We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soon to be a Best Western, not the greatest H-I”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
191 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Soon to be a Best Western, not the greatest H-I”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was under renovation during our stay; not too disturbing at night but a lot of work going on during the day. Hallways are cluttered with people and parts. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
During our stay a sign just appeared in the lobby saying, the hotel was changing over to a Best Western. Now this make sence. This place isn't quite up to H-I standards, it's better suited as a Best Western. You can polish a turd but remember, it's still a turd.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whammie787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your response. We have completed a major renovation as of November 2013. We have all new beds and bedding, furniture, paint and carpet, plus much more. We upgraded our pool area and fitness center and we are now a Best Western Plus. Hopefully, you will give us a chance to show you all our improvements the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    109
    70
    27
    21
See reviews for
124
84
23
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Emporia, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were driving back frm the east coast and wanted to stop outside of Louisville and decided to stay in New Albany at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel seemed newly remodeled and it has a very large breakfast area included in the room price. Our room was quiet and clean. The location was great with many restaurants a few blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Robert D.,

Thank you for sharing your very nice comments about your visit to our Holiday Inn Express. We are indeed still in the process of remodeling. It sounds like you stayed in one of our newer rooms and I am glad you enjoyed it. The next time you are passing through, we would love to have you stay with us! Our new, beautiful bedding package should be in by then too!

Best Regards,
Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I grew up in New Albany and remember when the Holiday Inn was built. This past weekend we returned for a wedding and family gathering and chose HI Express as the place to stay. The staff that was on duty when we arrived made sure we got a quality room. They took time to explain about all the renovations going on and apologized for the mess we may come across in the hallway, but assured us they crew would clean it up when they were done for the day, which they did. Our room had a fresh coat of paint and new carpet. It was clean and neat, meeting our expectations for the 3 nights there. Every staff member we came across, from housekeeping to front desk, were very friendly and polite. The breakfast each morning was delicious and filling. It was good to be back in New Albany for a few days. My family and I appreciate the Holiday Inn for their services. We will definitely stay again whenever we return. Congratulations on your renovations and upgrades.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomLee519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear TomLee:

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience at the Holiday In Express New Albany. I am happy to concur that we are indeed getting a face lift. We are currently under renovation and estimate to have everything done within the next 4 weeks or so. My staff and I are excited to the see the end results and celebrate our newly remodeled hotel. I hope that you do come back to revisit. We will be changing hotel brands as well so just look for the "new kid on the block" the next time you are visiting the area.

Regards,

Mary Elizabeth Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

One night stay. Hotel is undergoing renovations, seems a lot of rooms are closed at the moment. Felt pretty empty.
Room had very dirty carpets. Remark at the frontdesk said they are replacing it now. Then give me a room with a good carpet I would say. No great service.

The building itself is getting really old, will the renovations make up for this? Not sure. Room was smaller than usual with this kind of hotel.
Breakfast was fine, pancake machine and good refill. Usual HIE breakfast.

Room Tip: Demand an updated room with good carpets etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelzoeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Hotelzoeker:

I am pleased to respond to your review from your most recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express. At the same time, I am thrilled to tell you that we are in midst of a renovation to overcome some of those areas your commented on that are old. Over the next 4-6 weeks we will have lots going on in the hotel to help modernize it and to prepare for a brand change. All of our guest rooms are receiving new carpet, new beds, new dream sleeper bedding packages, new artwork, a whole new lighting package to help us go green, and some new furnishings. In addition, we will have be renovating our public areas as well. The work has also begun in our exercise facility and the pool area will start in about a week or so.

We are so excited about these changes and hopefully, you will have the opportunity to check out the next time you are in the New Albany/Louisville area.

Regards,

Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at Holiday Inn Express two nights. The hotel staff were nice. The hotel seems to be a little run down...the elevator was a bit dirty and the door to my room didn't sit well (it kept sticking). The bed was good and the bathroom was good as well. They had good WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Jon G:

Thank you for visiting us at the Holiday Inn Express in New Albany, IN. As you may have noticed during your stay, we are in the midst of a property renovation. As a result of the renovation, I know the elevators have been experiencing more usage than usual. As I am sure you know, renovating anything is often a challenge. But on a positive note, we will have a totally fresh look in less than 6 weeks. I hope you have the opportunity to come back and check it out the next time you are visiting or passing through the New Albany/Louisville area.

Thank you again for taking time to share your experience.

Regards,

Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend. The hotel is going through a renovation, and the improvements are nice. It was somewhat noisy during the late hours, probably due to a youth team staying there. The air conditioning system is also noisy as it clicks on and off, hopefully this will be part of the renovations. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked. There is not much in the immediate area...a Subway that is connected to the hotel and a Waffle House next door. This hotel is right off the interstate across the river from Louisville. It is a nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Elizabeth C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Vicki M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Holiday Inn New Albany. As you noticed, we are definitely renovating our fine establishment. The staff and I are really excited for all the new things coming our way -- new carpet, new beds, new bedding decor package, new artwork, new furnishings, some new exercise equipment, a newly renovated pool area and a new "green" lighting package for the rooms as well.

So please feel free to come and visit us the next time you are in the area.

Yours in Hospitality,

Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at Holiday Inn Express when they were very busy. I arrived late after a long day and was not expecting a whole lot. But Tom Howard greeted me and was very helpful and friendly! I could tell my day was going to be ok! The room was clean, comfortable, and breakfast was great just like Tom said it would be! It was a great night after an exhausting day thanks to the staff at Holiday Inn especially Tom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travistar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustus A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience that you had at our Holiday Inn Express. The staff is always striving to exceed the expectations of our guests. Tom is one of our newer team members and has definitely been a great addition to our staff. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future!

Regards,

Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Albany
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Albany
Hampton Inn New Albany
#2 of 2 in New Albany
337 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Green Tree Inn
BEST WESTERN Green Tree Inn
#1 of 7 in Clarksville
403 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel
4.4 mi away
Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
3,717 reviews
8.3 mi away
Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64
Address: 411 West Spring Street, New Albany, IN 47150 (Formerly Best Western Louisville West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > New Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only five miles from downtown Louisville, Kentucky, this newly renovated Best Western Plus offers convenient access to some of Indiana and Kentucky's finest attractions. Once known as a quaint, historic little river town, New Albany has flourished in the past few years. The downtown district has become the new hotspot with locally owned on trend restaurants and shops popping up continually. Now celebrating its 200th year, New Albany has come alive and is making its mark on the region. We are confident that leisure travelers will also appreciate our hotel's location near Louisville, home of the Kentucky Derby. Nearby family attractions include Extreme Park, Waterfront Park and Falls of Ohio State Park. Adults can spend an afternoon at Horseshoe Casino or enjoy a wine tasting at Huber's Orchard and Winery. River cruises offer a unique view of the city, so we suggest that you climb aboard the Belle of Louisville while visiting our New Albany, Indiana hotel. Because of our close proximity to Louisville, business travelers find the trip in and out of the city to be quite easy. Nearby businesses include Bass Pro Shop, Floyd Memorial Hospital & Health Services, UPS, the Kentucky International Convention Center and the Kentucky Fair and Expo Center. Our hotel also features excellent business amenities, such as three on-site meeting rooms and a 24hr Business Center. Committed to promoting higher education in the region, you will find the campuses of Indiana University Southeast, Ivy Tech, Purdue Technology Center, and the University of Louisville within minutes of each other. Unlike other hotels near Louisville, we offer New Albany's best indoor pool, which is a great place to relax after a long day of meetings or sightseeing. We hope our guests take advantage of our daily, complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Other amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet and 24 hour business center. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Louisville-Nw @ New Albany Hotel New Albany
Holiday Inn New Albany
New Albany Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing