We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of Time”
Review of Lil Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lil Black Bear Inn
Ranked #9 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Waste of Time”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very poor communication-almost impossible to get a call through and when you do good luck getting any answers. Should of seen this coming & not even bothered making the trip down as we received a phone call 1/2 hour before check in saying our room had been doubled booked! We were already in Nashville and this being peak season the only option they could give us was @ a corporate chain hotel next to the interstate highway with a strip mall for a view-not exactly what you pay $200/night for in Brown County, IN!! We told them we wanted a refund and were told since we booked with Travelocity that we would need to contact them for a refund-which we did and are waiting for a credit to our charge. Major waste of time-I have been treated far better in other countries where I could barely speak the language. This trip was supposed to be a celebration of our 22nd wedding anniversary-save yourself the heartache and don't waste your time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duke2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    9
    5
    22
See reviews for
13
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erlanger
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I went on a long weekend to Brown County over Labor Day weekend and stayed at the Always Inn. When we arrived, it took a phone call to get the attention of the owner to let us in. The room was very small compared to other B and B's we have stayed. It was very rustic as other reviews have stated. It was not far from Columbus or Nashville, Indiana, sort of in the middle. The location was great. The owner was no where to be found in the evening when we arrived after dinner, just a note that she would be back for breakfast. The breakfast the next day for myself was marginal. My husband and I will not be going back to the Always Inn.

Room Tip: Call to see what rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willyhu8442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I won a two night stay from my work in the form of a gift card to bedandbreakfast.com. Always Inn and one other property in Nashville were the only two options available. The other property wasn't family friendly so we were forced into booking at Always Inn. It is certainly saying something that even though the stay was free we felt ripped off. We had a terrible time finding the property first off, as another reviewer noted, it is poorly marked and dangerous to attempt a turn into from either direction on 46. Drive up the steep driveway and find the very poorly cared for and very run down looking property. This should have been a huge warning sign but I proceeded inside. The inside is worse by far. Extremely run down and dirty! Mismatched furnishings and dirty worn carpet. After checking in, I went upstairs to survey the room, and it was much worse. We stayed in the "Bitter Sweet" room which was all bitter and no sweet. The bed was rickety and terribly uncomfortable, the carpet was stained with black marks all over, and dried dead bugs as well. The fold out bed apparently smelled so bad my daughter refused to sleep on it, opting for the dated, tiny, dirty setee instead. The whirlpool tub was the only good thing in this room. We woke for breakfast on Saturday and came down to OJ, and browning (looked left over from the day before) fruit salad. We were then served stone cold biscuits and gravy with a side of greasy home fries. My husbands first fork full of potatoes revealed a very long hair interwoven with the onion/potato mixture and that was the end of breakfast. Suffice to say we returned to our room hungry and promptly packed up. We did not stay for our second night, instead opting to return home to Cincinnati rather than spend another horrid night in this dump. We were extremely disappointed as this trip was for our 10th anniversary which will now be memorable for all the wrong reasons.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 13sgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nashville hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I booked my reservation online from their website and had no problems. The new owner was wonderful to work with me when I needed to change the date of my visit. I had no problems with checking in or the service. The surroundings are beautiful and natural in everyway, it was truely a quiet secuded retreat for me. The inn keeper was very pleasant and willing to make the stay a great expereience, plus she is a fabulous cook and hostess. This is a rustic retreat that I would recommend to my friends. Again, the new owner bent over backwards to make sure everything was to my liking. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisas432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

After taking over an hour to find it we arrived to a lonely inn surrounded by overgrown brush. It had the appearance of once being cared for but forgotten. It was like going back in time. First, this inn is not near Nashville. It is off of 46 and very difficult to find. It is dangerous to turn into coming from the West. Upon arrival, there was no one in sight. It was weird - sort of creepy! We were a little scared at first! There is no "office." I finally knocked on a door upstairs to find the inn keeper. She was really nice once we found her. We almost did not stay because it was so run down. The room was strange. The bed was broken and banged against the wall every time we moved. The room at first glance looked ok ... but on closer look, the carpet was dirty. There was a hole in the wall where a cord came out of for the overhead light. The good thing about the breakfast was the coffee, the juice, and the fresh fruit. The waffles were store bought toaster made after being frozen. The pictures on the website are not current. We would not have not stayed there but the week-end was totally booked-up everywhere.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomadforeverandever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

If you seek a quiet refuge nestled on a shady hilltop, and enjoy nature’s occasional visit of humming birds, deer, turkey, or a curious raccoon named Becky; then be sure to visit Always Inn in Nashville Indiana. From the Inn’s delicious food, to the coffee, tea and the joyous chit-chat of the Inn Keeper and its patrons; it was an absolutely refreshing change of pace from my business schedule. I still miss the quiet nights sitting on the deck and reflect on a simpler time and place in the hills of Nashville. Many blessings to Freda and Billie Jean for making my stay such a memorable experience! Yes – I will return this fall to experience nature’s changing pallet of colors and seasonal aromas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Booked a room online from the room photo and description. BIG MISTAKE!!! We were in the vicinity a week prior to our booked date and visited to ask a few questions before we arrived. We were informed by the Innkeeper the photos and room descriptions are outdated on the web site and that the room we booked would not have the queen couch as pictured and described. We were disappointed and upset that the web site was inaccurate. We informed the innkeeper, based on her information, that we did not want to stay and wanted our charge card credited. She said she could not do that and we would have to take it up with the owner who lives in California. The owner refused to return our calls or respond to our emails. Long story short, we did not stay and after 5 months of working with the credit card company we finally received a credit on our card. No thanks to the owner. This experience has left a lasting impression with me regarding the honesty and integrity of the bed and breakfast business industry. Shame on the Always Inn for intentionally deceiving those who want to book a get away only to be disappointed and betrayed. My advise is to call and speak to the Innkeeper before booking online. Do not book solely on what you read or see on the Always Inn web site.

Room Tip: Speak to the Innkeeper about the room you are interested in before booking online. The credit card i...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Manon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
8.0 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
318 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nashville
120 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
432 reviews
8.6 mi away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#3 of 24 in Nashville
70 reviews
5.5 mi away
Creekside Retreat Lodging & Gatherings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lil Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lil Black Bear Inn

Property: Lil Black Bear Inn
Address: 8072 State Road 46 E, Nashville, IN 47448-9396 (Formerly Always Inn Brown County Indiana Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lil Black Bear Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ‘Lil Black Bear Inn is located on State Road 46 East in the beautiful hills of Nashville, IN voted by Midwest Living magazine readers as “the most picturesque stretch of highway in America.” Our intimate six-room inn offers privacy, pampering, warm hospitality, and great food. Stay with us for a relaxing getaway, whatever the reason or season. Comfortable bedrooms with custom furnishings and local original artwork, several rooms with private whirlpool spa baths, in-room refrigerators, full breakfast, free wireless internet, satellite TV with flat screen TVs free movie library, free parking, central air/heat, CD player, alarm clock, radio, aromatherapy toiletries, bottled water, Belgian chocolates and more. Ask for a room with a whirlpool spa or one with a view of the woods or pond. We are also a pet friendly inn. We can arrange for candlelight dinners on our decks and patios or in-room dining. We also offer gift and fruit baskets, floral bouquets, spa treatments, in-room deep tissue massage therapy, chocolate covered strawberries, chilled beverages, box lunches, picnic baskets and more… In the morning, awaken to a sumptuous country breakfast, accompanied by juice and gourmet coffee. Breakfast is on the house, of course. In spring and summer afternoons, we also offer complimentary cookies or brownies and sun tea or lemonade; in the fall and winter afternoons, we serve brownies and hot chocolate. Our goal is to pamper you so you can relax, unwind, renew and recharge. Gift certificates, specials and packages are available for anniversaries, birthdays and honeymoons. Please tell us if you are celebrating a special occasion – honeymoon, anniversary, and birthday or simply escaping for a couple of days. We’ll do everything we can to make your getaway extra-special, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lil Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing