We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay at the "Never Inn"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lil Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lil Black Bear Inn
Ranked #14 of 25 Nashville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay at the "Never Inn"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband booked our stay for an anniversary weekend away. When we arrived there was no inn keeper. We waited and even another couple came to check in while we waited. After trying to contact the owner many times by phone, we finally getting a call back to just let ourselves into the room which was over an hour and half later. I have to say this was the strangest experience we have ever had. There were many amenities that were listed on the web site that either were not available or were broken. The room was very nice, but small. The bed was lovely as well as the bath tub. Our screen to our balcony was broken, the light was out, our refrigerator was broken, no robes in the room and no cable to watch the Colt's game, actually no TV at all, plus the hot tub was not working. The breakfast was nice in the morning and to the Inn's defense we were refunded our money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredadanzig, Owner at Lil Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and for acknowledging that I refunded you in full for your stay last November, when our previous innkeeper was not there to greet you. The new innkeepers at Always Inn, Lois and Marvin Scrogham, have worked very hard and it shows in every way - from numerous happy guest comments about the warmth, hospitality, great country breakfasts, and the various improvements to the inn and grounds. The internet is still slow, but the Direct TV service works great. We now have flatscreen TVs, radio alarm clocks with iPod docks, refrigerators, monogrammed robes, hair dryer, iron, toiletries, bottled water, Belgian chocolates and snacks in all the rooms. Plus a huge movie library, board games and books for your quiet enjoyment. We hope you will consider giving Always Inn another try so you can experience our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    8
    5
    22
See reviews for
10
58
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast, and it was a peaceful, enjoyable weekend. My husband and I were there on our 2nd anniversary. We were the only guests at Always Inn that night, since it was off-season for Nashville and many things in town were closed. We were offered a free upgrade on our room which we accepted. The innkeeper was friendly and the vegetarian breakfast we were served in the morning was very good. I was excited to find out that the inn is also pet-friendly, so we may be back in the summer to enjoy some time with our pet.

Room Tip: Bitter Sweet has a nice whirlpool tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. Didn't know what to expect. I must tell you the experience was great. From our arrival until we left we were made to feel at home. The accomodations were great, the food was great, and the innkeeper was great. We had nice friendly conversations with the innkeeper and just felt like we were nearly family. I have heard of some negative reviews about this bed and breakfast, as recent as about a month ago but I learned that they changed innkeepers about 2-3 weeks ago, and I can't find anything negative to say about him. Paul & Judy Eaton Ohio

Room Tip: White Pine room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

our tri to the bed and breakfast was very pleasant, The entire interior was so clean and smelled so nice the Innkeeper Randy met us at our vehicle offering to help get bags and then he took us directly into our room (white pine) once we had settled in he then showed us the remainder of the Inn and the living room and dining area were so nice, He had to run into Columbus I believe and he said please make yourselves at home even telling us if we were hungry there was food in pantry, We could not have asked for any better treatment and after reading past reviews it was a relief to find that most reviews were incorrect to say the least he did exsplain to us that the owner has had issue finding a good match for the position and that many reviews are by ex employees who has been terminated for one reason or the other and he thanked us for giving the Inn and him a chance.. I would reccomend to ANYONE

Room Tip: We were allowed to see all the rooms but one and thats because the keys to it were misplaced but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Employee looked dirty, a bowl of eggs in the middle of the common table for all guest was not what was described by the owner when reservations were established.. not good, the lady was very pushy about writing a review, she even suggested what we put in our review.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nashville hotels

Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very poor communication-almost impossible to get a call through and when you do good luck getting any answers. Should of seen this coming & not even bothered making the trip down as we received a phone call 1/2 hour before check in saying our room had been doubled booked! We were already in Nashville and this being peak season the only option they could give us was @ a corporate chain hotel next to the interstate highway with a strip mall for a view-not exactly what you pay $200/night for in Brown County, IN!! We told them we wanted a refund and were told since we booked with Travelocity that we would need to contact them for a refund-which we did and are waiting for a credit to our charge. Major waste of time-I have been treated far better in other countries where I could barely speak the language. This trip was supposed to be a celebration of our 22nd wedding anniversary-save yourself the heartache and don't waste your time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duke2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I went on a long weekend to Brown County over Labor Day weekend and stayed at the Always Inn. When we arrived, it took a phone call to get the attention of the owner to let us in. The room was very small compared to other B and B's we have stayed. It was very rustic as other reviews have stated. It was not far from Columbus or Nashville, Indiana, sort of in the middle. The location was great. The owner was no where to be found in the evening when we arrived after dinner, just a note that she would be back for breakfast. The breakfast the next day for myself was marginal. My husband and I will not be going back to the Always Inn.

Room Tip: Call to see what rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willyhu8442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nashville
8.0 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#1 of 6 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Tipton Lakes
8.6 mi away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#4 of 25 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#10 of 25 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lil Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lil Black Bear Inn

Property: Lil Black Bear Inn
Address: 8072 State Road 46 E, Nashville, IN 47448 (Formerly Always Inn Brown County Indiana Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lil Black Bear Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ‘Lil Black Bear Inn is located on State Road 46 East in the beautiful hills of Nashville, IN voted by Midwest Living magazine readers as “the most picturesque stretch of highway in America.” Our intimate six-room inn offers privacy, pampering, warm hospitality, and great food. Stay with us for a relaxing getaway, whatever the reason or season. Comfortable bedrooms with custom furnishings and local original artwork, several rooms with private whirlpool spa baths, in-room refrigerators, full breakfast, free wireless internet, satellite TV with flat screen TVs free movie library, free parking, central air/heat, CD player, alarm clock, radio, aromatherapy toiletries, bottled water, Belgian chocolates and more. Ask for a room with a whirlpool spa or one with a view of the woods or pond. We are also a pet friendly inn. We can arrange for candlelight dinners on our decks and patios or in-room dining. We also offer gift and fruit baskets, floral bouquets, spa treatments, in-room deep tissue massage therapy, chocolate covered strawberries, chilled beverages, box lunches, picnic baskets and more… In the morning, awaken to a sumptuous country breakfast, accompanied by juice and gourmet coffee. Breakfast is on the house, of course. In spring and summer afternoons, we also offer complimentary cookies or brownies and sun tea or lemonade; in the fall and winter afternoons, we serve brownies and hot chocolate. Our goal is to pamper you so you can relax, unwind, renew and recharge. Gift certificates, specials and packages are available for anniversaries, birthdays and honeymoons. Please tell us if you are celebrating a special occasion – honeymoon, anniversary, and birthday or simply escaping for a couple of days. We’ll do everything we can to make your getaway extra-special, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Lil Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing