We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Can't wait to go back and am already sharing the info with friends”
Review of Rawhide Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rawhide Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Found it by accident on the web-so glad I did.
The ranch was cozy, comfortable, and relaxing. The staff, especially Derrick, were very friendly and accommodating.
Ive spent the last few days trying to figure out how to get back there quickly and also what party or event to plan so i can rent out the whole place.
Can't say enough about how much i enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroSissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchBOss_10, Manager at Rawhide Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

CaroSissy,
I always knew there were such things as "happy accidents". We don't spend a lot of money on advertising so most people either hear about it through word of mouth or stumbling upon it. The ranch has always been proud of our family/staff. We have been slowly adding members and I know you would be very pleased when you return. Many guests try the ranch out to return a short period time later with a large group for an event. I hope you have returned since you left this review and if not, you need to come see the improvements we have made since your last stay.

Sincerely,
Derek W Clifford
Ranch Manager
Rawhide Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Rawhide Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 369 of 369 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

I went to the ranch for a girlfriends weekend, We were excited about going to the ranch. We read the whole website and THOUGHT we knew what we were getting into. We arrived on a beautiful fall evening. The sleeping area was above the horse stable, just as we knew. What we did not realize was the unbelieveable stench of horse poop. Where ever we walked there was piles everywhere.. Along with horse poop came tons of cats running all over. The bugs and flies took over, and with no screens on the windows all we wanted was a fly swatter. We knew the rooms were upstairs, but we did not realize that the steps were very steep and not easy on anyone with foot or knee issues. The rooms were bare, lighting was dim, no chairs, no closer, no shelves, poor water flow from shower. My bed did not have a mattrice pad on it. The kitchen area did not have a sink, so preparing food was difficult. The garbage was over flowing. We understood that this was a family place, but the noise from the children was thunderous. All night long and early in the morning, the kids ran in and out screaming slamming doors.
My friends and I had a great weekend, but it had nothing to do with the Rawhide Ranch.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dbial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchBOss_10, Manager at Rawhide Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

To "Disappointed":

I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with the true ranch atmosphere that we provide.

The horse manure smell that you speak of can be prevalent around the inn during peak season, but that is to be expected when we have 20 horses going out and coming in for trail rides every hour. The manure is only found where the horses travel; there are plenty of places where they are not allowed, giving our guests plenty of space to roam without the worry of messy shoes.

A "ton of cats" is an exaggeration since the ranch only has 3 cats. There are to be no animals in the inn, so please let me know if other customers were allowing that.

I agree that the flies and bugs where a little thick this fall season, but those nuisances come with being in the woods, surrounded by livestock, in Brown County. We have heard our customers suggest window screens, and that has been put on our list of future improvements.

You chose to visit the ranch during fall break, which is the busiest time for the entire county. It also happened to be the busiest weekend of the ranch's 8-year history. The garbage overflowing is something that I might have missed, and I apologize for that. Fall break would also account for the large amount of families with children staying on the ranch. We have signs in the inn explaining that parents are responsible for their own children's supervision.

I wish you would have brought these issues to my attention while you were here or as you checked out. I think you would have found that I am a reasonable person who cares deeply about his product, customers and their satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Derek W. Clifford
Ranch Manager
Rawhide Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Located about 3 miles outside Nashville in gorgeous rolling wooded area. We went for the horsebackriding, zip lining and fishing. Staff is absolutely fantastic. A little gem in southern Indiana. Next time we plan to geocache on the property. Rooms are all off a large common area. Only drawbacks, no where to cook and beds were a bit rough for us. Would be absolutely stunning for fall break for family reunion. Think rustic.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wam3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchBOss_10, Manager at Rawhide Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Wam3k,
Thank you for swinging into the ranch for activities. I hope you did return and take advantage of the geocaching offered. You are correct that we have no real way to cook in the Buck Inn but that need will be taken care of this year, 2013. Don't stay a stranger and we hope to see you guys soon.

Sincerely,
Derek W Clifford
Ranch Manager
Rawhide Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

My husband and I won at an auction fundraiser a night at The Rawhide Ranch in Nashville, IN. We are pretty adventurous in our overnights and thought this would be fun. The weekend we picked to come was a very cloudy and rainy but we had a nice relaxing stay. Weather permitting we would have hiked and possibly horsebacked. The rooms were comfortable and clean. There were no screens on the windows so it was a little buggy but the nice big balcony was a great place to listen to the birds and read when it wasn't raining. Dinner at The Story Inn was great too, about 8 miles down the road. The ranch had a microwave and mini-fridge and a coffee pot with instant coffee for our use too. We would go back again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchBOss_10, Manager at Rawhide Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Lori256,
It has now been 3 years since you stayed with us and I am just now figuring out that leaving replies for every review is a benefit to you and the ranch listing. Please don't feel as if your review was ignored by the ranch or not appreciated. Every review posted helps the small business and we analyze every one. I would hope that you have returned since then and seen the changes and improvements made to the ranch.
Thank you for supporting a charitable event by purchasing your stay at an auction fundraiser. You never know where you might find a ranch donation.

Sincerely
Derek W Clifford
Ranch Manager
Rawhide Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

My 9 year old daughter has happily attended western riding camp for two summers at the ranch so our family of four (including our 11 year old son) decided we'd stay at Rawhide Ranch over our fall break. We arrived in early afternoon, checked in and quickly got back out again for a trail ride through the beautiful changing leaves in the woods that abut the Brown County park. Note that all the inn rooms are upstairs over the stables so be prepared to carry your luggage up a long flight of stairs. The rooms at the inn run along the exterior walls with the interior made up of two lovely common areas with fireplaces in the middle and mini-kitchenettes (refrigerators, microwave ovens, tables and chairs) at each end. All the rooms have private baths with different configurations of beds including bunks so that families of 4 or more can find the one that keeps both you and the kids sleeping comfortably. The inn provides coffee and cups, but does not serve breakfast or other meals so bring your own fixings (and picnic cutlery, plates, cups, etc.).

The inn was ideally located to get to the Brown County park where we went hiking, into Nashville for a (mercifully) brief tour the morning it rained, further south for a canoeing excursion, and to the Story Inn for a magical dinner one evening (our kids were fascinated by all the memorabilia and ghost history). We also visited the T.C.Steele estate historical site the other evening, which was just a 20 minute or so drive away.

Do bring your earplugs, however, as the hardwood floors in the common areas don't muffle sound at all and if there are families with kids who wake early (like ours) you might find yourself awakened earlier than you'd planned. We enjoyed chatting with other guests in the lounge who were a mix of couples, families and a group who brought their own horses to ride! We'd recommend bringing board games or puzzles to do as a family. While the ranch had some available, they weren't our family's favorites. They don't have a TV in the inn or phones so you can truly reconnect as a family or with friends indoors and out. Trail rides are discounted for guests ($15/person) and they offer evening (tractor-pulled) wagon rides for kids too young to ride. Check them out at their website http://www.rawhideranchusa.com/.

All in all, just a delightful, relaxing and family-centered place to enjoy a getaway without spending a fortune as we ate breakfast at the ranch (and dinner one evening when we didn't want to get out again). The inn would also be perfect for a guys or girls getaway: bring your own wine or beer, cozy up on the couches in front of the fire or over cards at one of the dining tables until 10:00pm when they request guests to observe quiet time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indy_working_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchBOss_10, Manager at Rawhide Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Indy_working_mom,

We love to see families return with their Ranch campers. It is great to see the kids share their experiences on the ranch with those who sent them. I believe we could just take your review and paste it right into our web page. You explained the place better than we do. Don't stay a stranger and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Derek W Clifford
Rawhide Ranch
Ranch Manager/Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

As a travel agent I enjoy writing reviews, especially for the places deserving a great pat on the back! The rawhide ranch is a fairly new establishment in Nashville, Indiana. They have converted the second floor of a hugh barn into hotel rooms - very nicely done with amish made furniture. You can rent the ground level of the barn for parties or banquets. I rented a half dozen rooms for my family and hosted a western party. The ranch manager, Derrick, went above and beyond with his hospitality. The property offers horse back riding, ponies for the children, hiking, fishing ponds, play area, nightly bond fires, etc. I highly recommend trying this ranch hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IndianaTravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
3.3 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
360 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#6 of 7 in Nashville
122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
3.5 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
458 reviews
1.3 mi away
Creekside Retreat Lodging & Gatherings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawhide Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawhide Ranch

Address: 1292 State Road 135 S, Nashville, IN 47448-9053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nashville
Price Range: $77 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rawhide Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rawhide Ranch is a guest ranch that offers you a taste of the dude ranches out west without the long drive and high price. It is a unique experience that will satisfy ones craving of horses, zip lines, dining, the outdoors, relaxation and reconnection with friends, family, co-workers or parishioners. We welcome large or small groups, company outings, corporate retreats along with the family out for vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Rawhide Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing