We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the atmosphere”

Hobnob Corner Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Food is fresh and good, Some items homemade, breads and bakery items and jam on all tables. The staff is very friendly though is was very busy when we came. We had breakfast, but they serve all three meals options so anytime a good time to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lrp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    213
    64
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Dinner at the Hob Nob”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was looking for something different than our usual dinner dates. I had been to the Hob Nob a few years ago and remembered it as being a good place to eat. We were not disappointed this time either. Our meals were very good. My husband had the brauts & sauerkraut. He really liked the homemade sauerkraut. I had the chicken picante, which was also very good. We had our 13 year old son with us and he ordered the cheeseburger (his usual) and he ate every bite! He also ordered a chocolate sundae. It looked beautiful and tasted just as good. The only reason I didn't give it an "excellent" review, is it is a bit pricey for the portion size. The atmosphere is great, so all and all it was a good experience. Would recommend trying. However if you are looking for a "fancy" restaurant, this is not the place for you. Laid back, shorts and t-shirt place. Wooden chairs and benches with old fashioned soda bar. The baked goods looked very tasty in the case but did not purchase any. Heard the cinnamon rolls are good. Service we received was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Liked the Lunch”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place has old fashioned charm. I had the tuna melt, and when I say melt I mean opened face with cheddar melted to cover the whole top of the tuna. Yummy! The hubby had sausage and he loved the side of mustard. We even bought some of the mustard because he liked it so much. We were told the mustard is imported from France. Couldn't wait to use it the next day on some hot dogs! Overall the food and service was good. When we ordered is was just short of noontime and when we were done there was a line out the door. Waiting for a place to sit was about one hour. If you plan to eat there, time it before rush hour because it's a small building and seating is minimal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gziggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Country Charm and Great Food!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a must when you visit Nashville, Indiana! The building known as Hobnob Corner was constructed in 1800's for use as a dry goods/grocery. Such a charming ambiance. Old photos and memorabilia take you back to the soda fountain/drug store days. The back room is rather private at times and romantic(we think). For the past 30+ years it has been home to the best restaurant in Nashville! A local favorite, with 5 star dishes and upscale wine choices, as well as some creative sandwich choices. Salads are amazing, in that they use locally grown ingredients when available. Our favorite is the green salad. Not just a bunch of lettuce. Home grown and hand picked combined with fresh shaved parmesan, turkey and vegetables. House dressing is a whipped vinaigrette. Yummy. The pepper steak soup is out of this world! Fresh baked goods daily. You can't leave without purchasing a loaf of their onion dill bread and a sweet treat like a cheese danish or their bread pudding. My husband and I spend most Friday evenings ( our date night) with these folks. The owners and all the staff are exceptional! We really feel comfortable and everyone is so friendly and just genuinely nice! It's well worth a trip over!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just OK lunch.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just average. A bit overpriced. Not really many menu choices for kids. It is in a very old store building, so it does have a vintage charm and character.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobnob Corner Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hobnob Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing