We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“immaculate, charmingly decorated rooms”
Review of Artists Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artists Colony Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Nashville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight on our way home from a Kentucky state park and were very pleased with our choice. The Artists Colony is a real inn (like back east), small (20 rooms?) and with a full dining room. The rooms are spacious, have big windows (that open!), and are tastefully decorated in Shaker style (wonderfully unfussy), include a table and two chairs as well as a reading chair. Unlike a former reviewer, we found the bed very comfortable and had a great night's sleep. Both bedroom and bathroom were very clean and well maintained. The dining room downstairs is welcoming, has a patio for al fresco dining, and the food is decent. We had a very good meatball soup when we arrived and the buffet breakfast is plentiful (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, apple butter). The day we were there, they had a problem with cooking gas, so some breakfast items like potatoes and french toast weren't available until later. The inn is in a great location for wandering around this cute town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 143 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

The artists colony is a very good little Inn. The food and service are very good. You cannot beat the location. If it's a rustic Inn with rustic rooms. The rooms are clean. The bed was very uncomfortable. For the rate they charge they should be able to upgrade the quality of mattress.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OctJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very nice people and the stay was great again. We have been before and will return again. Everything went great. Its a nice time of year to go as well before the summer crowds. Its quiet and is still right in the middle of the town. Breakfast comes with the room. We had the buffet, but you can order off the menu as well. parking is free and is right behind the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the front. Daytime noise is a little greater by the truck and car noise, but is to no c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trwint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We made the plan to visit for 3 nights in mid April. When we arrived we were welcomed like long lost friends and when we went to our room we were very pleased. Se got a Suite upstair across from the Lobby- it was very spacious and had everything we needed- fridge- microwave- large living room/ with dining table and very spacious bathroom and bedrooms that are completely separate. It is an apartment without a full kitchen. NICE.

The restaurant at the Inn was really good- we had the breakfast buffet all 3 mornings and the food was very good and very well maintained- with very good variety. We asked to be seated outside and they qickly prepared the area for us Hospitality at it's best. We had lunch there twice again outside it was beautiful and very good. Be sure to try the Quiche- light, creamy custard with the days fresh ingredients. I am a GUY and I do eat quiche when it is that good. The soups are really good also. We had dinner from the restaurant and dined in the room one night. Not only was it good but they did not over-cook my salmon as most restaurants do even after me requesting medium rare to medium. The service team starting at the front desk are very helpful simply said the service is like The Three Bears-- just right. We would visit this Inn again for sure.

A must see while in the area is the T. C. Steele Museum only a few minutes away. The tour is wonderful- the art is wonderful and the home on the site is really special. Just be careful if you go on the nature walk as the wooden bridges are slick as ice if damp.

Another must see- The village of Story- again only 9 miles away I think I remember- it consists of The Story Inn- and that is it. The Inn has named rooms that are really neat and then there is the Ghost that lives there. They were planting the Herb Garden while we were there- the restaurant is really good - upscale dining and service- with a wine list you will be surprised is in a small remote place like it is. Only warning is do not have that extra glss of wine if you do not stay in the Inn- while only 9 miles they are very windy and narrow miles.

Well, that is where the positive ends. DO NOT GO IN APRIL The shops and restaurants open if they want to and do not if they don't. Posted hours mean nothing. Posted days mean nothing. With the exception on the Pot Roast the the Hob Nob- also closed on Tuesday- nothing can be planned to go as planned in Nashville other than the Artists Colony Inn.

There is a coffee Shop across the street from the Inn that does not open until after 9 am if at all. Hello---COFFEE SHOP? And one shop that posted hours 11 am to 6 pm was not open by 11:45 am- at 12:30 pm there was a sign on the door that they would return in one hour- of course they did not say one hour from when. And also of course they were gone when we returned at 3:30 pm.

I had not been there for 35 years and probably will not return- WE DID REALLY ENJOY THE ARTIST'S COLONY INN AND RESTAURANT. It is a shame that the other shops and restaurants just don't get it.

Room Tip: Look into the Suites or a room with a balcony on Van Buren St- you can see the prettiest Sycamore I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was on the fence about reserving for next fall. The country charm and friendliness you wont find at this place anymore. People are rude and have attitudes. I know everyone has a bad day. I gave them the benefit of the doubt. I reluctantly reserved a year in advance again. Apparently there policy reads they will charge 50 percent of the total stay in 6 months. My husband was surprised because they did not do that last year. But he said go ahead and just cancel the stay. Now we are still 6 months out. They cancelled and charged a $25.00 service Fee. Even though we stayed there and were good customers, they didnt care. I wont be staying there anymore. I dont like there business practices. We were good paying customers for accommodations that were just ok. We liked the town but people are really losing there friendliness there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank I D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just returned from our annual trip to Nashville, IN and being with the family. Once again we stayed at the Artist Colony and had wonderful accommodations. The food was very good and the people there make your stay a pleasure. I never moved my car once while there, so it was very relaxing and we had everything within walking distance.

Room Tip: We had the full balcony overlooking Van Buren (center of town), so we could sit on our deck and watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to this inn for 3 years now. We come about 4 times a year...once every season summer, fall, winter, spring. It is pricey but if you email the lodge they do have specials, usually Sunday through Thursday. We have stayed for the same price as a Days Inn. The restaurant serves delicious food, but if you want something else there are plenty of other restaurants to choose from, as well as various artsy shops. I like the no frills shaker style furnishings in the rooms. It is nice to get away from cell phones and life's other distractions. Also Brown County State park is minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.3 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
214 reviews
0 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#7 of 7 in Nashville
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#10 of 22 in Nashville
81 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lil Black Bear Inn
Lil Black Bear Inn
#8 of 22 in Nashville
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists Colony Inn

Address: 105 S van Buren St, Nashville, IN 47448-7037
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range: $104 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artists Colony Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artists Colony Inn is located the center of Nashville within walking distance of 300 shops and art galleries and a short drive to the famous Brown County State Park. Relax in our quaint Inn that has combined the traditions of the past while enjoying all the amenities of the 21st Century. We are a small boutique hotel that offers a full service restaurant, Bed and Breakfast packages, corporate retreats for the business traveler, dining, banquet, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Artists Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists Colony Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing