We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People there are true Hoosiers!”
Review of Abe Martin Lodge

Abe Martin Lodge
Ranked #20 of 45 Restaurants in Nashville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Rochester, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“People there are true Hoosiers!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The people who work at the lodge were all really nice and they worked hard. Weird thing though, at the restaurant, when you go to pay your tab at the cash register, the cashier asks, "Are you going to give a tip and if so, in what amount?" They do that over and over with each person paying. That seems a little embarrassing. The breakfast buffet wasn't all that great, but there was plenty of food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Openroad44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    54
    33
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great breakfast; friendly; terrific fried biscuits with apple butter.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A nice surprise - this restaurant serves breakfast until 2:00 p.m. - so if you are there for lunch, you can order off either the lunch or breakfast menu. Good omelettes - we tried the veggie ($5.99) and the ultimate ($7.99). Omelettes are served with a choice of hash browns or or home fries (delicious!) and toast. And, I highly recommend the fried biscuits with cinnamon sugar and apple butter. A half order of 5 biscuits was plently for 2 people to share.

Accessibility: very good. Restaurant is on the 2nd floor and there is an elevator.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed one night at the lodge with my nieces for a Spring Break get-away. They are 8 and 12 years old. They both really enjoyed the indoor water park as did I. The rooms were very comfortable and, although this is an older building, very well maintained. No complaints, the front desk staff were very nice and friendly. We didn't have time to hike or enjoy any other activities in the park but it was a beautiful park and I would highly suggest staying here. Also in the area is the town of Nashville, with lots of cute shops and not too far away is an outlet mall that is quite large but didn't find any good outlet prices. Still had a great time and would do it all over again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandH0pper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Don't waste your time on this one. First night of our stay we ate off the menu. Pork chops dried out and only 3/8" thick maybe. Best part of the meal was the baked potato. Breakfast the next morning was passable. Much better food available 1.5 miles away.

The stay at the lodge was great though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Sample Southern Indiana Cooking at Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After an early morning hike, I enjoyed the breakfast buffet at The Little Gem Restaurant inside Brown County State Park. This is a spread where you must ignore your doctor's advice, as this was a wonderful sample of southern Indiana home cooking. In memory of my recently departed father, I scarfed down a small bowl of biscuits and gravy, then turned my attention to hash brown and cheese casserole, pancakes, and French toast with fruit toppings, which were complemented by sausage, bacon, and an assortment of hot and cold cereal. My next hike was more like a waddle-walk.

The Little Gem Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Abe Martin Lodge.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank redink46142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abe Martin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing