We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what you would expect from Hampton Inn!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn New Albany

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn New Albany
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Albany
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not what you would expect from Hampton Inn!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed one night for business. Booked online prior to stay - selected and paid for a king bed with sofa and work area. I was given a room with two queen beds, no sofa and no work area - it was a smaller room than what I paid for, to be sure.

Upon entering my room, I quickly realized that I had been short changed. However, I was just too tired to complain and I just wanted to go out and get dinner. To my surprise, there are zero decent restaurants within 10 to 15 minutes of this place. Had to drive to a neighboring town (Clarksville, IN) to find an Outback Steak House (other like chain restaurants were in this area as well). Ironically, I passed a much nicer looking Hampton as I approached these restaurants.

In addition, the New Albany Hampton seemed to have thin walls. The room next to mine was quite noisy. It felt as though I was in a lesser hotel than a Hampton Inn.

Bottom line, stay in Clarksville, not New Albany if it's going to be the Hampton. The New Albany Hampton is old, somewhat dirty feeling, poorly serviced and in the middle of a residential area with nothing to offer the traveler. Very odd location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcn400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    81
    58
    46
    42
See reviews for
90
69
20
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Feilding
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

After staying in a Hampton Inn the night before which was 5 stars in my eyes this one was the worst. After a long day of travelling in the car we pulled into the Hampton Inn in Albany and thought it would be just like the last one, so no need to check the room. BUT! from the moment we walked into the room the first thing that stood out was the thread bare carpet, the bathroom was old and awful and the sheets had a green stain on them which looked like candel wax. The worst was to come our bed backed onto a locked room that had some sort of machine loudly glanging away all night when I rang reception to complain that we could not sleep because of the noise I was told it was probably the elevator. The elevator was no where near our room there was no offer of changing us to another room it was like being told to shut up and live with it. Don't go there not worth it!!

Room Tip: Check the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryMarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Albany hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I had made the wrong reservation and should have stayed at the Hampton Inn near Clarksville but obviously my bad! Dissapointed that during the month of August that the pool was closed for two days, and I had encountered mold under the soap dish in the shower makes me 'cringe"!

First night there they did have a manager's reception offering chili dogs with all the servings and lemonade for their guest.

All in all this was a pretty average and an older Hampton Inn which needs some improvement.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdUrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steeler Country
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is an excellent hotel but the beds are in dire need of an upgrade. My husband and I both noticed the springs are "shot" in the beds. When I mentioned how uncomfortable the beds were to the evening desk clerk, she responded with a shrug of her shoulders and a terse "sorry you feel that way." As a Hilton Honors member I really feel she should have made a note of my observation and forwarded it to the proper people. We also had several problems with the key cards (as did several other guests). The cards would work one time and then would not unlock the 2nd time we used it. This required many return trips to the desk to get new cards. We were on the 1st floor near the pool entrance which produced a lot of traffic on the weekend. This Hampton Inn does not adhere to the 100% satisfaction guarantee. I think I should have been more vocal instead of letting the desk clerk intimidate me. All in all, the rest of the staff were excellent, the room was super clean, and the mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee pot all worked!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenLatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Overall the hotel was clean, up to date, and had a decent breakfast. Unfortunately, the toilet in our bathroom quit working late at night. We were told there was no maintenance or management staff so our only option was to switch rooms. We had to pack everything up and move down the hall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AprilMayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Very clean and modern. Staff was phenomenal, especially Amelia (who we bothered a lot!) Pool for the kids. Complimentary paper and decent breakfast. Don't know why this is a two-star; nicer than some three-stars we've been to.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RbinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stewart2014
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

i stay here on business alot love the area so i brought the family for a weekend the is so wonderful and friendly

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Albany
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Green Tree Inn
BEST WESTERN Green Tree Inn
#1 of 7 in Clarksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Louisville-North/Clarksville
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Louisville Riverside Hotel
4.4 mi away
Galt House Hotel
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn New Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn New Albany

Property: Hampton Inn New Albany
Address: 506 West Spring Street, New Albany, IN 47150-3617
Location: United States > Indiana > New Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn New Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful historic town of New Albany, Indiana. We are just 7 miles from the famous Horseshoe Casino in Southern Indiana. Approximately 10 Minutes Northwest of the Fabulous Louisville Kentucky with easy on and off access from Interstate 64 West. Just 2 blocks from the Ohio River and from all of the downtown shops and restaurants of New Albany. If you are looking for charm, class and convenience then you have found it. All the comforts of home and Hampton just minutes from the big city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn New Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn New Albany Hotel New Albany
New Albany Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing