We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gateway Hotel Colombo
Nearby Hotels
Onreech Hotel(Seeduwa)
$45
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ared Villa(Katunayaka)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Wallawwa(Kotugoda)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Boutique(Pamunugama)
$98
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,533)
Filter reviews
1,533 results
Traveler rating
714
583
150
49
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
583
150
49
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew wingsri lankaspecial thanksairport gardenindian foodclose to the airportexcellent servicepastry chefdelicious foodrestaurant managerduty managerminutes from the airportswimming poolgreat hospitalityspecial mentionlong flightshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,370 - 1,375 of 1,533 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We stayed a day and one night for transit purpose.
We were welcomed with a drink (that was nice) but rapidly I understood my mistake.
This hotel is not a 5 star hotel ! Not even a 2 star!
The room was dirty.
The bathroom filthy.
I had to call the room service to clean the windows (overlooking a hideous view!) .
The garden near the pool looks abandonned.
No, to be recommended. Never again!

Stephane (Paris)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VANHAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We stayed at the Taj for one night on the way to the Maldives. It is a run-down property, no more than 2 star quality. The front desk took very long to check us in, and the staff are poorly trained and unfriendly. I attach a pic of the bathroom mould in the first room they tried to put us in, overlooking a storage area, with two tired double beds. The next room was marginally better, overlooking the pool/function area. The whole place looks and smells tired, they sell rip off DVD's in the hotel shop and the breakfast was very basic, but cost something like USD40 pp! Whereas the hotel is conveniently located for the airport and the free airport transfers are quite convenient, it is a very basic business hotel, and best avoided.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerhard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We booked and paid for our room through Orbiz. When we were checking out they refused to accept our receipt from Orbiz and we had to pay again. They refused to talk to us or try and help us. Very poor customer service! When we got home, we called Orbiz and they gave us credit back on our charge card. Also, we left a complaint card for the manager at the Taj and we never heard from them.
On a lighter note, the hotel itself is actually nicer than what we expected but not a 5 star maybe a 4. The rooms were big and comfortable. we stayed at the TAj because of the location as we had a 7:00 A.M. flight and we were coming from the South tip of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smarm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Stayed at this hotel on the final night of our two week holiday around Sri Lanka. What a lovely hotel. The staff are efficient and friendly, the rooms spacious and clean, and the restaurants are of a high standard. A fitting end to a lovely holiday in a beautiful country.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MissyQw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Stayed at this hotel on new year's eve for one night the on my way to Bangkok since it is really close to the airport. just 10 mins and they have a complimentray drop service to the airport.

The rooms are huge and very comfortable. Food could have been better..though it is the busiest time of the year..we didn't feel that they were too many guest...room service was quick and efficient...pool looked inviting but didn't get a chance to use it.

I enjoyed the experience and would recommend as either a start or stop point for one night...into or out of Sri Lanka...as most of the tourist sites are at least a couple of hours drive away.

I felt it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews