We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm here about once a week...”

Dragon King's Daughter
Ranked #6 of 140 Restaurants in New Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I'm here about once a week...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Probably the best sushi you can get around here. Plenty of other tasty options if you don't like sushi. Great service and cool atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank lro87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A sushi lovers paradide”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

A group of 7 met for 2 birthdays, and one wedding anniversary. We were welcomed quickly.
We made drink orders and were allowed plenty of time to look at the menu. None of us had been there before.
I had the house made ginger ale. It was not good. Definitely an acquired taste. Others had craft beer which they all loved. So many choices. One person in our group ordered a mixed drink. It took almost 15 minutes to get. The waiter had to ask bar staff to make the drink a second time.
The waiter knew his sushi and he knew the menu. He was very helpful in making suggestions.
Food came and presentation was amazing. The suishi combinations were creative. Who knew there was "cooked" suishi.
Portions however on some items were small. If you have a hungary person with you ask about portions- you could end up disappointed. Other items came in bulk.
Everyone enjoyed the food. Not one item was sent back. (except the ginger ale) Prices were fair/average. I will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraSchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Looking on the web. for different places to eat and came across the DKD,A great addition to the revival of downtown New Albany. Tried the sushi and rice along with a soup and found it to be very good.Good sushi is hard to find and I will make many more trips to continue to test their menu.Also tried their version of a bloody mary but was not that excited.Service was great and helpful for first time visitors. If you are tired of the same old types of food give the DKD a try, you will be surprised.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gearguy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Whoa. Awesome fusion food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A friend suggested this place for dinner. Man, was I glad he did. I had the BLT fried rice, and my wife had the Mexican fried rice. Maybe it's because I haven't been to many fusion restaurants, but I had never imagined the different combinations of flavors featured at this restaurant, but nearly all of them are perfect. Wish there was one of these near us...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MapMakinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So.IN sushi savior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Great decor & atmosphere. Ordered two rolls both were excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Awesome lunch specials and happy hour sushi deals. No place else in New Albany but there's no reason for another. Will be back ASAP

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon King's Daughter also viewed

 

Been to Dragon King's Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing