We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one of the better Hampton Inns” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn New Albany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn New Albany
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Albany
va
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not one of the better Hampton Inns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Close to highway and restaurants. In dire need of updating. Staff friendly but seemed overwhelmed. Hotel was completely booked, we checked in late and had an issue with linens. Staff did the best she could to accomodate since no one was available in housekeeping. Breakfast was decent but rooms were a bit dated. I would pass this Hampton the next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdinnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-NewAlbany, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Albany, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
bdinnab,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate every guest letting us know how we are doing and I am sorry we fell short on this stay. Due to comments like yours we are starting the remodel stage of carpeting, wall vinyl and in room lighting. Please reconsider giving us another chance the next time you are in the area.

Thank you,
Chris N.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    71
    58
    44
    42
See reviews for
81
65
20
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean room and great breakfast Close to casino Close to great restraunts Easy access to interstate highways. A nice area of town with great places to walk. The ladies at the breakfast made sure every thing was full and the food good and hot. They were the best people at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 327larryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-NewAlbany, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Albany, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
327larryt,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to see our guest enjoy their stay. I hope you won BIG at the casino! Looking forward to seeing you again when you return.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Room was a typical Hampton upon arrival. However, my allergies started kicking in and I knew there was mold in the room. The soap dish in the bathtub had black gunk underneath it as did the edge of the tub. Trying to get through the night, we were awakened at 11:30 by our next door neighbors who had a child. If the child had been upset, it would've been understandable, but the adults were very loud and the child was squealing and having the time of his life. We called the front desk, to no avail. No big deal. When I gave up at 7 a.m. (they were also up very early), I went to the bathroom to take a shower. The tub wouldn't drain. I had the unfortunate pleasure of pulling the biggest hair ball out of the drain. I've posted a picture for your viewing pleasure. The front desk was dismissive.... all but yawned in our face. Needless to say, we'll not stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank the4sheas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-NewAlbany, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Albany, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
LTTD,

I can not even put into words how sorry I am for your experience. Please call me at the hotel to discuss your stay.

Chris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Albany hotels

Boerne
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A vey average motel in all respects. I'm not a person for words and am writing the remainder of this review because to be accepted, it must contain a minimum of 200 characters. I'm 73 years old and before I retired, traveled weekly for 40 years. I know good hotel versus a bad one, and this was very average. I would not stay there again and would not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-NewAlbany, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Albany, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
David F,

Due to reviews such as yours we will be in a renovation project beginning in July which will include, guest rooms, lobby area, hall corridors and wall vinyl. I hope you come back and see the changes we are making and we make you a proud guest again.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We spent one night and that was enough. TV did not work; lamp did not work; black mildew around bathtub; plumbing exposed in bathtub; hallway smelled like mildew. Room 108. They offered to move us to another room - but no one from the staff helped us pack and move!

For a Hampton Inn, this is really bad. My husband called it a "dog house". And he is usually easy to please.

We would have left but we had been on the road 9 hours.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bauthentic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn-NewAlbany, General Manager at Hampton Inn New Albany, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
bauthentic,

I am sorry for your experience while stay with us and rest assure this review is not going unnoticed. We are in the planning stages of starting a renovation consisting of guest rooms, carpeting/wall vinyl, halls and lobby area. I hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again and see the chances we are making.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very Clean place to stay, wonderful staff and great breakfast! Slept so good and comfortable temperature in room! No complaints!! Highly recommended! I was pleased with my stay and have stayed with this hotel several different occasions and brought my family as well for leisure activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 274brendas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Low par for a Hampton Inn, they need an update. The rooms are pretty small, and so are the beds. We were allowed to reserve a room for my family of 5 (kids 10,8,6). When we asked for a roll-a-way, we were told they didn't provide them, so my daughter (6) slept on a pile of extra blankets on the floor. The tubs are pretty dated. Never saw the pool area. Everyone was exhausted anyway so it didn't matter much. Breakfast was good as usual with Hampton Inn. But we'll probably avoid this one in the near future. I think the area has real potential with it's location near Louisville/Ohio River.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Albany
Hampton Inn Corydon
#1 of 5 in Corydon
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 94 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Albany

Property: Hampton Inn New Albany
Address: 506 W Spring St, New Albany, IN 47150-3617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > New Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful historic town of New Albany, Indiana. We are just 7 miles from the famous Horseshoe Casino in Southern Indiana. Approximately 10 Minutes Northwest of the Fabulous Louisville Kentucky with easy on and off access from Interstate 64 West. Just 2 blocks from the Ohio River and from all of the downtown shops and restaurants of New Albany. If you are looking for charm, class and convenience then you have found it. All the comforts of home and Hampton just minutes from the big city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn New Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn New Albany Hotel New Albany
New Albany Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing