. We saw all the rooms,
but thought the Green Room was the BEST!. Our Hosts were very accommodating
and friendly. We would send our friends to this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CLAUDINE Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Everything was pretty much perfect for my husband and me during our day and night at Cook's on Brewery. Our room (the "green room") was beautifully appointed, comfortable, and homey. The cozy sitting alcove with its thoughtfully curated choice of reading material was an especially nice touch. The bathroom provided for our private use was a few feet down the hall. It was large and attractive and, like the rest of the house, immaculate. The attention to detail of every sort was flawless; from the incredibly scrumptious breakfast (cheerfully made with an eye to dietary restrictions) to the bikes made available at a specific time in the morning, from the beautiful touches such as fresh flowers and garnishes to the nice strong coffee provided early--these hosts were generous and hospitable. This, for us, was a quiet and gracious setting that was the ideal backdrop for our New Harmony visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cokie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at this B&B to celebrate our five-year anniversary and we were so impressed with the house and the friendly innkeepers who went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and memorable. The rooms and common areas are beautifully furnished, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cook's on Brewery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's on Brewery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 815 Brewery Street, New Harmony, IN 47631
Location: United States > Indiana > New Harmony
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Harmony
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cook’s on Brewery Bed & Breakfast invites you to Historic New Harmony! We invite you to enjoy the history and tranquility of New Harmony while relaxing comfortably here at our B&B. Each of our three guest-rooms features queen-sized beds, hand-ironed 500-plus thread count bedding, private baths, relaxation and comfort. We believe you'll find our rooms a quiet retreat, whether before a busy evening of activities or after an enjoyable day shopping or touring our town's historic buildings and sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing